Northern Football Alliance round-up (Saturday, April 4)

Northern Football Alliance round-up.
Northern Football Alliance round-up.

Shilbottle gained ground on the leaders in Division Two with a 1-8 thumping of Swalwell. They now trail Gateshead Leam Rangers by four points with two games in hand. Alnwick Town Reserves picked up a point at Wallsend Labour Club, while Wooler’s game at Gosforth Bohemians was postponed.

Newcastle Building Society Premier Division

Blyth Town were crowned Newcastle Building Society Premier Division Champions as they came from behind to win at Northbank. Mark Worrall shot the Cumbrians ahead but Scott Jasper levelled and Jay Ritchie grabbed the winner from the penalty spot on the stroke of half-time.

Marc Shiel hit a treble in second-placed Carlisle City’s win at Seaton Delaval, with Sean Bannon and Josh Simpson grabbing the others. Alex Benjamin notched a consolation from the penalty-spot and Shankhouse sharpshooter Lee Gustard also netted a hat-trick as they hit Walker Central for six. Scott Lowery bagged a brace and John Ludlow completed the rout.

A Ryan Cocker header put Rutherford in front against North Shields Athletic and Ross Nicholson added a second late on, while goals from Tom Potter and Andrew Robertson earned Whitley Bay A a maximum return against Red House Farm.

Wallington’s match against Killingworth Station was abandoned due to a serious injury to a player.

Nike Division One

Percy Main completed an exciting turnaround to lift the Division One silverware. Wallsend Boys Club’s Jordan Robertson and Will James looked to have put a dampener on the Villager’s promotion party but they stormed back with late goals from Sam Thompson (pen), Ryan McKee and an 85th minute Steve Hart strike to win the championship.

Victor Jefferson’s hat-trick put Cramlington Town in charge against Ponteland United, who also saw stand-in keeper Sam Marshall save a penalty before they stormed back with three goals in six minutes to claim a point with Gary Cook, an Andrew Clarke own-goal and Ethan Bewley on the scoresheet.

Conor Aisbitt’s opener for Blyth Isabella at Birtley Saint Joseph’s was cancelled out by goals from Jack Pearson and Tony Smith, while Jordan Watson earned New Fordley a point at Chemfica as he levelled Chris Homans’ opener.

Kev Salmon, John Ball, Jamie Spender, Stephen Moat and Scott Andrew were Cullercoat’s scorers in their 5-2 success against Bedlington Terriers Reserves and Nick Harrison hit two for Newcastle Uni, who were held to an exciting 4-4 draw by Hexham. Lewis Whybrow and Matthew Baldwin got the others.

Bay Plastics Division Two

Josh Hay was back on the goal trail with a hat-trick as Shilbottle CW cut Gateshead Leam Rangers’ lead at the top to four points by crashing in eight at Swalwell. Liam Brooks struck twice with Matty Graham, Phil Grey and Ross Gair adding the others. Gary Taylor notched a consolation.

Callum Budzinki’s double for Longbenton put a dent in Lindisfarne Custom Planet’s promotion hopes and kept the Bulls in the picture. Adam Scope added a third, with Jonny Storey replying.

John Wyres was on target for Wallsend Labour Club but Alnwick Town Reserves’ Neil MacFarlane stretched the net at the other end and first half goals from David Hewitt and Aldair Batista gave Seaton Burn victory over Cramlington United.

Lewis Walker and Daryl Patterson chalked up for Forest Hall in their success at Whitburn.

RESULTS (Saturday, April 4, 2015)

Newcastle Building Society Premier Division: Gateshead Rutherford AFC 2 North Shields Athletic FC 0, Northbank Carlisle 1 Blyth Town 2, Seaton Delaval Amateurs 1 Carlisle City 5, Shankhouse FC 6 Walker Central 0, Wallington v Killingworth Station (match abandoned due to serious injury), Whitley Bay A 2 Red House Farm 0.

Nike Division One: Birtley St Joseph’s FC 2 Blyth Isabella 1, Cramlington Town 3 Ponteland United 3, Cullercoats 5 Bedlington Terriers Reserves 2, Gosforth Bohemians v Wooler pp, Newcastle Chemfica Independent 1 New Fordley 1, Newcastle University 4 Hexham 4, Percy Main Amateurs 3 Wallsend Boys’ Club 2.

Bay Plastics Division Two: Longbenton 3 Lindisfarne Custom Planet 1, Seaton Burn 2 Cramlington United 0, Swalwell 1 Shilbottle CW 8, Wallsend Labour Club 1 Alnwick Town Reserves 1, Whitburn Athletic 0 Forest Hall 2.