Around the golf clubs

Round-up of golf results and news.
Round-up of golf results and news.

Alnmouth FOX (L)

EWGA Medals, Silver: 1 I Wright 95-19-76; 2 P Daymont 81-5-76; 3 L Ross 84-8-76. Bronze: 1 P Jary 106-29-77; 2 J Wheeler 100-21-79; 3 D Coney 109-28-81.

Journal Qualifier: Isabel Wright.


Ladies’ Open Day: 1 C Smith (Longhirst), S Murray (Brancepeth), S Proudlock (Morpeth) 84pts; 2 E McLaughlin, L Newton, J Robson (Whickham) 80pts; 3 B Herbert, L Morris, M Young (Longhirst) 78pts on back 9 from B Williamson, L Sidney (Gosforth), C Graham (City of Newcastle) 78pts. Nearest the pin at the 10th: J Oswell (Longhirst) 9’ 5”. Two’s winners: J Oswell, B Williamson, L Hamlin (Gosforth).


British Heart Foundation Men’s Cup (Sunday, June 8): 1 Russell Cooke 79-14-65; 2 Jack Friar 72-04-68; 3 (on count-back) Alan Dodd 89-20-69. One 2: Billy Craig, 17th.

Gross Eclectic Leaderboard: D Harrison 60; G Ridley 62; G McInally, S Cooper, A Tate & B Farrar all 65.

Net Eclectic Leaderboard: Andrew Dodd 60pts; CJ Green 54; Alan Dodd 54; KW Darlow and D Lam both 52.

Easyway Order of Merit: J Friar 602; E Johnson 583; D Harrison 520; R Shepherd 503; MI Friar 480; A Straughan 472.

Charity Event: The Stephen Carey Fund Golf Charity Day is being held on Saturday, June 21. Would players please meet at 1pm for a 2pm start.

Hole-in-one: Congratulations to Sam Thompson on his first hole-in-one at the fourth hole using an eight iron, while playing with his brother Conner.


June Medal/Journal Qualifier: 1 Margaret Walton 90-16-74; 2 Tracey Friar 111-35-76; 3 Carrie Robinson 112-36-76.

Medal/Carter Cup, Third Round: 1 Gillian Gordon 90-11-79; 2 Margaret Walton 94-15-79; 3 Dianne Robinson 101-18-83.

British Heart Foundation: 1 Lorna Tate 33pts; 2 Barbara Friar 32pts; 3 Jill Clark 31pts. £450 was raised for the BHF. Thanks to everyone who supported the event.


Invitation Day: S Taylor and C Charge 47pts; E Frais and R Clark 44; C Cuthbertson and J Irving 42; J Moffet and D Appleby 41; G Temple and V Wilkinson 41; B Galbraith and GG Thompson 41; W Rose and partner 41.


June Medal: 1 G Brown 89-16-73; 2 T Miller 88-15-73; 3 T Donnelly 93-20-73.

Sam Gattens Memorial Texas Scramble: 1 D Mitchell, D Brewis, A Martin, J Frost, 60.0; 2 M Friar, N Lam, M Friar, S Thompson, 60.3; 3 A Stevenson, A Martin, J Weddell, J Burgess, 61.0; 4 K Stewart, S McClean, R Baxter, T Stewart, 61.1. Nearest pin: 1st M Conroy, 5th J Friar, 10th D Wood, 14th C Burgess. Thanks to all who took part despite the poor weather.

JKO Round 2, Hogg Trophy: S Johnstone 34pts, C Wilson 33pts, D Reay 33pts.

percy wood (s)

June Medal: 1 J Bell 81-10-71; 2 C Wilson 88-15-73; 3 C Ross 89-16-73.


Jarvis Trophy: 1 M Athey 26pts; 2 L Kenny 25pts; 3 J Dawson 24pts.


Medal: 1 Joy Henderson 97-20=77; 2 Mary Tully 100-22=78; 3 Helen Foggon 104-23=81.

President’s Cup, Round Two: 1 Nick Maguire 79-13=66; 2 Greg Woodburn 79-13=66; 3 John Brown 79-9=70.


Invitation Day: T Taylor and J Moffet 44pts; P Broadley and P Lewis 41; T Hook and G Jaques 40 (on countback).


The Crystal Bowl: Winner was Gillian Blair, 88-19-69, second Anne Locke, 77-7-70, and third Nicki Claydon, 84-13-71, on countback from Eileen Robinson, 102-31-71. Best gross was Anne Locke with 77.


H Roberts Trophy, pairs: Fittingly, it was Dazman Hindhaugh and Charlie Hindhaugh Brown who squeezed home on 43 points. A fine score off 3/4 handicaps and on inconsistent greens with heavy rough. Following them in were Kev Forsyth and Chris Graham, who almost made it but for woeful putting at the death. A further point behind were the teams of Steve Lamb, Ross Gair and Jack Hindhaugh, all on 41 points. With almost £100 for a 2, only Barry Puntight managed to get one but unfortunately saved his pound for a coffee so a double rollover for the Tom Bell foursomes.

The Captain’s Outing Cup: Second competition came from the beautiful course at Ryton, where captain Jock Simpson took 38 of the finest on a glorious golfing day. Big Al Stewart proved it was the year of the cat by winning with 35 points. He was a full three shots clear of Colin Mitchell and his new swing, with Mark Hindmarsh, Mark McMickelson, Peters and Lee and P Gray all joint third on 30 points. The past captain’s envelope was won by Malc Hindhogue and in the morning team, Mitchell won the Texas Scramble singles bogey competition. Afterwards, Jock gave a fine speech in Gaelic and thanked everyone for their help and support. A superb day rounded off at the all-inclusive lounge, where Paul Douglass took the evening prize with 17 points.


Journal Qualifier: 1 J Hardy on back 9, 97-24-73; 2 R Hopkinson 99-26-73; 3 J Robertson 101-27-74.

Captain’s Day: 1 C Douglas 45-91/2-351/2; 2 K Dalby 49-11-38 on back 6; 3 L Wray 50-12-38.

Past Captain’s Trophy: C Douglas.


May Stableford: Winner K Brydon; runner-up S Curle.

Donald Smart Trophy: Winner S Brown; runner-up S Curle.

The National Playing Fields Qualifer: Winner V Symons; runner-up K Brydon.

May Medal/Callers Qualifier: Winner P Tatters; runner-up K Brydon.

Midweek May Stableford: Winner P Tatters; runner-up S Brown.

Second Logan Medal: Winner V Symons; runner-up S Curle.

Ping 4BBB: Winners P Tatters & A Brown;runners-up K Brydon & S Curle.

Margaret Cowen’s Trophy: Winners K Brydon & S Curle; runners-up A Brown & S Brown.