Roofing strike late for win

Alnwick Town 3 Jarrow Roofing 4

Northern League, Division Two

Latest Alnwick Town news.

Latest Alnwick Town news.

Alnwick Town suffered last-gasp heartache on Tuesday night, as they were beaten by a 95th-minute goal, in what was new manager Derek Atwell’s first game in charge.

The black ‘n’ whites thought they had rescued a point after Tom Macpherson made it 3-3 with three minutes of normal time remaining of the Northern League, Division Two clash.

But Jarrow Roofing, who had Ian Graham sent off late on, had the last say, as Darren Reay snatched the points with virtually the last kick.

It left Town reflecting on what could have been, having led 2-0 and finding themselves up against an inspired keeper in Daniel Regan.

He pulled off countless saves – especially in the first half – which kept his side in the game; a match in which Town looked more threatening in the attacking third than they have done for a long time.

Boss Atwell admitted he was disappointed to lose, but said there were plenty of positives to take and praised the performance of his lads.

Town took the lead in the seventh minute. Keith Douglas was credited with the goal, although Bryan Murray said on Twitter afterwards that he got the decisive touch.

Macpherson, making his 100th start for the club, put the hosts 2-0 up in the 21st minute, with a low shot.

Roofing pulled one back 10 minutes later through Dean Nicholson.

Town should have been out of sight by half-time, but for Regan. One of his many saves was pushing a long-range effort onto the bar.

Roofing started the second half brightly and equalised in the 58th minute through a deflected shot from Anthony Myers, before Stephen Young put the visitors ahead three minutes later with a low shot.

Macpherson headed Town level in the 87th minute, but Reay struck at the death.

Town are at home to Darlington RA on Saturday before hosting Whitley Bay in the Senior Cup on Tuesday night, at 7.30pm.

Alnwick: D Mullen, B Murray, K Hogg, D Lowes, T Macpherson, K Elliott, A Makin (T Vickers), T Brown, D Kennedy, K Douglas, J Lowes (J Jackson). Subs: D Hills, B Brooks, K Collins.