Blyth Spartans announce retained list ahead of 2021/22 National League North

Blyth Spartans have announced 14 players have left the club following the expiration of their contracts.

By Jordan Cronin
Friday, 30th April 2021, 2:28 pm
Blyth Spartans have announced their retained list ahead of the 2021/22 season.
Blyth Spartans have announced their retained list ahead of the 2021/22 season.

Spartans were bottom of the National League North table when the campaign was brought to a premature end in February after a group-wide dispute over funding.

The 2021/22 campaign is due to get underway on August 14 and manager Michael Nelson has confirmed a rebuild of the squad is underway.

Rhys Evans, Connor Thomson, Jamie Clark and Corey McKeown have all been offered new deals with a positive outcome hoped in the coming weeks.

However, a large chunk of last season’s squad are now searching for new clubs after their time at Croft Park came to an end.

The players released include: Brendan Pearson, Kieran Charlton, Matthew Elsdon, Alex Sakellaropoulos, Olly Scott, Callum Guy, Simon Heslop, Liam Agnew, Michael Cain, Levi Amantchi, Morgan Dart, Panos Katsamagkas and Kurt Russell.

Kris Thackray, a central defender, has retired from football. Dan Wilson and JJ O’Donnell have returned to their parent clubs, North Shields and Gateshead, respectively.

“I’d like to place on record my thanks to the players that are leaving us,” Nelson told the club website.

“Last season was a tough one for everyone, not least with the Covid-19 pandemic, however the lads handled themselves brilliantly and always gave me 100%.

“I wish them all the best for the future.

“Rest assured, myself and the board are already planning for next season and have identified targets we feel may become available when their current contracts expire.”