Trophy heads north after tense final day

In one of the closest finishes on record, Berwick A clinched the A Division championship in a tense finale.

Three teams were in contention going into the last week of the season which ended with the Goswick club taking the title by two points following an 8-4 home victory over defending champions Alnmouth (Foxton).

It made ample amends for the Borderers shock 12-0 reverse in their penultimate fixture at Bamburgh which all but scuppered their title hopes.

Bamburgh, 7-5 winners at Seahouses, tied second with Alnmouth with Magdalene Fields a close fourth in what has been a keenly-contested championship, again underlining its popularity.

Final round results:

A Division

Berwick A 8

Alnmouth (Foxton) A 4

E Wilson lost to R Gander 4 and 3; M Collin beat P Simpson 1up; K Yule beat J Southward 7 and 5; M Wilson lost to J Eggleston 3 and 1; A Terras beat D Weddell 7 and 5; G Greenaway beat J Nickless 3 and 1.

Alnwick 7

Magdalene Fields A 5

G Ridley beat S Jackson 2 and 1; W Belisle beat A Potts 4 and 3; M Hubbard lost to D Meakin 2 and 1; D Harrison lost to P Richardson 1down; D Swordy halved with K Atkinson; C Donaldson beat S Young 3 and 2.

Seahouses 5 Bamburgh 7

SJ Priestley beat P Sanderson 5 and 3; J Hogg lost to JT Moffet 2 and 1; S Olver halved with M Dawson; G Pearson beat A Mackay 1up; J Clements lost to A Smith 3 and 2; R Locke lost to M Thompson 6 and 5.

Linden Hall 2

Dunstanburgh A 10

S Hornsby lost to M Carss 4 & 3; N Rushworth lost to D Saunders 2 & 1; L Cochrane lost to N Cairns 2 & 1; P Basford halved with S Potts; S Basford halved with R Jamieson; P Cochrane lost to G Barber 3 & 2.