Around the golf clubs

Round-up of golf results and news.
Round-up of golf results and news.

Results from around the clubs in north Northumberland


September Medal - Division One: 1 J Eggleston 68-2=66; 2 D Scott 75-8=67; 3 H Sutherland 71-2=69.

Division Two: 1 G Dunn 82-12=70; 2 T Miller 84-14=70; 3 T Watson 83-12=71.

Division Three: 1 R Gibson 84-17=67; 2 M Lazenby 88-19=69; 3 W Newbegin 98-26=72.

Seniors Stableford: 1 M Burns 88-18=70; 2 J Nicholson 90-20=70; 3 J Clark 79-9=70.

Midweek Stableford: 1 J Young 35pts; 2 G Dunn 35; 3 S Williams 35.

Mixed Greensomes – Woodeson Walker Sauceboats – Best Gross: Mr and Mrs A Pickard 83.

Charlton Stakes: 1 Mr D Leath and Mrs K Slaven 71; 2 Mr and Mrs S Brierley 71.8; 3 Mr and Mrs B Ellis 73.6. Membership offer from October 1, 18 months for the price of 12 on all adult memberships, full playing from £33.33 per month, under age 30 £15.55 per month, five day £25.44 per month. For full details, ring 01665 830231 or email


EWGA Medals – Silver: 1 S Temple 81-6-75; 2 P Daymont 81-5-76; 3 J Wheeler 94-18-76.

Bronze: 1 L Betteridge 99-25-74; 2 B Forster 111-36-75; 3 J Gray 101-22-79.

Nine-Hole Competition: D McIlroy 16pts.

Mary Percy Salver: Lucy Betteridge.

EWGA Medals - Silver: 1 P Daymont 75-5-70; 2 M Pickard 76-5-71; 3 A Hansen 78-75.

Bronze: 1 B Forster 99-35-64; 2 D Coney 102-29-73; 3 M Welch 102-27-75.

Nine-Hole: J Kinghorn 16pts.

Millennium Plate: Brenda Forster.


Club Championship (Gross scores): 1 JL Clements (76+70=146); 2 Neil Edwards (76+74=150); 3 JB Graham (74+78=152); 4 JA Stanton (78+79=157); 5 Steve Forman (79+80=159).

Lightfoot Shield (Nett scores): 1 JL Clements (73+67=140); 2 Neil Edwards (92+70=142); 3 JB Graham (69+73=142); 4 John Robson (71+75=146); 5 Steve Yeadon (80+67=147).

Millenium Trophy (Bogey) – sponsored by Knights Taxis: 1 Chris Fettis (+7); 2 Neil Edwards (+5); 3 Geoff Lillico (+5); 4 JL Clements (+3); 5 George Forman (+2); 6 Steve Yeadon (+2). This coming Sunday, the men will play for the Wilf Anderson Trophy (Stableford) kindly sponsored by loyal, life-long members John and Barbara Clark.

Seniors nine-hole Stableford: 1 Bob Stephenson 21pts; 2 Dave Hodge 19; Joint 3 Peter Egdell and Bob Hill 17.

Seniors JC Campbell Cup: 1 Bob Hill 38pts; 2 (on countback) JB Graham 38pts with a zero on the 18th; 3 David Gleadall 36; 4 Dickie Campbell 32; 5 Bob Boyle 32.

Seniors Bogey: Joint 1 Dave Hodge, Dougie Miller and Les Aitken (+1); 4 Mike Joyce (0).


Joan Brown Trophy: 1 Bev Harris 31pts; 2 Linda Osgood 27; 3 Viv Archibald 27 (on back nine).


Bill Robinson Memorial Trophy (Texas scramble): 1 CJ Green, D Harrison and D Lam 64-7=57; 2 R Cooke, R Holding and TB Lang 66-8.3=57.7; 3 R Baston, B Farrar and G Stokoe 65-7.2=57.8; 4 LJ Hope, CS Jobson and KW Richardson 65-6.8=58.2.

Tom Jamieson Autumn Cup (Seniors 4BBB): 1 W Craig and I Hogg 41pts; 2 MJ Lewis and N Mayer 40; 3 TB Lang and J Pentleton 39 (on back nine); 4 J Eeles and D Havery 39.

Open Texas Scramble: 1 K Potts, B Lloyd, A Davison and R Phillskirk 54.5; 2 M Timney, M Salters, G Salters and I Card 54.6; 3 G Brown, I Tate, J Young and D Baxter 55.5; 4 S Miller, C Miller, J Kelly and G Milroy 55.7.


Open Tex Mex: Was held on Saturday and was won by a team from Ravensworth and Dunstan, L Johnstone, I Smith, T Stephenson and A O’Neill returned a grand score of 65.2. The weather was possibly the best we have had all season and Mick and Margy provided superb catering. Runners-up: H Newton, S Hogg, L Tate and D Simm with 66.2, followed closely by G Gordon, G Penn, A Calder and M Walton with 67.2. The raffle, in aid of the captain’s charity, raised £120.


Lantta Trophy: T Davies 43pts; S Archer 41; R Lumsden 40; A Ridley 40; R Renner 40; PJ Rathbone 39.

Open Team Competition: 1 J Riberio, C Taberham and L Herron (Morpeth) 83pts; 2 J Robson, S Rayner and D Wilkinson (Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh) 81; 3 J Oakley, A Bennett and I Gibson (Hexham) 80 (on back nine).


Cancer Relief Spoon: 1 Caroline Broome; 2 Sue Rayner; 3 Joan Watson.

Percy wood (L)

Redman Rose Bowl: 1 Julia Roxburgh 98pts; 2 Alison Arkle 91; 3 Mandy Scott 90.

Champion of Champions (Kairn Trophy): 1 Cath Debbage 90-14=76; 2 Barbara Dixon 110-33=77; 3 Julia Roxburgh 94-17=77.


Hillier Shield: 1 Tammy Horn 38pts; 2 Diane Cairns 35; 3 Carolyn Hilton 33.

Coquetdale Trophies: 1 Maureen Robson 109-31=78; 2 Mary Tully 100-22=78; 3 Linden Smith 112-32=80.

President’s Cup, Round Five: 1 Paul Arkle 73-5=68; 2 John Henderson 80-11=69; 3 Michael Arkle 81-6=75.


Walter Waistell Memorial Trophy: Lawrence Charlton 41pts; Rob Ramshaw 40; Gary Hornsby 39; Philip Broadley 38; Robert Locke 37; Richard Nelson 37; Ivan Graham 36; Kevin Swan 36; Tom Sellers 36.


Open Texas Scramble: Was won by Ros Hunter, Ann Crosby and Angie Heads (City of Newcastle) 61.2; 2 Anne Locke, Nicki Claydon and Lynne Bannister (Seahouses) 63.0; 3 Wendy Martin, Iris Gilholme and Lucy MacGregor (Bamburgh Castle) 64.4; 4 Diane Thompson, Claire Whitfield and Jill Hodge (Bamburgh Castle) 64.7. Congratulations to Lucy MacGregor on getting a hole-in-one at the 15th.

Foundation Brooch: Was won on Sunday by Marie Graham, 83-18-65; 2 Val Sim 84-16-68; 3 Gillian Blair 87-18-69.


Calcutta Cup: A busy week at the Links so, in chronological order, the latest news. First up we had the knockout final, played for the Calcutta Cup, on Thursday night. The course was in magnificent condition after the Seniors Open and finalists Andy Brown and the on-fire Michael Hindhaugh played excellent golf before the latter closed out the match on the 14th for his second title in five days. At only three over for his 14 holes, Michael showed his liking for the days when the moon is full and the greens fast. Next up was the club’s final major of the season, the Castle Cup, and its forgiving stableford format. In the words of Arthur Wellesley: “It was a close run thing too.” This time, Michael Straker posted a fine 39 points only for Neville Holden, motto-Vorsprung durch Technik – to hole a Terry Scott putt on the 18th to reach 39 points. His playing partner, Michael Hindhaugh, then got up and down on the last to match the 39, and complete a three-way tie. They were only separated on the back three holes and then back nine holes to ensure Neville took home the trophy to show his mum. There were only two 2s with Stephen Glass and Richard Davison splitting the pot of £46 from a cracking field of 57.

Scores: N Holden 39pts (back three); M Hindhaugh 39 (back nine), M Straker 39; RG Sawley, I Gray, A Jamieson all 38. Finally on Sunday, the club’s juniors were out for the Autumn Cup and another tight contest ensued. Daniel Cooke edged out Freddie Bremner on the back nine after both carded nett 76s. Oliver Bremner was a shot behind on nett 77 with Kyle Brown and debutant Johnny Halliday making the top five as well. Good scoring on a blustery day and tight pin placements.


Castle Cup: 1 Penny Lewis 36pts; 2 Louvain Wraith 35; 3 Val Clark 31.

North Northumberland Ladies Friendly Golf League

League Trophy: Congratulations to the ladies from Rothbury who kept a grip on the league trophy again this year with a 3 and 2 team victory against the Wooler ladies after a play-off at Seahouses Golf Club this week. The annual presentation of trophies will take place at Goswick Golf Club on Monday, September 29, after a tex-mex competition.