Around the golf clubs

Round-up of golf results and news.
Round-up of golf results and news.


Centenary Trophy: 1 J Hood 67–3=64; 2 B Keenan 71–5=66; 3 T Claxton 77–10=67; 4 S White 76–9=67; 5 C Garvie 76–9=67; 6 T Deck 81–13=68.

Seniors Open: 1 M Mills & C Mole 42pts; 2 J Farnsworth & W McMaster 41pts; 3 Mr Bainbridge & Mr Gill 41pts; 4 B Robson & R Pesarra 41pts; 5 B Hartley & M Tully 41pts.

Mixed Invitation Day, Atkinson Cup: 1 I Clough & L Adams 68.6; 2 G Tuer & J Snaith 71.2; 3 P Snaith & A Clough 73.2. Best Gross, Walton Goblets P Snaith & A Clough 85.


Lady President’s Day: President’s Salver: J Wheeler 38pts; R/U: D Parker 35.

Nine Hole Competition: A Myers 16pts.

Lucky Dip: J Hindmarsh.


Peter Braidford Charity Day: An excellent maximum number of teams turned out for the annual Texas Scramble in aid of St Oswalds. 1 Michael Conroy, Mark McQueen, Neville Holden and Richie Campbell 54.6pts; 2 Team Red (Tates), 57.9; 3 Andy Stanton, C Wass, Rachael Bewley, R Bewley, 58; 4 Club captain Donald Blythe, B White, C White, E Moir, 58.3; 5 Vice captain Jonny Blythe, R Latto, R O’Connor, S Oliver 59.

Seniors Handicap Qualifier: There was a very strong northerly breeze to stretch the course, so the only golfer to better his handicap and run out a clear winner was Michael Sergeant 20pts; 2 Bob Hill 17; 3 George Ridgway 16; 4 Bill Gray 15; 5 Steve Lockley and Jack Kidd 14.

Help for Heroes: Another charity fund-raiser, this time a nine hole Texas Scramble was won by Ian Simpson, Matty Henderson, Keith Dawson 30.5pts; 2 Ron Beverley, Jonny Blythe, Richie Campbell 31.4; 3 Taxi Boys consisting of Colin Reid, Paul Dixon, John Davison 32.5.

Challenge Cup: A very close finish needed a countback to decide that Andy Stanton’s 74-4=70; 2 Davey Fairbairn 93-23=70; 3 Davey Trotter 86-15=71; 4 Norman Luke 88-16=72; 5 Matty Henderson 91-19=72.

Charity 24 Hour Golf Challenge: This weekend sees a massive 24 Hour Golf Challenge in aid of The Evie Campbell Trust Fund. Ten golfers will tee off at 7pm on Friday evening and play for 24 hours non-stop to see how many holes they can play and how well they can score. All 10 golfers, led by Richie Campbell, are being sponsored individually for various elements of their golfing skills (i.e. number of holes played, number of birdies, number of balls lost etc.) The Club house bar will be open all day Saturday and there will be a bbq from 4pm. Everyone is very welcome to pop in and see how the guys are doing and if you want to contribute toward the charity, then either do so on the day or phone your pledges through to the Club on 01665 830370. The course will be closed for this event and it will also be closed on Sunday to allow for the annual Coastal Run.


Challenge Cup: 1 Viv Gough 102-34=68; 2 Barbara Clark 98-21=77; 3 Joy Bisset 100-22=78.

Nine hole: Winner Kathleen Scott 10pts.


Peter Deeble Trophy: Firstly an apology, last week I reported that Robbie Stevenson had meticulously checked all the cards during the Annual Seniors Trip. Many spotted my mistake for which I must sincerely apologise to senior captain John Lewis, who was not only meticulous in doing the cards but also along with club captain Bob Chalmers was responsible for much of the organisation for the three-day trip as a whole. Well done to both. And so to last weekend, one of the high points of the year, the Club Championship/Peter Deeble Trophy played over 36 holes. The first round was played in the most atrocious conditions. Faring best were Wayne Belisle and Dan Harrison who both shot a gross 69, they were chased by Jack Friar and Barry Farrar on 73 and 74 respectively. The weather improved considerably for the 35 players who contested the second round.This time it was Jack Friar who carded a fine 72 followed by a rising star of the Duy Lam academy, Marc Friar, Jack’s younger brother who shot a very impressive 73. Chris Jobson was third with a gross 74, he was followed by three players all on 75, namely Barry Farrar, Wayne Belisle and Steve Barron. Dan Harrison sadly faded to a second round 77. So when all the scores were input Wayne was declared the winner with Jack in second place and Dan in third. The Bill Miller Shield is run in conjunction with the Peter Deeble Trophy and is for the best Net 36 hole score on the day.

The victor with two fine rounds of 66 and 67(133) was Rod Henderson who was a full three shots clear of young Sam Thomson who had the best net score of the afternoon, Marc Friar and Dan Harrison who all had 36 hole net scores of 136. Being 36 holes on the day the two’s Club made interesting reading, one each for Dan Harrison, Andrew Tate, Alan Dodd and Wayne Belisle, Two for Barry Farrar and no less than three each for Alastair Smith and Keith Richardson.

Club Championship/Peter Deeble Trophy (gross): 1 W Belisle 69+75=144; 2 J Friar 73+72=145; 3 D Harrison 69+77=146.

Bill Miller Shield (net): 1 R Henderson 66+67=133; 2 S Thompson 72+64=136; 3 MA Friar 71+65=136; 4 D Harrison 64+72=136.


Rothbury Plate: Winner: Lucy McGregor 37pts; R/U Fiona Southern 33.

Challenge Bowl: Winner: Lucy McGregor 88-22=66; R/U Lyn Johnston 77-6=71.

Stableford: Gary Irving 41pts (on last six); W Rose 41; P Payne 41; A Punton 40; M Cresswell 39; M McGillivray 39.


John and Nellie Carss Trophy: D Saunders and S Walker 5up; A McGrady and K Rowland 2up; S Fear and M Brewis 1up.


Ping four ball better ball: 1 Ann Camozzi and Dorothy Wilkinson 34pts; 2 Caroline Broome and Jean Sayers 31 (on back nine); 3 Sue Rayner and Lesley Wylde 31.

Ladies Open Day Team event: 1 C Elborn, C Elliott and C Graham (City of Newcastle) 74pts (on back nine); 2 C Broome (Dunstanburgh Castle) E Brown (Gosforth) and D Lillie (Alnmouth) 74; 3 L Wylde, I Smith (Dunstanburgh Castle) and V Davison (Whitley Bay) 71.


Redman Rose Bowl 2: 1 M Scott 36pts; 2 H Rutter 36pts; 3 J Roxburgh 34pts.

Ladies Captain’s Day: 1 L Kenney 23pts: 2 H Birkmyre 22pts; 3 J Ormston 22pts. Nearest the pin: M Robson. Longest drive: M Scott.


Richardson Shield Mixed Greensomes: 1 Richard Wallhead and Maureen Robson 89-20.4=68.6; 2 Paul Arkle and Eileen Clark 80-10.6=69.4; 3 John Henderson and Joy Henderson 85-14.8=70.2.


Breckon Trophy: The winner of the Breckon Trophy was Di Brett 90-23-67; 2 Louise Henstock 103-32-71; 3 Lynne Bannister 84-12-72 (from Nicki Claydon). The best gross of 84 was shared between Lynne and Nicki. Following play we celebrated the 90th birthday of our oldest playing member, Betty Hogg, who regularly plays in 18 hole competitions. A great achievement. Congratulations Betty.


Club Championship and Salver: The competition was held on Sunday and the new Gents Club Champion is David Crisp with a 36 hole score of 158 (81 and 77) who beat Stuart Lowrey who scored 159 (79 and 80). The Salver was won convincingly by David Lee who scored an 83 ahead of Andrew Carr on 89. Saturday saw the third round of the Andy Fairnington Qualifier and here Andrew Carr was victorious with 37 points beating Brian Tait on a better back nine.