Fees frozen in credit crunch

ALNWICK Bowling Club decided to keep subscriptions at the same level, with new members only paying half for their first year because of the present economic climate, at its 135th annual meeting.

In his annual report, secretary David Quean said, due to bad weather in November and December of last year, the annual meeting and the Christmas party were abandoned, with the meeting finally being held in January

In the spring, a new fence was erected on the School House boundary and the portable cabin was re-painted inside and out.

Mr Quean paid tribute to all those who had helped with these tasks and the selection committee for a job well done.

In league competitions, the ladies finished second in the Collins and Shipley League, the men once again were second in the North Northumberland League, gained promotion in the Northumberland Clegg Cup and finished seventh in the Nines.

In was a successful season in friendlies with the club playing 15, winning 10, losing five and three match matches were lost to bad weather and two for other reasons. He thanked all those who supported these friendly matches.

In the county competitions, congratulations went to Jo Lormor and Mavis Liddle and also to Roger Turnbull and John Hume for reaching the national finals in their respective pairs competitions.

The ladies also won the County Benevolent Triples, through L Cook, L Stokoe and S Taylor. He also praised all concerned in winning the Gosforth Centenary Plate.

As usual, club competitions were keenly contested, with the results as follows:

Ladies: Alder Cup S Dale, Edie Dunn Trophy C Hume, Lilian Payne Salvers, S Ratcliffe and A Daley, Meyer Cup L Stokoe.

Gents: Duke’s Medal: T Peate, Dick Brown Trophy: M Fairbairn, Graham Cup: D Miller, T Field Trophy: M Fairbairn, Wilcox Cup: J Hume, Leath Cup: G Turner, Beatty Pairs: J Athey and G Turner.

Mixed: Lindsay Trophy: R Wilson, D Wilkinson and J Watt, Helen Thompson Pairs: Y Turner and K Gardiner, TE Hall Triples: G Heron, RA Bingham and R Givens, K Liddle Jumbles: G Turner, Friday Triples: R Topping.

Thanks were given to the sponsors John Heron, Famous Grouse Whisky, MKM Building Supplies and Travelsure Ltd. Mr Quean also thanked all who had helped club in any way during the season.

Financially, the club suffered a slight loss, revealed treasurer John Levy on the season with some heavy expenditure on ground and machinery.

Officials elected: President: Michael Grant, Secretary and bar chairman David Quean, Treasurer Russ Dale. Match Secretary George Batey. Green Keeper Roger Turnbull. New committee member Lynn Cook.