Welfare hit eight to see off Harrow challenge

North Sunderland v Springhill in the NNL
North Sunderland v Springhill in the NNL

North Northumberland League round-up

Division One

Red Row Welfare 8 Berwick Harrow 2

Red Row entertained The Harrow on Saturday hoping to continue the form they showed at Seahouses last week and only had two minutes to wait to open the scoring when Jordan Giles knocked in from close range.

The home side were always in control from then and scored a further five goals in the first half through Garry Reed, Sean Palmer (tw0), Paul Smith and Mark Nixon.

The second half saw The Harrow came out fighting and gave Red Row a game, when Andy Burton hit a snap-shot past Mavin to make it 6-1.

The home side responded with a Garry Reed drive which took a deflection on the way in.

Harrow kept fighting and scored again when Johnny Gill reduced the deficit.

Shaun Black got the last goal for Red Row.

Red Row team from: Mavin, Eason, Lilburn, D Palmer, Giles, Small, Reed, P Smith, A Palmer, Nixon, Charlton, J Baston, Robertson, Black

Man-of-the-match: Jack Small. Match sponsor: David Laverick and Albi Plastering.

Shilbottle CW 4

Bamburgh Castle 2

Shilbottle continued their winning start to the season when finally getting the better of a determined Bamburgh side in this close encounter at the Welfare Ground.

The Colliers started brightly and took the lead after only seven minutes’ play when Liam Brooks controlled a long clearance by home keeper Andrew Wilson to lob Chris Stanwix in the Bamburgh goal.

They should have increased their advantage when Josh Hay broke clear only to be foiled by the Bamburgh keeper, then Liam Brooks hit a post with a good chance as the visitors survived a goalmouth scramble.

Bamburgh gradually came more into the game as the half progressed and stung the Colliers with two goals in a five-minute period before the break.

Firstly, Alex Mackay pounced from close range before Gareth McCann struck home from the edge of the box to enable Bamburgh to lead by the odd goal in three at the interval.

It took Colliers a while to recover from this setback and for the opening half-hour of the second half they appeared to be in trouble.

However, they finally drew level after 75 minutes when Richard Brown struck home while under pressure from a Bamburgh defender.

Five minutes later, the Colliers were awarded a penalty for a push in the box and Chris Graham managed to force home the resultant spot-kick after his initial effort was parried by the Bamburgh keeper.

Shilbottle finally made the points safe five minutes from time when good work down the left flank from Richard Brown saw his cross sweetly struck home from the edge of the box by Paul White.

Shilbottle: A Wilson, P White, C Graham, M Graham, R Murray, B Balmbra, P Grey, C Flanighan, L Brooks, J Hay, A Turvey, R Hume, R Brown, R Douglas. Man-of-the-match: Matty Graham. Match sponsor: Raymond Lorimer (Amble).

Division Two

Lowick United found their shooting boots as they scored 14 times without reply against Amble St Cuthbert.

Paul Wood, four, Andy Metcalfe, three, Marc Murray and Mark Dunlop, two apiece, and single goals from Ben Young, Brian Blackburn and Darren Thompson made up the Lowick total.

A hard-fought game saw Lynemouth Anglers United FC leave, once again, with nothing.

With Craster 2-0 up at half-time, it was always going to be difficult, but Lynemouth held their own until a Craster penalty sealed their victory in the second half.

Manager David Shepherd was bitterly disappointed but his after-match talk focused on the positives and the need for training and sticking together to change things around.

Thanks to The Plough Inn, Ellington, and Anglers United for their support.

Bilclough Cup

Highfield United’s Simon Hargreaves and Ryan Wedderburn both scored twice, with Carl Simpson also on the scoresheet, in a win at Embleton WR whose scorer was Jason Imeson.

Second division Wansbeck AFC took Rothbury to extra-time before losing out on penalty kicks.

Hedgeley Rovers progressed at the expense of Alnmouth United.

Sanderson Cup

Colin Young, two, Martin Bell, David Blackhall and Chris Jenkins all scored in Springhill’s win at North Sunderland, whose single reply was a Neil MacFarlane penalty.

Fixtures on Page 75