Celebration of club’s success

Wooler Bowling Club presentation evening'Ladies Champion
Wooler Bowling Club presentation evening'Ladies Champion

WINNERS were in the spotlight at the Wooler Bowling Club presentation night at the Tankerville Arms Hotel last Friday, supported by 52 members and friends.

Brian Davidson won the Men’s Championship and Florence Sprot, pictured with president Jimmy Porteous, is the new Ladies Champion for 2011.

Wooler Bowling Club presentation evening''Presidents trophy.

Wooler Bowling Club presentation evening''Presidents trophy.

Tony Stewart, also pictured with president Jimmy, was caught in the spotlight several times during the evening as runner-up in the Men’s Championship, runner-up in the Hat Night Trophy, runner-up in the Men’s Pairs with Jimmy Porteous, winner of the President’s Cup, the Wilson Singles and the Mitchison Pairs with Brian Davidson.

Tony was also winner of the Stevenson rinks with Pat Thompson, Ruby Robison and Jacqui Donnelly.

Joan Weddell became Wooler Bowling Club’s latest honorary member, having retired as treasurer after many years’ loyal service to the club.

Joan was runner-up this year in the Stevenson rinks with John Mole, John Potts and Rob Donkin. She was also runner-up in the Padley Triples and runner-up in the Ladies Pairs with Eleanor Mole to the winners Joan Turnbull and June Lawson.

Norman Taylor was winner of the Rae Cup; Club Pairs winners were Andrew Stafford and Frank Nelson; Eric Smith and Norman Taylor won the Men’s Pairs competition; The Padley Triples winners were Ian Gibb, Mary Speight and June Lawson.

This year, Wooler Bowling Club men’s team were the North Northumberland League champions and the trophy stood proudly on display.

President Jimmy wished everyone a good winter break and looked forward to the opening day of the next season on April 21, 2012. New members are welcome to join.