Around the golf clubs

Alnwick Golf Club.
Alnwick Golf Club.

News and results from around the clubs in north Northumberland


Club Championship: Winner P Daymont; R/Up S Temple.

Bronze Cup: Winner C Young; R/Up J Wheeler.

Centenary Trophies with Alnmouth Vill GC: 1 J Cossins and J Gray 39pts; 2 P Addy and B Forster 38; 3 J Bisset and A Hansen 35 (on the back nine).


Autumn Meeting: 1 T Claxton 77-11=66, 2 D Blades 74–6=68, 3 M Latto 83–15=68, 4 A Lindsay 73–5= 68, 5 C Garvie 80–10=70, 6 J Southward 72–1=1. Best Gross Jake Storey 70.

Open Texas Scramble: 1 P Stewart, S Smiles, A Laidlaw, A Davison 53.4, 2 S Miller, J Kelly, N Hollands, D Cummings 56.0, 3 S Dowson, P Bainbridge, C Dodds, M Dixon 57.2, 4 L Kilcran, P Kilcran, T Kilcran, M Kilcran 57.7.

Alnmouth (Foxton) have a great membership offer from October 1 – 18 months’ membership for the price of 12, For details ring 01665 830231 or email

Alnwick Castle

September Medal: 1 L Simpson 83-16=67; 2 E Jury 94-26=68; 3 I Simpson 80-11=69 (on countback).

Two’s Club: R Clark, P Ginger, L Simpson, G Ridley, M Carss.

Pacitti Cup (net): L Simpson 203, KW Richardson 204, A Straughan 205, A Dodd 206.

Howdens Cup (gross): M Carss 215, G Ridley 219, W Belisle 222, B Farrar 226.

Net Eclectic: A Dodd 66, LE Stewart 58, KW Darlow, M Smith and J Gaines 57.

Gross Eclectic: D Harrison 57, M Smith 58, J Henderson 59, S Barron, M Carss and B Farrar 61.

Easyway Order of Merit: L Simpson 1116, C Donaldson 883, W Belisle 866, A Straughan 854.

September Open Texas Scramble: 1 D Harrison, D Lam, J Friar, A Dodd 61-4.5=6.5 (Alnwick Castle); 2 Mr Kettles, S Relph, M Maughan, R Moore 64-6.3=57.7 (Stocksfield); 3 BJ Hunt, B Farrar, K Burn, K Thompson 62-4.1=57.9 (Alnwick Castle and Alnmouth); 4 L Bennett, A Dickinson, A Bennett, I Blakemore 61-2.5=58.5 (Wynyard).


Twilight competition: This Friday sees the finale of the season-long Twilight competition with Bruce Turnbull and John Murdoch in close contention. Last Friday, despite the rain, John closed the gap to just one point taking the honours from Bruce with John Clifford in third place.

The Caterers Cup: Last Sunday’s competition, The Caterers Cup, went to Shaun Pringle with Graeme Taylor in second spot.

Dunstanburgh Castle

Past Captains’ Prize:1 G Curry 22pts; 2 I Murdy 19.

Men’s Open Pairs: 1 L McCavanagh and I Robinson (Wynyard Hall) 62; 2 I Murdy and D Saunders (Dunstanburgh Castle) 64 (on back nine); 3 P Armstrong and S Phillipson (Prudhoe) 64; 4 B Bailey and N McLeave (Hexham) 65; 5 S Fear (Dunstanburgh Castle) and A Brown (Morpeth) 66.

Best gross: P Brown and B Bailey (Matfen Hall) gross 64.

Dunstanburgh Castle (L)

EWGA & County Medal & SQ second round Moorin Trohpy – Medal: 1 J Robson; 2 I Wright; 3 Joan Watson.

Moorin Trophy: Winner Wilkinson.


Ladies Open Team Comp: 1 Mrs J Cairns, Mrs A Brown, Mrs S Sheehy, 91 points; 2 Mrs S Warne, Mrs V Simpson, Mrs S Dodds, 85 points; 3 Mrs D Finch, Mrs B Douglas, Mrs E Ferguson, 84 points.

Coquetdale Trophies: 1 Mrs S Sheehy, 39 points; 2 Mrs D Cairns, 35 points; 3 Mrs A Robinson, 35 points.


President’s Cup, round five: 1 M Arkle 76-7=69; 2 R Woodburn 79-9=70; 3 G Woodburn 85-14=71.

Seahouses (L)

Medal no 22: 1 P Fawcus 84-12-72; 2 V Sim 89-16-73; 3 B Stevens 101-25-76.

Nine hole competition: 1 S Baird 15pts.

Dorothy Logan Quaich: 1 C English 33pts (on countback) from R Anderson 33; 3 V Sim 32 (on countback) from L Bewley.

Warkworth (L)

Lifeboat Spoon: 1 M Routledge 86-18-68; 2 M Johnson 92-23-69; 3 L Langlands 96-25-71; 4 K Dolby 95-23-72.

Texas Scramble: 1 M Mollon, B Fawcatt, C Beldon, E Younger 70-6.8-63.2; 2 J Moore, F Johnston, A Head, D Wallace 68-4.7-63.3; 3 A Pennington, C Acaster, K Farrow, R Hamilton 72-8-64.


Castle Cup: The penultimate summer club competition at Warkworth saw Stephen Lamb’s patience rewarded as he scooped the Castle Cup at a blustery Old Links last weekend.

His score of 40 points was two clear of a worthy trio consisting of Ian Gray, Paul Douglass and R Michael Sawley and was testament to his dogged concentration and routine.

Amazingly no twos were recorded so the rollover goes on to next week’s JR Forster Cup.

Scores: S.Lamb 40points; I.Gray 38points, P.Douglass 38points, R.M.Sawley 38points (back nines).

A mention also to Eric Dykes on his success a couple of weeks ago.

There are still places available at tomorrow’s premier wine tasting in the clubhouse at 7pm. Tickets cost £10 per person, including wine and nibbles.