Wrestling tops the bill at Rothbury Mart

editorial image

Rothbury Mart hosted nearly five hours of sport with the annual wrestling competition last Friday night.

The competition was tough in every category from under 10 years old (boys and girls), won by Rosie Hodgson to the all weights - Thomas Brocklebank won the mens and Connie Hodgson won the women’s.

Competitors travelling all the way from Brittany did not win any categories but provided the huge crowd with some entertaining moves. Many Cumbrians attended with experienced wrestler Andrew Carlisle from Carlisle, a familiar face from the shows, winning the under 11 stones category. Scottish wrestlers were popular participants, performing back flips in kilts, Frazer Hirsch’s efforts were rewarded with the 15 stone title.

Local wrestlers competed strongly in all categories, with Freya Waddington putting in a gritty performance to win the under 16 girls. Rothbury’s Cade Whitfield won the title of Best Junior Performance of Rothbury Wrestling Club Member with an impressive second place in the under 17’s from a field of 27 entries.

Rothbury Wrestling Academy train at Dr Thomlinson’s Middle School on Wednesday nights 6-10 year old 6:30-7:30pm and over 10’s from 7:30pm, cost - £2/session.

Full Results:

U10 years: 1. Rosie Hodgson 2. Fraser Cairns 3. Millie Harrison.

U12 Years: 1. Ted Hodgson 2. Jack Harrison 3. Connor Wharton.

U14 Years: 1. Mark Wharton 2. Nat Boyden 3. Hugh Dennis .

U17 Years: 1. George Wilson 2. Cade Whitfield 3. Ben Harrison.

U21 Years: 1. Jack Brown 2. George Wilson 3. Paul Craig.

Girls U16 Years: 1. Freya Waddington 2. Abi Marston 3. Gemma Coulthard.

11 Stones: 1. Andrew Carlisle 2. Sam Wilson 3. Clement Le Gall .

13 Stones: 1. Richard Fox 2. Graham Brocklebank 3. Jack Brown.

15 Stones: 1. Frazer Hirsch 2. Graham Brocklebank 3.Jacob Wragg.

All Weights: 1. Thomas Brocklebank 2. Jack Hale 3. Frazer Hirsch.

Ladies All Weights: 1. Connie Hodgson 2. Pauline Sellen 3. Anaelle Le Piolet 4. Gemma Coulthard.

Best Junior Performance – Cade Whitfield.

Best Overall Performance – Frazer Hirsch.