Cricketing heroes are honoured

Northumberland OSCAs winners
Northumberland OSCAs winners

Volunteers from the county who have dedicated their time to grass-roots cricket have been honoured for their services to the sport, and will now attend the national finals at Lord’s in October.

The winners of the NatWest Northumberland OSCAs (Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards) for 2014 were announced recently.

Warkworth Cricket Club’s Ian Gray was presented with the lifetime achiever prize.

Amanda Hindmarsh, of Tillside CC, received the NatWest CricketForce award.

Alnwick CC’s Gavin Turnbull was recognised for his behind the scenes work, while Thomas Parkinson, from Rock CC, won the building partnerships accolade.

Gray joined Warkworth 42 years ago as a playing member and highlights include captaining the friendly side.

He has been treasurer and chairman of the bar committee for 15 years and part of the general committee since 1974. He collects subs, pays bills and organises social events, among other duties.

Hindmarsh is described as a driving force behind the scenes for Tillside and is involved in fund-raising. She is first-team scorer, club treasurer and was a part of the pavilion-building committee, as well as a core member of the women’s section.

Parkinson took on the role as Rock chairman a year ago and has revived the club’s junior section. He has become a level 2-qualified coach, runs school cricket sessions and has helped with Northumberland U15s coaching.

He has filled in grant-funding applications, negotiated a 30-year lease for Rock’s ground and organised a 24-hour fund-raising event.

Turnbull is Alnwick’s head groundsman and has attended various training courses to increase his skills, transforming the ground into one of the best in the county.

As well as spending many hours a week preparing the playing surface, he is also an active coach at the club and manager of Alnwick’s U18 side.

Other Northumberland winners were Paul Lee (Northumberland & Tyneside Senior League), Gillian Woodley (Newcastle Cricket Club), Ben Cuthbertson (Cramlington Cricket Club) and Lisa Scott (Corbridge Cricket Club).