Double victory for Martin brings fifth darts league season to a close

Alnwick Premier Darts League Divisional Cups

In the first of the Divisional Cups, The Hotspur took on B League champions Shilbottle Club A.

With a fine display, The Spurs were too hot to handle for The Club winning 4-1.

Credit is due in no small part to captain Vince Fife whose team almost withdrew from the league due to a lack of players.

The second tie saw The Bottle Boys versus The Travellers.

This was a very high-scoring game, notably by Ryan Kent and Paul Coxford of The Bottles, unfortunately double trouble hit The Bottles and The Travellers went on to win the game 4-0.

Subsidiary Plate

In their second cup final Shilbottle Club A played The Oddies B who, despite their lowly league position, still managed to get to a cup final. In a hard-fought battle The Oddies’ dream ended in a 4-2 win for Shilbottle.

Knock-out Cup

For the second time this season The Bottles Boys met The Travellers in a cup final. The Travellers pulled out all the stops to win 4-0 securing them the treble.

League Doubles

A well-supported pairs competition saw some great games and upsets, with 180s and high finishing the order of the day

The semi-finals saw Shilbottle A versus Shilbottle A and Team Dinga versus Team Dinga.

John Mowbray and Les Simpson defeated team mates Richie Robson and Dave Grey winning 3-2 in a very close game that came down to the final double.

Martin Davison and Keith Bell cruised past team-mates Stu Knowles and Brett Slater 3-0 in a one-sided game.

The final proved a step too far for the Shilbottle pairing with Martin and Keith winning 4-1, Martin taking out 103 to win the match.

League Singles

The singles competition brought the fifth season of the APDL to an end with some fantastic darts, 158 finishes from Sean Turner and Martin Davison along with 180s from Dave Lundy, Martin Davison and Ian Tate.

The semi-finals saw three former champions and one newcomer to the league.

In the first semi-final Richie Robson took a 2-0 lead against Ian Tate, but The Legend came back with some excellent darts to win 3-2.

The second semi-final saw league newcomer Morris (The Veteran) Knowles play 2010 winner Martin Davison, Martin ending up winning 3-1.

With two ex-champs playing this was always going to be a great final.

Ian Tate, 2011 winner, played his part, but the power scoring of Martin proved to be too much.

Martin took the match 4-2.

In a great two weeks for Martin, he regained the singles title and won the pairs. This is a league first.

Well done Martin.

Thanks to everyone who took part this season, hopefully we’ll see you all when the league resumes.

Thanks to Shilbottle Club for providing a fantastic venue, one of the best in the North East.