Northern Alliance round-up (Saturday, January 3)

Northern Football Alliance round-up.
Northern Football Alliance round-up.

Newcastle Building Society Premier Division

Carlisle City hot-shot Marc Shiel slammed in six times during a first-half demolition of Hebburn Reyrolle.

Rob McCartney (2), James Earl and Jamie Heath added the others as the Cumbrians chalked up double figures against the basement strugglers.

David Robinson and Jay Ritchie fired Blyth Town ahead against Wallington and although Dan Thompson pulled one back, Stephen Howes rounded things off with a third to extend Town’s winning run to an amazing seventeen games.

Craig Webb (2), Joe Moscrop and Shaun Gibson scored Ashington Colliers’ goals in a win at Killingworth Station, who had Paul Dunn, Francis Storey and Alex Benjamin net.

Northbank also hit four on the road at Red House Farm – Mark Worrall, Robbie Vallance, Michael Reid and Jordie Cowley producing the goods. A Steve Brown penalty and an own goals were the host’s consolations.

Walker Central and North Shields Athletic cancelled each other out in a rare goalless draw and AFC Newbiggin goalkeeper Craig Towart was sensational as it also ended goalless at Rutherford in the Bay Plastics George Dobbins League Cup quarter finals.

Rutherford took the tie on penalties while they are joined in the final four by Whitley Bay A, whose scorers were Chris Bell, Tom Potter and Nick Jarvis Smith at holders Shankhouse.

Nike Division One

Joe Betts struck twice as leaders Percy Main hit five at promotion rivals Cullercoats. Sam Thompson, Dan Sneap and Ryan Laws got the others, while Dean McCarthy and John Amos notched at the other end.

Chemfica hit Blyth Isabella for six with Alex McKitterick, Tommy Lee Bainbridge (2), Steve McLaughlin, Garrick Murphey and Liam Heenan celebrating.

Alex Nesbitt bagged a brace and Daniel Hindmarsh added the other in Wallsend Boys Club’s success against Gosforth Bohs, with Peter Hall and Kevin Brunyson pulling back while Gary Cook and Zak Bewley were Ponteland United’s hit-men in their victory over Birtley Saint Josephs. Lee Cuthbertson made up for a penalty miss with the consolation.

Paul Armstrong, Danny McDonald, David Mason and Jordan Walsh scored for Cramlington Town as they beat Newcastle Uni. Jake Salisbury, Simon Hay and Robbie Sweet struck at the other end.

New Fordley sent Grainger Park spinning out of the Blue Fin Sport Bill Gardner Memorial Trophy with goals from Zak Tulley, Matty Middleton and Dean Gallagher on target – Shaun Sager replied.

Ben Miley fired in twice for Lindisfarne Custom Planet as they won at Hexham.

Neil Turner and Michael Hedley got the others, while Luke Parkinson, Marco Fleatias and Tony Lancaster hit the net for the Tynedalers.

Bay Plastics Division Two

Gateshead Leam Rangers hit seven in the second half at local rivals Swalwell to retain their four point lead at the top.

Despite being frustrated for 45 minutes, Liam Barnett hit a hat-trick with James Fenwick (2), Curtis Aitken and Ryan Gibson also lashing in.

Shilbottle’s Matty Graham hit the only goal as the Colliers took the points with a narrow victory over Seaton Burn and Longbenton were held at Whitburn despite having Connor Graham (2) and Pete Webster on target. Nick Little, Liam Roberts and Andy Smith hit the replies.

Niall Younger and Mark Nicholson fired home for Cramlington United as they beat Willington Quay Saints, with Matthew Adams pulling one back late on, and Chris Marshall (2), Craig Black and Andy Wade beat the goalkeeper for High Howdon at Alnwick Town Reserves, who replied courtesy of Dom Schivetta and James Jackson.

Newcastle Benfield Reserves won a 7-4 thriller against West Allotment Celtic A.



Carlisle City 10 Hebburn Reyrolle 0

Killingworth Station 3 Ashington Colliers 4

Blyth Town 3 Wallington 1

Red House Farm 2 Northbank Carlisle 4

Seaton Delaval Amateurs P Whickham Sporting Club P

Walker Central 0 North Shields Athletic 0


Bedlington Terriers Reserves P Wooler P

Birtley St Josephs 1 Ponteland United 2

Cullercoats 2 Percy Main Amateurs 5

Newcastle Chemfica Ind 6 Blyth Isabella 0

Newcastle University 3 Cramlington Town 4

Wallsend Boys Club 3 Gosforth Bohemians 2


Alnwick Town Reserves 2 High Howdon Social Club 4

Cramlington United 2 Willington Quay Saints 1

Newcastle Benfield Reserves 7 West Allotment Celtic A 4

Shilbottle C W 1 Seaton Burn 0

Swalwell 0 Gateshead Leam Rangers 7

Whitburn Athletic 3 Longbenton 3

Wideopen P Forest Hall P


Hexham 3 Lindisfarne Custom Planet 4

New Fordley 3 Grainger Park Boys Club 1


Gateshead Rutherford AFC 0 AFC Newbiggin 0 (AET – Rutherford won 4-2 on pens)

Shankhouse F C 0 Whitley Bay A 3