Around the golf clubs

Round-up of golf results and news.
Round-up of golf results and news.
Share this article

Alnmouth, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Percy Wood, Rothbury, Seahouses, Warkworth and Wooler all feature


EWGA Medals - Silver: 1 J Brannon 87-14-73; 2 P Daymont 80-5-75; 3 A Cole 89-13-76.

Bronze: 1 C Sidgwick 103-28-75; 2 H Tulip 103-28-75; 3 L Grey 106-29-77.

Nine Hole: D McIroy 16pts.

Daphne Percy Cup: Lesley Grey.


Seniors - Midsummer Trophy: In recent years the mantle piece in the Harris household mainly has golfing trophies with Bev’s name, so at last congratulations to Tommy Harris, who scored 19 points to win this years “old un’s” Midsummer Cup. There were then five members who scored 17 points, but on the accepted countback system George Forman was deemed to be runner up with Peter Egdell in third, followed by David Gleadall, Ian Blakey and Mike Sergeant.

Will Robinson Trophy: Friday night saw this Texas Scramble results 1 Jonny Blythe team; 2 Steve Forman; 3 Kevin Potts.

Ron Hill Trophy (sponsored by Challenging Learning): This annual Bogey competition resulted in some very impressive scores, none more so than current club champion, Richie Campbell, who broke the course record (which he held on 66) with a round of 65 and this also meant his winning score in the Sunday competition was plus seven, G Batson and P Clarke were plus four and D Trotter and S Yeadon plus three This Sunday members will play for the Sharp Cup, a stableford competition sponsored by Knights Taxis.


Ping 4BBB: 1 Monica Aitken and Barbara Clark 35pts; 2 Margaret Gray and Fyona Robson 32.


Mick Hubbard Seniors Trophy: Last week saw two club competitions over the Swansfield course. On Wednesday, the annual Mick Hubbard Seniors Trophy was a close-run affair with Jimmy Cookson eventually being declared the winner with a fine 40pts. His round, which included birdies at the second and also the notoriously difficult par-five12th hole, led a group of four players all on 39pts who were separated by the countback rule. They were Billy Brown, Dave Robinson, David Chevalier and Colin Donaldson. Sunday was the June Medal in which members contested the Owners’ Cup. The winner on this occasion, Guy Ridley, shot an amazing three-under-par gross 67, giving him a nett 63. He was followed by two on 65, namely Connor Thompson and Wayne Belisle. Billy Craig showed his first real form of the season, returning a nett 67 for fourth place. Nine players shared the twos pot but Jack Friar, Guy Ridley and Geordie Brown receive two shares each with the remainder going to Michael Friar, Joe Henderson and Kevin Murphy. With the June Medal being the third round of the Pacitti Cup, the leaderboard sees Guy Ridley and Wayne Belisle leading the field on 206 and 208 respectively and Connor Thompson and Kevin Murphy sharing third spot both on 209. In the Sponsors Trophy for the best gross scores, it is Guy at the top on 217, followed by Wayne, with 220, and Barry Farrar in hot pursuit on 225. Wayne now leads the Easyway Order of Merit with 772pts, followed by father and son Friars, Michael with 653 and young Jack closing in on 652.

Mick Hubbard Seniors Trophy: 1 J Cookson 40pts; 2 WG Brown 39; 3 D Robinson 39.

June Medal/Club Owners’ Cup: 1 G Ridley 67-4=63; 2 C Thompson 70-14=65; 3 W Belisle 69-4=65.


Lindisfarne Salver: 1 Tracey Friar 43pts; 2 Margaret Walton 39; 3 Gillian Gordon 37.

June Medal: 1 Carrie Robinson 106-36-70; 2 Sheila Brown 92-21-71; 3 Jill Clark 102-29-73.


Tom Brown Trophy: Ian Brown 82-19-63 (on last nine); Stephen Taylor 67-4-63; Tony Tuckwood 73-9-64; Robert Turnbull 72-8-64; Ian Armstrong 74-10-64. CSS 69.


Open 4BBB: D Wiles, Barnes (Bedlington) 44pts; J Taylor (Percy Wood), R Dick (Morpeth) 42; D Angus, W Newton (Percy Wood) 40; M Slater, M Tinney (Wallsend) 4.

Seniors Captain’s Away Day at Duns Golf Club: C Ross 41pts; G Cowman 40.

Over 65 Trophy: J Bell 31pts.

Baggley Trophy Mixed Texas Scramble: A Lewis, C Steel, M Robson 50-8.7-41.3; K Hicks, H Rutter, K Stewart 48-6.1-41.9; M Athey, B Dickson, G Stobbs 53-9.8-43.2.


Callers Qualifier/Medal 5: 1 P Fisher 91-20-71; 2 A Arkle 110-35-75; 3 B Dixon 110-33-77.

Lady Captain’s Charity Cup: 1 V Smith 35pts; 2 H Clark 34; 3 H Rutter 33.

Ladies Medal 6: 1 M Scott 102-21-81; 2 M Athey 109-27-82; 3 J Angus 116-32-84.


Clarkle Pairs – gross: 1 Angela Robinson and Joy Henderson 87; 2 Jan Steele and Diane Cairns 89; 3 Eileen Clark and Pat Arkle 90.

Clarkle Pairs – nett: 1 Maureen Robson and Siobhan Sheehy 64; 2 Angela Robinson and Joy Henderson 67; 3 Eileen Clark and Pat Arkle 69.

Sun Kitchen Mixed Foursomes: 1 Paul Arkle and Eileen Clark 82-12=70; 2 David Phillips and Angela Robinson 89-18.5=70.5; 3 Michael Arkle and Pat Arkle 88-17=71.


Captain’s Day: Robin Lightfoot 39pts (on countback); Stewart Craig 39; John Rhind 39. Best gross: John Hogg 71. Past Captain’s Prize: Lawrence Charlton 31. Guest Prize: Andrew Hornsby 34. Nearest pin on 10th: Rob Rennie; nearest pin in two on 18th: John Graves. Longest drive on 5th: Scott Priestley.


Ladies Open Teams Competition: The teams competition was held last Wednesday and the winners were Anita Nesbitt, Jane Hidde and Pauline Mitchie, George Washington, 85pts; 2 Lynne Bannister, Anne Locke and Gillian Blair, Seahouses, 79; 3 Margaret Mollon, B Fawcett and S Stanger, Blyth, 78; 4 Shelagh Curle, Kathleen Brydon and Pat Tatters, Wooler, 75.

Lady Captain’s Day: Following the drive-in by our captain Susan Hornsby, the Captain’s Day trophy was played for. Winner was Hazel Hardacre 37pts; 2 Di Brett 36 (on countback) from 3 Eileen Robinson 36; 4 Pam Fawcus 33. Best front nine winner was Eileen Robinson 22pts. Nearest the pin on 10th was Gillian Blair and on 15th was Lynne Swan. Longest drive winner was Anne Locke. Past Captains’ Cup on Lady Captain’s Day winner Pam Fawcus.


Captain’s Day: Some cracking scoring at the Old Links last week as the course reached pristine condition. Over 50 golfers turned out and Lee Baxter led the field to claim first prize with a storming nett 64. Pinpoint approach play was the key and he won by two shots from Steve Glass, whose nett 66 off four gave him the second and best gross prizes. Also on nett 66 was Colin Mitchell and his new swing. Past Captains’ Cup was won by Paul Douglass on nett 72 and Matty Graham was the best driver for length. Pin prizes were won by Matty and Roy Forsyth with the putting competition taken by Kev Forsyth. Captain Jock Simpson was in fine form all day and thanked all for playing and partying too, for the state of the course and to the clubhouse back-room staff.

Scores: L Baxter 87-23=64; S Glass 70-4=66; C Mitchell 84-18=66.

Warkworth Juniors: Another glorious day and another trophy for Kyle Brown as he swept past the Bremner boys to take the Marshall Cup. His fine nett 63 left Freddie trailing on 73 and Oliver further back on nett 80. Matty Graham ran the putting master class, won by Dan Cooke.


Jubilee Trophy: 1 Penny Lewis 33pts; 2 Maureen Johnson 32; 3 Betty Black 29.


Chairman’s Cup, Round Four: The runaway winner on Saturday was David Lightfoot, with 40pts, ahead of Les Johnson on 37. The third and final Club Championship qualifier was held on Sunday and, on a day of good scoring, the winner was Trevor Crossman 80-14-66 who beat Barry Guthrie 82-14-68 into second place.