Mitford lift trophy in rain-hit season

A SEASON bedevilled by bad weather ended in joy for Mitford, a five-wicket win at Warkworth wrapping up a first championship trophy.

They were clear winners in the end, finishing 26 points ahead of Wooler with Warenford, champions in the previous two seasons, in third place a further five points back.

Warkworth batted first and totalled 173-7; Mitford reached their target with five wickets in hand.

There was a dramatic finish at Warenford where Wooler needed just two runs for victory from the last over with three wickets in hand – but incredibly did not get them.

The striker failed to put bat on ball from the first five deliveries and it took a leg-bye from the final ball to tie the scores. Brian Thompson (60) and Dan Patterson (49) top-scored for the home side, while Mark Murray returned excellent bowling figures of 5-29. Murray (33no) and Sam Nesbitt (55) were Wooler’s leading batsmen.

Tillside finished the season on a winning note, beating Alnmouth and Lesbury by 49 runs, while the Rock-Embleton match fell victim to rain with Embleton 98 all out, Paul Carss again the visitors’ top-scorer with 34.

The Berwick-Howick fixture was short-lived, a nine-man Berwick side being 33 all out, Howick winning by seven wickets.

So history was made with Mitford’s first title triumph but, sadly, the season will be remembered equally for the atrocious weather which blighted the campaign, some clubs losing more than a third of their fixtures.