Away win means two victories on the trot for Alnwick


Cowgate I (196-9) v Alnwick I (197-4)

Northumberland and Tyneside Senior Cricket League, Division A2

Alnwick registered their second successive win by beating Cowgate by six wickets in Newcastle on Saturday.

And for the second week in a row, Michael Threlfall was the main contributor with an excellent undefeated 87 alongside good contributions from Michael Brewis, Andrew Scott and Daniel Graham.

Winning the toss, Rob Woods invited Cowgate to take first use of the wicket and against wayward bowling had scored 21 before Moss was lbw to Guy.

At this point Rachid Shah entered and proceeded to take the game to Alnwick with a belligerent display of batting, scoring a very quick 50 in 57 minutes off 55 balls. Assisted by Ballasundaram they had taken the total to 91 when Scott had Ballasundaram well caught by Brewis.

Wright captured the wickets of Ratha and Ahmad, and Scott bowled Sohal with the total on 137 for 6. The total slowly reached 151 when the now becalmed but still dangerous Shah was bowled by the impressive Scott for 61. The innings closed on 196 for 9.

Chasing 197 to win in 46 overs, Brewis and Ayre started confidently against the pace of Crawford and Moss but unfortunately Ayre, who had looked in good form, was caught and bowled by Moss.

Threlfall joined Brewis and together they moved the score to 64 without what appeared to be any great difficulty when Brewis played on for what was his best knock of the season so far.

Guy was bowled without scoring and from a position that appeared to be comfortable the score had changed to 64 for 3. As had happened in the last match, Scott joined Threlfall and together they put Alnwick back on track with a stand of 71 before Scott was caught for 23.

Daniel Graham and the impressive Threlfall then quickened the pace and it was left to Graham to dispatch Crawford for two successive boundaries to win the game.

Alnwick won by six wickets, taking home 19 points to Cowgate’s six.

This Saturday, Alnwick ones will entertain Whickham at Weavers Way starting at 1.30pm.



G Balasundaram c Brewis b Scott 32

M Moss lbw b Guy 7

Raschid Shah b Wright 61

V Ratha lbw b Wright 8

S Ahmad b Wright 10

A Sohal b Scott 12

R Crawford b Guy 35

A Crawford lbw b Wright 8

A Bukhari c Ridley b Robertson 0

M Gupta not out 7

K Azam not out 1

Extras 15

Total 196

Bowling: J Guy-8-1-47-2; T Robertson 8-0-40-1; AW Scott 13-4-29-2; C Kelly 4-0-26-0; D Wright 11-2-38-4; J Ridley 2-0-11-0.


M Brewis b Azam 27

D Ayre c&b Moss 5

M Threlfall not out 87

J Guy b Azam 0

A W Scott c R Crawford b Balasundaram 23

D Graham not out 24

Extras 31

Total 197

Bowling: R Crawford 8-0-35-0; M Moss 6-0-15-1; K Azam 12.3-1-53-2; V Rathra 2-0-12-0; G Balasandarum 10- 1-36-1; A Bukhari 6-0-29-0.