Bandits’ Etheridge and Summers in the wars

BERWICK BANDITS 50LEICESTER LIONS 40Berwick went some way to avenging their Championship Shield semi-final defeat at the hands of Leicester with a 50-40 home win over the table-topping Lions at Shielfield on Saturday.

Wednesday, 10th July 2019, 2:29 pm
Updated Monday, 15th July 2019, 10:50 am
Action from Berwick v Leicester at Shielfield.

And it was Dany Gappmaier who emerged the match-winner as the Austrian raced to his first ever maximum in British racing with a 14+1 haul.

But the Bandits ended the night with only six walking riders as Jye Etheridge sustained a foot injury in a heat ten crash. He required an X-ray and was immediately ruled out of Sunday’s return in the Midlands. The accident involved all four riders on the first bend - Etheridge was the only one to remain on his bike, but ironically it was he who required extended medical treatment from paramedics.

Berwick stamped their authority on the meeting with two 5-1s in the first three races, and after that they were never headed, although Leicester, with guest Stevie Worrall, Ryan Douglas, Connor Mountain and the experienced Scott Nicholls all winning races, kept the meeting honest, trailing 38-34 with three races remaining.

But Aaron Summers, who had been on the floor in the heat ten pile-up, picked himself up to win heat 13 before Gappmaier rounded off his night to complete his full house with wins in 14 and 15.

Berwick - Gappmaier 14+1, Summers 9+1, Jakobsen 8+1, Doolan 7+2, Etheridge 7+1, Garcia 3+1, Flint 2+1.

Leicester - Worrall 10, Douglas 9, Nicholls 8, Mountain 8, Bates 3+1, Rutherford 1, Perks 0.



Leicester turned the tables on Berwick when the teams met in the return on Sunday.

But there was a further injury setback when Aaron Summers was forced to withdraw, still suffering the effects of the accident the previous evening.

Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen won three races, but he was the only visitor to take the chequered flag.

Leicester - Harris 13, Nicholls 11+1, Douglas 9, Bates 8+2, Perks 6+1, Mountain 6+1, Lawlor 1.​​​​​​​

Berwick - Jakobsen 15+1, Doolan 9, Gappmaier 6+1, Flint 3+1, Garcia 1+1, Summers 0, Etheridge rider replacement.​​​​​​​