A total of 80 runners lined up within the walls of Warkworth Castle for the start of the village show’s 2.5km fun run.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 14th August 2019, 7:37 pm
Updated Wednesday, 21st August 2019, 11:11 am

First back and overall winner in 8min 30s was Junior Harrier Ollie Telfer, followed by Ben Murray-John, while Rob Murray-John did well to keep his son in sight to finish 3rd senior male. Millie Breese had an excellent race finishing 3rd overall, first female and first U16, Lauren Brown was second in this category and Beth Carragher 3rd. Max Murray-John ran an excellent race finishing fourth overall and first U16 boy, Thomas Davison was 2nd U16 boy and James Carragher was 3rd! Harris Hall had a good race and he won the U13 boys category.

On Sunday, Alicia Purvis and Lucy McGowan competed at the final NOTAN (North of Tyne Athletics Network) match in Whitley Bay. Alicia rounded off an excellent season with an all-time championship record performance in howler throw, where she managed to smash the existing record by 7m with a throw of 28.4m, outstanding for someone who is still only 8 years old! Alicia won the overall first place award for Y3 girls!

Leila Thompson who was competing in Liverpool managed to secure an excellent third place in the Grand Prix in the Year 6 girls’ competition.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Also on Sunday, Talia and Leila Thompson travelled to Liverpool for the Northern Athletics Age Group Championships. Both girls competed in shot put; Talia in the U15 category and Leila at U13.

Talia, who has been injured for the latter part of the season, managed an excellent 5th place, while Leila, who threw a personal best of 7.88m, took an excellent third place. Leila’s throw was particularly impressive as she is still in her first year as an Under 13.

Druridge Bay parkrun – 2 Jon Archer 19:04; 5 Peter Grey 20:31; 6 Dominic Harris 20:36; 12 David Barnes 21:46; 39 Neil Hamilton 25:07; 56 Ruth Doctor 26:52; 59 John Ross 27:20; 63 David Cooper 27:34; 83 George Williams 28:26; 97 Karen Leeson 29:29; 147 Lorna Stephenson 34:07.

Pastures parkrun – 8 Graham Crow 22:19 (PB); 10 David Hindmarsh 23:11 (PB); 28 Keith Shotton 26:08; 30 Mark Latham 26:14; 33 Karl McEwan 26:46; 56 Kim Bronze 32:00; 84 Michael Henry 48:27.