Runners who go the extra mile are honoured at AGM

News and results from Alnwick Harriers.
News and results from Alnwick Harriers.

Special medals were been handed out to dedicated runners during Alnwick Harriers’ annual general meeting.

The event, on Wednesday, October 15, was held at Alnwick Rugby Club and was well attended.

The medals recognise club members who have taken part in a large number of races over the course of the last year.

All races in a Harriers vest count, ranging from 5ks to marathons and including parkruns, fell races, relays and cross-country events.

Every award-winner has been congratulated for their efforts, but a special mention has gone to the club’s loyal Cumbrian-based members, Gay and Richard Eastoe.

The inspirational couple have taken part in more than 60 races this year, a quite brilliant achievement.

Award-winners: Platinum: Gay Eastoe, Richard Eastoe.

Gold (more than 20 races): Micky Aiston, Phil Baston, Shelley Coates, Bruce Crombie, Mark Doctor, Sarah Gray, Dave Hindmarsh, Phil Lee, John Ross, Diana Weightman.

Silver (12 to 19 races): Dave Coates, Ruth Doctor, Mike Henry, Stuart Morris, Alex Reed, Tracey Sample.

Bronze (8 to 11 races): Tim Shepherd, Conrad Stewart.

Before the medals were handed out, the meeting was kicked off by the club’s chairwoman Sue Bolam, followed by Jim Lillico’s round-up of the year where he clocked a personal best of 39mins 44secs.

Outgoing treasurer, Stuart Carter, was next with the financial stuff, followed by the junior report courtesy of Brenda Mallen.

Stepping down from the committee this time were Emma Givens, as well as life member and membership secretary Anne Allan.

Thanks have been given to both of them for their work over the years.

Cris Atwell is back for another stint as treasurer, with Stu Carter becoming but a humble committee member.

Lisa Williams is the new membership secretary, while Audrey Stewart, Tim Shepherd and Vee Pollock have joined the committee.