Battle at the top goes to champs

IT was back to league business on Saturday with a full programme of fixtures in the Alnwick and District Cricket League after the previous week’s total wash-out.

Thankfully, there was no rain but strong northerly winds made it feel anything but cricketing weather.

Match-of-the-day was at Mitford where the league leaders hosted challengers and champions Warenford.

Put in to bat, Warenford were given a great start by brothers Brian and Kevin Thompson, who put on 110 for the first wicket. Both hit half-centuries in Warenford’s total of 177-8 off their 45 overs.

Mitford made a fight of it, thanks mainly to a knock of 49 by Matty Ellinor, but were still 15 runs adrift when the innings ended on 162 with seven balls remaining.

Warenford’s haul of 21 points saw them leapfrog their rivals, moving from eight behind to six in front.

Michael Williams hit a commendable 65 for Rock but a score of 111 posed no problems for Wooler who replied with 112-3 from 30.4 overs, Ian Clarke (42) leading the run chase.

Warkworth Seconds were skittled for 26 at Embleton, with Headley Grey claiming six for eight and Gary Davison three for six. The home side knocked off the runs without loss.

Alnmouth and Lesbury Seconds won by 29 runs at Berwick following fine bowling performances from Mike Barlow (5-31) and Callum Batey (3-36).

In the day’s remaining match, Tillside defeated Howick by 67 runs, with Law Atkinson (38 and 4-8) taking the honours.


*Alnmouth and Lesbury II 147-9 (Callum Batey 33, Graeme Huitson 27, Graham McDonald 26, Dominic McCreath 3-31, Brian Simmons 3-12) Berwick 118 (James Patterson 34, Jordan Woodcock 27 Brian Simmons 20, Mike Barlow 5-31, Callum Batey 3-36).

*Warkworth 26 (Headley Grey 6-8, Gary Davison 3-6) Embleton 27-0.

*Tillside 120 (Law Atkinson 38, Richard Elliott 3-24) Howick 53 (Joe Durie 24, Law Atkinson 4-8, Jake Birkett 3-11).

*Warenford 177-8 (Brian Thompson 58, Kevin Thompson 51, Kieran Little 3-31) Mitford 162 (Matthew Ellinor 49, Michael Thompson 4-39, John Hogg 3-35).

*Rock 111 (Michael Williams 65, Andrew Aitchison 3-30, Robert Matthewson 3-17) Wooler 112-3 (Ian Clarke 42, Les Porteous 27, Andrew Aitchison 21).