Emphatic Blagdon inflict crushing defeat on Tillside

Blagdon Park (324-5) v Tillside (164 all out)

SG Wealth Management Northumberland Cricket League, Premier Division

Explosive batting from Blagdon Park’s top-order and a six-wicket haul by Alistair Clark blew Tillside away, as the north Northumberland side crashed to a heavy 160-run defeat.

Opener Russell Hughes and number three James Sanders did the bulk of the damage with the bat as Park posted a hefty 324-5 from 50 overs.

And while Gavin Turnbull and Cameron Beasley pushed towards half centuries in the run chase, Tillside were unable to fight back – all out for 164.

Winning the toss, Park were ruthless with the bat in Saturday’s Northumberland Cricket League Premier Division clash.

Sanders finished unbeaten on 96 from 109 balls and Hughes hit 86 from 91, while Shaun Collins (45) and David Gibson (35) aided the cause.

Liam Hindmarsh (3-89), Matthew McCreath (1-88) and Cameron McGregor (1-47) were the Tillside wicket-takers.

Turnbull (43), Beasley (39) and Gareth Hill (34) battled valiantly with the bat, but a rampant Clark took 6-35 as he tore through Tillside’s batsmen.

Matthew Senior (1-23) and Matt Williamson (1-27) also struck as Tillside fell to their first league defeat of the season.


Blagdon Park

D Gibson c Sim b L Hindmarsh 35

R Hughes c Sim b McGregor 86

J Sanders not out 96

S Collins c Hill b L Hindmarsh 45

M Senior b McCreath 21

M Tallantyre b L Hindmarsh 6

M Foster not out 12

Extras 23

Total (5wkts) 324

Bowling: G Hill 8-0-66-0; M McCreath 13-0-88-1; L Hindmarsh 13-1-89-3; C McGregor 13-1-47-1; M Whitty 0.5-0-7-0; A Hindmarsh 2.1-0-23-0.


G Turnbull c M Senior b Clark 43

K Bickerton c Hughes b M Senior 0

I Sim c Hughes b Williamson 4

C Beasley c Johnson b Clark 39

C McGregor c Tallantyre b Clark 0

S Whitty not out 15

L Hindmarsh c Foster b Clark 2

G Hill c Hughes b Clark 34

M McCreath run out 1

A Hindmarsh c Sanders b Clark 2

M Whitty absent

Extras 24

Total (all out) 164

Bowling: M Senior 9-2-23-1; M Williamson 4-0-27-1; A Clark 12.4-1-35-6; P Johnson 8-0-35-0; M Foster 3-0-20-0; D Gibson 3-0-19-0.

Blagdon Park won by 160 runs.