Rovers sniff out win

Craster Rovers...1 Bamburgh Castle...0

North Northumberland League Division Two

CRASTER Rovers moved back into third place with this narrow win over rivals Bamburgh.

Rovers, with a large squad available, were able to change tactics from last week’s win, bringing Lee Charlton into a five-man midfield to stifle the attacking threat of Alex Mckay for Bamburgh.

In what turned out to be a game of two halves, it was Bamburgh who started stronger with early efforts from Darren Egdell, one over the bar from six yards and one deflected wide for a corner.

The away team continued to press but Andrew Hogg and Thomas Davidson were strong in the Craster defence.

Although Craster came more into the game they were restricted to long-range efforts from David Hogg and Tom Parker and it was Bamburgh who looked most likely to score in the remainder of the half, with the best chance falling to Jack Quinlan, who shot wide from a good position.

The second half saw Rovers looking like a different side, pushing the Bamburgh midfield into a more defensive role.

With Parker and Charlton working hard in the middle, the ever-creative David Davidson was finding space to feed Jake Parker and Edwin Gillon on the wings.

In a good spell of Craster pressure, a 65th-minute Jonny Clarke throw led to the deftest of flicks from David Hogg into the Bamburgh box. The impressive Thomas Davidson reacted quickest to drill home from eight yards.

Craster continued to press, with Gillon finding space on the left and driving a shot against the bar on 75 minutes. The home team held on for the win in what was a close and entertaining game of football, making it all-square between the two teams this season.

Craster: N Smart, J Clarke, D Allan, A Hogg,T Davidson, E Gillon, D Davidson, L Charlton, T Parker, D Hogg, J Parker, (subs) A Stanwix, S Watson, J Hedley. Craster man-of-the-match: Thomas Davidson. Bamburgh man-of-the-match: Andrew Bailie. Craster match sponsor: Howick Scar Gas.

Bamburgh: G Filer, A Bailie, S Tanney, G Turner, J Quinlan, D Egdell, A Mckay, J Johnson, C Dalton, S Aldred, S Archer. Subs: J Moffet, J Liddell, I Patten.