Three matches played but only one ends in victory

Left: Tristan Douglas traps Chris Younger lbw at Warkworth.
Left: Tristan Douglas traps Chris Younger lbw at Warkworth.

All three north Northumberland sides played their matches in the Northumberland Cricket League Premier Division as the weather held off.

But while there was rejoicing that the rain finally allowed an almost-full set of fixtures in the region, top-of-the-table Alnmouth & Lesbury and Tillside both slumped to defeats.

A huge total for third-placed Warkworth saw them run out 32-run winners over Corbridge.

Winning the toss, the north Northumbrians decided to bat first at home, eventually being bowled out for a huge 253 in the 49th over.

Opener Keith Puddephatt got the innings off to a good start before he was caught for 36, but Daniel Younger was in fine fettle as he hit 133, including 15 fours and five sixes.

His mammoth total meant that the home side went from 92-3 to 235-4, and a supporting 30 from Adam Hall helped take the total past the 250 mark.

Corbridge used eight different bowlers in their attack, but only three managed to strike.

Dean Robinson took 4-20, while David Hardy took another three wickets for 59 runs, including the crucial wicket of D Younger. Tristram Douglas took the other two wickets.

In reply, Corbridge made a decent effort of chasing down the total, with useful knocks from openers Christopher Fowler (63) and David Smurthwaite (35).

In the middle order Andrew Dover contributed 34 along with a 24 from Douglas, but despite their efforts and 28 extras from the Warkworth attack, the away side fell 32 runs short.

Another Younger was the pick of the Warkworth bowlers, with Chris taking 4-60. Martin Clark took 2-34 and Steven Lee 2-13 with D Younger also grabbing one.

Near neighbours Alnmouth & Lesbury, by contrast, had a dreadful day with the bat, getting bowled out for just 92 by Blyth.

Only three batsmen managed to make it to double figures, Tom Vickers top-scoring with 17.

David Ebdale, taking three wickets for just nine runs, and Mark Lawrence, with 4-22, did most of the damage with the ball.

And it was Lawrence who took the game away from Alnmouth, scoring 62 not out from just 36 balls.

There was some hope for Alnmouth, who had Blyth at 15-3 after taking three quick wickets, but it was not to be.

Ben Oliver (two) and Nicholas Denton were the Alnmouth wicket-takers.

Tillside, batting first, scored 158 but were eventually beaten by six wickets by Blue Flames.

Gareth Hill, Matthew Whitty and Cameron McGregor all contributed knocks in the 20s, while Simon Taylor and Andrew Horner took three wickets apiece for the home side.

In reply, 76 not out from opener Rob Walker and an unbeaten 35 from Keith Brown eased Blue Flames over the finish line. Hill and Whitty struck twice each with the ball.


Alnmouth and Lesbury I v Blyth

Alnmouth and Lesbury I

I Pearson b A Kemp 0

P Straker b D Ebdale 6

P Robinson c G Quinn b A Kemp 3

T Vickers c&b M Lawerence 17

J Denton lbw b D Ebdale 4

B Oliver c P Roberts b M Lawrence 13

I Clough c D Dent b D Ebdale 0

R Neil ro M Lawrence 8

A Batey lbw b M Lawrence 0

A Hodgson not out 6

N Denton lbw b M Lawrence 11

Extras 24

Total 92

Bowling: A Kemp 9-4-27-2;A Ebdale 13-7-9-3; M Lawrence 11.1-4-22-4; P Kinnair 6-0-22-0; M Nash 1-0-1-0.


D Denton c R Neil b B Oliver 4

P Kinnair lbw b B Oliver 3

A Purvis b N Denton 3

M Nash not out 13

M Lawrence not out 62

Extras 8

Total 93

Bowling: B Oliver 6-0-20-2; N Denton 5-2-17-1; P Straker 2-0-15-0; I Clough 2-0-37-0; P Robinson 0.1-0-1-0.

Tillside I v Blue Flames I

Tillside I

G Turnbull b A Horner 19

K Bickerton c R Blaney b K Brown 10

S Whitty lbw b K Brown 5

L Hindmarsh c&b S Taylor 5

C Beasley c A Wilson b S Taylor 4

G Hill lbw b A Horner 24

J Birkett b A Horner 14

I Sim c S Burkul b S Taylor 7

M Whitty c R Walker b S Pinnington 21

C McGregor not out 21

L Dickson b S Pinnington 11

Extras 17

Total 158

Bowling: K Brown 13-3-22-2; R Walker 6-1-17-0; S Taylor 13-2-32-3; A Horner 10-0-37-3; S Pinnington 6.5-0-43-2.

Blue Flames I

R Walker not out 76

P McKeever c K Bickerton b G Hill 17

A Wilson b Gareth Hill 12

S Pinnington c J Birkett b M Whitty 1

S Burkul c G Turnbull b M Whitty 0

K Brown not out 35

Extras 19

Total 160

Bowling: L Hindmarsh 9-1-27-0; L Dickson 5.3-1-34-0; G Hill 3-0-25-2; C McGregor 8-1-24-0; M Whitty 7-0-36-2; J Birkett 2-0-13-0.

Warkworth I v Corbridge I

Warkworth I

K Puddephatt c A Dover b T Douglas 36

S Dargue c C Fowler b D Hardy 10

D Younger c C Fowler b D Hardy 133

C Younger lbw b T Douglas 11

A Hall b D Hardy 30

R Davison c D Hardy b D Robinson 0

M Clark c T Douglas b D Robinson 1

S Anderson b D Robinson 0

S Lee not out 1

R Carruthers b D Robinson 5

Extras 26

Total 253

Bowling: A Dover 8-2-12-0; D Hardy 12-1-59-3; T Douglas 6-0-39-0; C Fowler 6-0-39-0; D Robinson 5-0-36-0; S Pitman 4-0-31-0; D Robinson 5.5-0-20-4; D McKendrick 2-0-24-0.

Corbridge I

C Fowler c G Puddephatt b C Younger 63

D Smurthwaite c S Anderson b C Younger 35

J Maude lbw b D Younger 11

A Dover b C Younger 34

T Douglas b M Clark 24

A Percival lbw b C Younger 2

D Robinson ro b C Younger 4

D McKendrick c S Dargue b S Lee 9

D Hardy b S Lee 8

S Pitman b M Clark 3

D Robinson not out 0

Extras 28

Total 221

Bowling: M Clark 11-1-34-2; G Puddephatt 4-0-34-0; A Hall 4-2-12-0; D Younger 13-2-63-1; C Younger 13-1-60-4; S Lee 2.2-0-13-2.