Around the golf clubs

Belford Golf Club: John Murdoch being presented with The Lander Trophy by Clive Lander who donated the prize.
Belford Golf Club: John Murdoch being presented with The Lander Trophy by Clive Lander who donated the prize.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

EWGA Medals - Silver: 1 A Hansen 77-4-73; 2 S Cumming 90-14-76; 3 A Cole 92-13-79.

Bronze: 1 M Welch 103-27-76; 2 SA Patterson 101-22-79; 3 P Ellis 103-22-81.

9-Hole Competition: A Myers 18pts.

Alnmouth vill (L)

Booth Shield: 1 Eleanor Morgan 31pts; 2 Jan Steele 30; 3 Joy Bisset 29.

Alnwick castle

Vaux Commemorative Trophy (4BBB): 1 TB Lang and J Pentleton 41pts; 2 KG Boyd and I Hogg 39 (on countback); 3 W Belisle and S Thompson 39.

Twos: R Clarke, GM Bedford, KG Boyd, E Jury, PT Lee and J Pentleton. There will be a Rules Night by local golf rules expert Des Duffy in the clubhouse on Friday, April 25, at 7.30pm, all are welcome to attend.

Alnwick (L)

Carter Cup (Round one): 1 D Robinson 100-20-80; 2 M Walton 97-17-80; 3 L Tate 98-17-81.

Vaux Salver: 1 S Hogg and G Gordon 38pts; 2 H Newton and B Friar 38 (on back 9): 3 D Robinson and J Clark 35.

Bamburgh Castle

Gordon Graham Greensomes: P Darling and G Irving 79-15.4-63.6; C Gray and D Knox 80-14-66; R Bewley and M Cresswell 78-11.4-66.6; A Cawthorn and W Brook 85-16.8-68.2; P Sanderson and M Dawson 70-1.4-68.6; I Armstrong and A Punton 80-10.8-69.2; P Stout and M Hopper 79-9.2-69.8.

Bamburgh (L)

Medal: Winner: Julie Dawson 85-12=73; R/U Lorraine Bewley 90-15=75.


Twilight Stroll (Friday): Went to secretary Michael Young with Graeme Taylor second and Tina Smith third. Saturday saw the luncheon and presentation of The Lander Trophy to John Murdoch for the Winter 2013 Ten O’Clock Competition. On Sunday, captain John Murdoch drove in to Office for 2014 followed by the Captain’s Team Challenge match after a close fight resulted in a victory for chairman Robin Williamson’s team.

Dunstanburgh (L)

Granlund Trophy: 1 Kathy Wilson; 2 Sue Rayner; 3 Alison O’Neill.

Percy Wood

Ray Athey Texas Scramble: R Ardley, W Newton, K Stewart 74-8.3-65.7; G Davison, T Millar, D Reay 75-7.5-67.5; T Dodds, T Dodds, C Wilson 76-8.3-67.7.

Percy Wood (L)

Redman Rosebowl One: 1 A Stewart 35pts; 2 A Arkle 31; 3 M Stevens 30.


Centenary Plate: 1 Diane Cairns 99-16=83; 2 Anne Spence 104-19=85; 3 Mary Tully 108-22=86.

Shilton Shield: 1 Mary Tully 26pts; 2 Anne Spence 25; 3 Julia Cairns 24.

Opening Stableford: 1 Nick Maguire 44pts; 2 Ernie Parker 38; 3 Alastair Oliver 37.

Wilson Shield: 1 Ian Arkle 87-13=74; 2 Brian Arnott 95-21=74; 3 John Stewart 94-19=74.

Ford Trophy: 1 Michael Arkle 76-6=70; 2 David Pledger 87-13=74; 3 David Wood 87-10=77.


Woodeson Tankard: D Bell 79-14-65; S Olver 72-3-69; J Hogg 71-2-69; K Pearson 83-13-70; L Charlton 89-18-71; I Darling 83-12-71; K Swan 77-6-71.

seahouses (L)

The Bell Trophy: Played on Sunday in extremely windy conditions was won by Lynne Bannister 84-12-72; 2 Lorraine Bewley 92-15-77; 3 Eileen Robinson 113-34-79.


The Greensomes Pairs Trophy: John Glass and Steve Lamb who came out on top with an excellent 40pts on the Strictly-Come-Dancing greens. Three pairs were tied in second on 38pts, these were Ian and Paul Gray, despite a disastrous 16th hole, Tony Garton and C Mallaburn, Stephen Glass and Jim Allison. All in all, not bad scoring on a blustery day for the late starters although they seemed to fare better on the Old Links conundrum. No twos means a roll over to the Roberts Cup for the pot.

Scores: Team Glass 40pts; Team Gray 38; Team Garton 38; Team Allison 38.

Wm Robinson Memorial Trophy: The largest field so far this summer contested the Wm Robinson Memorial Trophy and once again the stableford format came in handy for those with shots. Colin Chandlers’ game was all shipshape and well fitted to the Old Links, in improving conditions thanks to green-keeper Ian. His 42 points was well clear of the trio of Stephen Shanks, Pete Holleran and Paul Forester. All top four golfers then had their handicaps chopped, their scores of 39 well clear of the field thanks to the howling, cold, westerly.

Scores: C Chandler 42pts; S Shanks 39; P Holleran 39; P Forester 39.

Warkworth (L)

Alison’s Quaich: 1 P Lewis; 2 R Gorman; 3 J Lowther.


Thomas Lillie Memorial Qualifier: Another windy weekend made scoring very difficult at Wooler. Saturday saw Steven Lamb 87-11-76 win the Thomas Lillie Memorial Qualifier with Brian Tait runner-up thanks to a round of 87-9-78.

The Bogey Competition: On Sunday, the Bogey Competition was won by Davy Allan, 1 down, and runner-up was captain Sandy Jeffrey.

Nine-hole competition: Starts on Thursday.