Round the local golf courses

A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.
A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.

A look at the results from the local clubs.

Bamburgh Castle moved to within a point of leaders and reigning champions Alnmouth (Foxton) A after a 12-0 win over Foxton B in round six, the A team having been held to a draw at Magdalene Fields.

Dunstanburgh Castle A and Linden Hall continue to lead the way in Division Two and Three respectively.

Round six results and tables:-

Division One: Alnwick Castle 7 Goswick 5; Magdalene Fields A 6 Alnmouth (Foxton) A 6; Alnmouth (Foxton) B 0 Bamburgh Castle 12.

Division Two: Dunstanburgh Castle A 9 Burgham Park 3; Rothbury 8 Seahouses 4; Alnmouth Village 5 Warkworth 7.

Division Three: Percy Wood 9 Dunstanburgh Castle B 3; Wooler 4 Longhirst Hall 8; Linden Hall 7 Magdalene Fields B 5.

Division One: Alnmouth (Foxton) A 52, Bamburgh Castle 51, Alnwick 39, Goswick 32, Magdalene Fields A 30, Alnmouth (Foxton) B 12.

Division Two: Dunstanburgh Castle A 49, Rothbury 43, Alnmouth Village 36, Burgham Park 35, Seahouses 34, Warkworth 19.

Division Three: Longhirst Hall 54, Percy Wood 42, Wooler 40, Magdalene Fields B 28, Linden Hall 27, Dunstanburgh Castle B 25.

NN Open Day

Results from Burgham Park - Individual gross: Colin Johnson (Burgham Park) 32pts; David Park (Burgham Park) 30; Gary Barber (Dunstanburgh Castle) 27; Michael Arkle (Rothbury) 27. Nett: Colin Johnson 38pts; David Park 38; Paul Dixon (Alnmouth Village) 35. A Black (Alnwick) 35.

Teams (in alphabetical order): Alnwick Castle 85/130; Alnmouth Village 63 gross/123 nett; Burgham Park 111/139; Dunstanburgh Castle 110/122; Goswick 73/114; Magdalene Fields 73/120; Percy Wood 32/106; Rothbury 85/122; Seahouses 79/117; Warkworth 67/120.

Alnmouth (Foxton)

Archibald Lamp: 1 K O’Malley 74-13=61; 2 G Richer 87-20=67; 3 P Rutherford 81-13=68; 4 A Stanton 73-5=68; 5 B Dickinson 80-12=68; 6 J Mitchinson 80-12=68.

Mixed Greensomes - Lilly Trophy: 1 Mr R Matthews and Mrs B Biesterfield 91-21.8=69.2; 2 Mr D Westwell and Mrs P Smith 89-17=72; 3 Mr GD Burton and Mrs S Burton 89-16.4=72.6.

Foxton Salver - Best Gross: Mr and Mrs R Cole 85.

Alnmouth Foxton (L)

EWGA Medals - Silver: 1 M Turner 86-12-74, 2 C Broome 89-13-76 3, A Hansen 80-3-77.

Bronze: 1 D Bull 109-35-74, 2 J Hill 104-27-77 3, H Hardy 108-31-77.

Nine hole competition: Winner H Tulip 20pts; 2 R Ross 18.

The Daphne Percy Cup: Winner D Bull.

Alnmouth Village

Sharp Cup (sponsored by a couple of very loyal and distinguished members): 1 Davey Trotter (countback) 38pts; 2 Jordan Maxwell 38; Joint 3 Daryl Taylor, MJ Campbell and Norman Luke 37; Joint 6 Andy Stanton and Les Aitken 34.

The inaugural Eric Hately Memorial competition took place, on Friday evening with an absolute bumper turn-out of 25, three-man teams being a real tribute to not just one of the club’s most loyal members (and committee men) but one of the area’s true sportsmen.

The eventual winners were declared as Team Stanton, 2nd place was Team Yeadon, 3rd Team Robson, 4th Team Campbell.

This event will now become a regular date in The Village’s annual fixture book.

Members please be aware: This coming Sunday there is no club competition, as the annual fixture, away at Goswick will be held, playing for The Aln Cup.


Having hit a rich vein of form over his last two outings with second and third places Michael “The Daddy” Friar hit the jackpot last week by winning the Bill Newbegin Commemorative June medal with a more than respectable 3 under par net 67.

Three players shared the next three places with a similar score of 69 and when countback was worked out second place went to Wayne “how did I get that two” Belisle with third and fourth going to Ritchie “I got an Eagle at the 14th” Robson and Marc “the younger” Friar respectively.

The best gross score on the day was a 2 over par 72 by Wayne Belisle with three birdies and eleven pars his downfall was very uncharacteristic a double bogie six on the seventh hole and speaking of uncharacteristic, the gem in an otherwise disappointing round by Brian Hunt was the only birdie four recorded on the day at stroke two par five 12th hole.

There were five members of the 2’s club last week, Kenny Boyd, Russell “don’t forget to mention me “ Cooke,Ritchie Robson (at the par four 14th),Wayne Belisle and Colin Donaldson.

In the Easyway Order of Merit Michael Friar’s win has catapulted him to the top of the table with 1053 points, Wayne Belisle drops to second on 986 followed by Colin Donaldson improving a couple of places on 802.

A quick mention for Bob Chalmers who won the Seniors Trip Trophy when 24 members played over three courses in the Dunfermline area last week.

The Bill Newbegin Commemorative June Medal -1st M I Friar 81-14=67, 2nd W Belisle 72-3=69, 3rd R Robson 84-15=69, 4th M A Friar 76-7=69.

Alnwick Ladies

British Heart Foundation: 1 Jill Clark 39pts; 2 Lorna Tate 39; 3 Dianne Robinson 35. We would like to thank everyone who played and contributed on the day, £475 was raised in total.

Daisy Tarbitt Mixed Foursomes: Winners Lorna and Ian Tate 39pts.

Rose Bowl: 1 Tracey Friar 94-23-71; 2 Lorna Tate 90-15-75; 3 Gillian Gordon 86-11-75.

Lindisfarne Salver: 1 Sheila Brown 38pts; 2 Norma Thompson 35; 3 Lorna Tate 35.


Tom Brown Trophy: Mark Schapira 69-3-66; Eric Wealleans 79-12-67 (on last six); Chris Magnay 75-8-67; Robert Renner 79-12-67; Robert Locke 72-5-67; Mark Dawson 68-1-67. CSS 68.


Sutherland Memorial: 1 A Robson and G Robson 79-13.2=65.8; 2 B Greenley and M Leetham 77-11=66; 3 D Armstrong and N Rayner 85-18.8=66.2.

Rover Cup: 1 G Mallaburn 72-8=64; 2 M Leetham 80-11=69; 3 R Creasey 84-14=70; 4 M Brewis 76-6=70.


Barclays Bank Trophy: 1 Diane Cairns 87-17=70; 2 Eileen Clark 88-17=71; 3 Tammy Horn 92-20=72.

Arkle and Richardson gross pairs: 1 Paul Arkle and Alastair Oliver 69+76=145; 2 Mark Clements and Neil Rodgerson 73+75=148; 3 Andrew Richardson and Graham Richardson 77+76=153.

Bryce and Rutter nett pairs: 1 Keith Appleby and James Rollitt 69+67=136; 2 Mark Clements and Neil Rodgerson 67+69=136; 3 Paul Arkle and Alastair Oliver 65+71=136.


Lady Captain’s day, June 21: Winner Anne Lathan 39pts; 2 Glynis Lawson 34; 3 Nicki Claydon 32.

Nine-hole competition: Winner Lynda Pinder 16pts.

Winners of the longest drives: Lynne Bannister (silver) and Carol Lovell (bronze). Nearest the pin winners: Alison Claydon first; Anne Locke 10th; Glynis Lawson, 15th.

The Mary Day Memorial and Ida Douglas Trophy played on June 28: Winner Lorraine Bewley 85-14-71 (on countback) from Nicki Claydon 82-11-71; 3 Susan Hornsby, 88-14-74 (on countback) from Eileen Robinson 106-32-74.

Summer Shield: Graeme Preston 72-5-67; Andrew Hornsby 71-5-66; Kevin Filer 75-8-67; Richard Nelson 73-5-68; Rob Rennie 82-13-69; Aidan Topham 75-6-69; David Bell 81-12-69.


Centenary Cup: D Fish 83-20-63; D Arkley 75-9-66; R Atwell 87-19-68 (on last nine).

Killie Cup - 1st P Gray +3, 2nd G Milroy +2 (back 9), 3rd D Cook +2.

After a gap of some 10 years the mixed open (stableford)made a welcome return to the Warkworth fixture list.

Results: 1st Gill Campbell & Alan Preene (Selby GC) 42pts, 2nd Chris & Joan Ayre (The Hobson GC) 41pts, 3rd Alan & Janice Peacock (Chester-le-Street GC) 39pts.

Warkworth Ladies

Guest Day: 1 P Jones and D Coney 37pts; 2 P Lewis and J Nattrass 36; 3 L Langlands and M Hartnell 32.

Nearest the pin: J Robertson. Best front nine: D Hindhaugh and M Graham. Best back nine: J Robertson and L Osgood.


The Curry Cup, a two-man Texas scramble was held on Saturday, June 27, and the runaway winners were Stuart Lowrey and Andrew Carr.

On Sunday, the third round of the Lonsdale and Cowens Eclectic was held and the winner was George Wilkinson 88-18-70 ahead of Andrew Carr 85-12-73.