Around the golf clubs in Northumberland

Round-up of golf results and news.
Round-up of golf results and news.

Alnmouth, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, Percy Wood, Rothbury, Seahouses, Warkworth and Wooler all feature


Open Mixed Greensomes: 1 Mr and Mrs K Hinde 36pts; 2 Mr and Mrs G Whitfield 33; 3 Mr J White and Mrs C Wilson 33; 4 Mr and Mrs D Scott 33.


EWGA Medals – Silver: 1 A Cole 84-14-70 2; A Hansen 76-03-73 3; P Daymont 81-05-76.

Bronze: 1 L Grey 99-27-72 2; J Tulip 113-36-77; 3 S Burton 101-23-78.

Nine-hole competition: 1 D Bull 21pts; 2 F Bailey 16.


Dave Darroch Trophy (Bogey): Sponsored by a couple of very loyal and distinguished members. Tough conditions with heavy rain restricted both the number of entries and impeded the actual scoring. Winner was Steve Forman 0; joint 2 Adam Scott and Geoff Stancliffe -1; 4 George Forman -2.

Peter Braidford Memorial Cup, Texas Scramble: 1 Team Blythe, club captain Johnny with M Conroy, S McKie and Richie Campbell 57.2pts; 2 Team Taylor, S Taylor, M Bromham, K Middlemass and AN Other 59.8; 3 Team Stanton, Andy Stanton, N Holden, J Emmerson and Rachel 61.7.

Seniors nine-hole Stableford: Joint 1 John Clark and Jackie Ross 19; joint 3 Bob Boyle and Dougie Miller 18; joint 5 Jack Kidd and Dave Hodge 17; joint 7 Tommy Harris, George Forman and Dave Bayliss 16.

Skins: After eight holes it looked like the Skins were all going to be carried over to next week, but fortunately Dave Hodge was the only one with a three-pointer at the ninth and he took home the full kitty.

Seniors Order of Merit: After eight weeks of various competitions, the leader is still ‘Mr Consistent’ George Forman 47pts; joint 2 Dave Hodge and Dougie Miller 38; 4 Jack Kidd 33; 5 Bob Boyle 31; joint 6 Bob Hill and David Gleadall 31; 8 Jack Ross 27; joint 9 Ian Blakey and Tommy Harris 24.

Midsummer Trophy: Members please note that this coming Sunday (June 14), we will hold the Midsummer Trophy (18-hole strokeplay) sponsored by the very same couple of very loyal and distinguished members, who sponsored the Dave Darroch Trophy. The club has been asked by Eric Hately’s widow, Jayne, to hold an annual competition in Eric’s name, which the committee unanimously agreed to. This year, it will take the form of a three-man Open Texas Scramble, to be played on Friday, June 26, instead of the usual Friday Night Club Sweep, which Eric always enjoyed. An entry sheet is already up on the men’s notice board and is filling up fast, with tee times from 4pm. It is an Open competition, so ladies as well as members from other golf clubs will all be very welcome. From 2016, this annual event will be played as an 18-hole competition.


Diamond Jubilee Trophy and Medal: 1 Bev Harris 106-31=75; 2 Eleanor Morgan 94-18=76; 3 Viv Gough 109-32=77.

Nine-hole: Winner Moira Allan 13pts


Stan Cooper Memorial Cup: Champagne corks were popping in the Hope household last weekend as Lee realised a nine-year ambition with his first ever competition victory over the Swansfield course. With the course in great condition but the weekend breeze blowing quite strongly, Lee returned a fine 38pts which secured him first place in the prestigious Stan Cooper Memorial Cup. The highlight of his round was his first competitive birdie this year, which he scored at the 10th. Also worth a mention is that he didn’t NR on any of the 18 holes. In second place, only a single point adrift, was Michael Friar. He was followed by three players all on 36pts. After countback, Arthur Wheatcroft was awarded third followed by Lawrie Stewart and Kenny Darlow. Only two twos were scored by the 53 competitors on the day so Wayne Belisle and Lee Boyling shared the pot.

Open Pairs: Also played last weekend was the Open Pairs competition, with the much-publicised fabulous prizes for a hole-in-one. Playing in almost impossibly windy conditions, no one achieved an ace but the top leaderboard places are shown below:

Pairs Open results: 1 M Hubbard and D Swordy 38pts; 2 A Gilroy and P Goodfellow 33; 3 P Gardner and P Doherty 33.

Stan Cooper Memorial Trophy: 1 LJ Hope 38pts; 2 MI Friar 37; 3 A Wheatcroft 36.


June Medal: 1 Sheila Brown 99-21-78; 2 Lorna Tate 95-16-79; 3 Gillian Gordon 91-11-80.


Runciman Cup: Late starters enjoyed the best of the weather on Saturday when the wind dropped appreciably.

Leading returns: Joe Clements 66-3-63; Robert Pritchard 86-22-64 (on last nine); David Eccleston 81-17-64; Alan Patterson 77-11-66; Steven Taylor 71-4-67; Alec Mackay 69-2-67; Jeff Hulley 74-7-67. Best lady: Wendy Martin 86-20-66.

Invitation Day: M Dawson and K Pearson (Seahouses) 36pts; K Richardson and A Millls (Chester-le-Street) 34 (on last nine); S Priestley and A Donaldson (Seahouses) 34; G Smallwood and D Rowe (Northumberland) 34; R Bewley and K Burn (Alnwick) 34; SW Archer and J Wrangham (Dunstanburgh) 34. Nearest pin on eighth: T Claxton, 33in; longest drive on 13th: A Hornsby; nearest pin in two on 18th: D Rowe (Northumberland) 64in.


Appleby Trophy, EWGA and County Medal: 1 Alison O’Neill; 2 Lesley Wylde; 3 Lesley Fishwick.


Men’s Captain’s Day 4bbb: F Leet, K Robinson 41pts; J Nichols, J Taylor 41; S Hindmarsh, C Sampson 38.

Seniors June Medal: M Cavanagh 88-13-75; P Dawson 94-19-75; A Fisher 93-18-75.

Ladies Ormston Decanter: J Dawson 33pts; J Roxburgh 33; H Rutter 32.


RVI Foursomes Qualifier: 1 Tammy Horn and Julia Stott; 2 Mary Tully and Diane Cairns; 3 Joy Henderson and Pat Arkle.

Soulsby Tankard: 1 Ray Hope 86-15=71; 2 Alan Coe 83-12=71; 3 Alan Swann 94-21=73.


Invitation Day: W Bell and A Champion 40pts; S Martin and A Stevenson 39 (on countback); S Craig and D Saunders 39. Nearest pin on 10th: J Moffet (Bamburgh) 3.2m; nearest pin in two on 18th: T Taylor 5.74m; longest drive on fifth: C White (Alnmouth Village).


Club outing: On Friday, 33 members made the trip to The Hobson Golf Course for the annual captain’s outing and to play for the Outing Cup. A good day was had by all. Thanks go to the staff of The Hobson for making the day enjoyable. Gary Scott took the trophy.

Results: 1 G Scott 37pts; 2 K Jamieson 36; 3 M Weightman 35.The nearest the pin was won by R Davison and the nearest the pin with the second shot was won by D Arkley. R Davison hit the longest drive - well over 300 yards.

Saturday Medal: With the Lady Captain’s Day taking centre stage on Saturday, the men braved a howling gale which left the course only just playable, as keeping the ball stationary on the exposed parts was challenging, to play a morning medal and so leave the course clear by lunchtime. Kevin Jamieson was unaffected by his exertions the previous day and went one better to take first place with 34pts.

Results: 1 K Jamieson 34pts; 2 K Brown 32 (back nine); 3 D Fish 32p. Unsurprisingly, given the conditions, not a single player managed to land and stay on the sixth green so the captain’s charity nearest-the-pin rolls over to next week, as does the unclaimed twos pool.


Lady Captain’s Day – June 6: 1 Jean Hardy 50-12=38; 2 Christine Douglas 50-10=40; 3 Betty Black 52-8.5=41.5.


Captain v Vice-Captain Challenge: Saturday saw the inaugural Captain v Vice Captain Challenge and, in very windy and damp conditions, the captain’s team emerged victorious by one shot. A big thank you to all who endured the difficult conditions. The Coxon Rosebowl on Sunday was won for a third consecutive time by Kathleen Brydon and Geoff Brown. Sunday also brought the final of the Thomas Lillie Memorial and the winner this year was Dave Lee who beat David Crisp 1up.