Around the golf clubs

Share this article

Alnmouth, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Belford, Dunstanburgh, Percy Wood, Seahouses, Rothbury, Warkworth and Wooler all feature.

Alnmouth Foxt (l)

Centenary Spoon: 1 A Cole.

Norman Watson Trophy: A Hansen.

EWGA Medals, Silver: 1 A Hansen 73 on back 9, from; 2 M Pickard 73; 3 S Temple 74.

Bronze: 1 J Hill 74 on back 9, from; 2 J Kinghorn 74 on back 9 from; 3 D Coney 74.

9-Hole Competition: A Bell 18pts.

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Lady Captain’s Away Day (at The Hirsel): 1 Hilary Buckley 32pts; 2 Jane Hindmarsh 29pts; 3 Margaret Gray 28pts. Special awards to newcomers Kathleen Scott and Edna Yeadon.

Alnwick Castle (L)

July Medal: 1 N Thompson 87-21=66; 2 A Provost 90-18=72; 3 G Gordon 82-10=72.

August Medal: 1 M Lake 104-32=72; 2 A Provost 90-18=72; 3 J Clark 104-31=73.

Elsie Jobson Cup (Vets): 1 L Tate 86-18=68; 2 M Lake 102-31=71; 3 M Walton 89-16=73.

Bamburgh (L)

Flag Competition: Two Ladies finished in the first hole in the Flag Competition and, after a sudden death play-off, the winner was Di Johnson who beat Sue Critchlow to the trophy.

The result was reversed in the medal: 1 Sue Critchlow 99-23=66 on the back 9 from; 2 Di Johnson 97-21=66.

At the AGM, which followed the competition, Julie Dawson took over from Fiona Hall ascaptain and Hillary Hulley was elected vice-captain for the coming year.

Bamburgh First Team remain in Division One of the Northumberland County League next season. The Second Team won Division Five and are promoted to Division Four. The North Northumberland team finished fourth in the league.

bamburgh castle

Flag Trophy and RNLI Spoon: M Shapira 67-4-63; J Moffet jun 66-2-64; P Sanderson 67-1-66; R Lumsden 73-6-67; J Cairns 73-6-67; K Wright 73-5-68; D Wymes 82-14-68.


Congratulations must go to the club champions for 2013, Wendy Martin, for the Ladies, who returned fine score, from Linda Brandie, while in the Gents Neill Jefferson carded a one-over-par 73 to take the trophy from Graham Taylor.

Friday’s Twilight was decided when club secretary Michael Young birdied the last hole to take the spoils from Bruce Turnbull, with John Gilhome and Robin Williamson in third and fourth positions.

Late entries are still being taken for this weekend’s Charity Texas Scramble team event.

For further information, please phone Belford 01668 213572.

Dunstanburgh (L)

EWGA & County Medal & SQ (Saturday, August 24): 1 Louise Tate 104-26=78; 2 Caroline Broome 93-3=80; 3 Ann Camozzi 102-21=81 (on back 9).

Percy Wood (S)

Seniors Club Championship: D Finlay 79-9-70 best gross; T Rutter 81-13-68 best nett over 65s; C Wilson 86-15-71 best nett; D Angus 80-8-72; J Houlison 97-24-73 best nett over 70s.

Rob Robinson Texas Scramble: J Hendry, P Scott, C Steel 70-9.33=60.67; M Corner, W Stevens, M Liddle 72-11.33=60.67.

Seahouses (L)

Ladies Invitation Day: The winning pair were Gillian Blair and Segna Holloway, with 39pts on countback from Dot Smith and Sue Brierley, 39pts, also on countback from third Anne Nicholson and Jill Archer, 39 pts.

The Hodge Cup: Won by Pam Fawcus (82-12-70), second was Allison Claydon (91-18-73) on countback from third Val Sim (89-16-73). Best gross was Anne Locke with 81.


Alistair Mallen Memorial Trophy: R Ritchie 75-8-67 (on countback); I Townend 82-15-67; S Olver 72-4-68; D Hornsby 75-6-69; K Hodgson 86-17-69; T Rourke 83-14-69.


Castle Cup: 1 J Robertson 36pts; 2 L Wraith 34pts on back nine; 3 L Langlands 34pts.

Ladies Invitation Day: 1 Mrs J Stott & Mrs B Park; 2 Mrs J Steele & Mrs T Forrest; 3 Mrs J Pickard & Mrs K Smith.


Silloth Pairs: Mr I Arkle & Mr B Proudlock 63.6; 2 Mr R Woodburn & Mr G Woodburn 64; 3 Mr D Pledger & Mr A Atkinson 64.4

warkworth (L)

Autumn greensomes: 1 M Punton & L Langlands 96-24.4-71.6; 2 A Robertson & J Robertson 104-29.8-74.2.

wooler (L)

Five Club Competition: 1 S Brown nett 71; 2 K Brydon nett 73.

Twilight and Dawn Competition: Twilight winner, K Brydon nett 70. Twilight runner-up, S Brown nett 75. Dawn winner, S Curle nett 72. Dawn runner-up, V Symons nett 78.

Wooler Sponsors Day: 1 G Brown, J Lynes, G Tong (TR Johnson Butcher) 78pts; 2 N Tait, G Smith, C McGlynn (N Tait Fencing) 73; 3 S Lamb, S Curle, S Brown (JB Drilling) 70.

August Midweek Stableford: Winner P Tatters 38pts; Runner-up, K Brydon 37pts.