around the golf clubs

Alnmouth, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Belford, Dunstanburgh, Rothbury, Seahouses, Percy Wood and Warkworth all feature

Alnmouth (Fox)

Coates Trophy: 1 B Heppell 82-16=66; 2 S Poole 84-16=68; 3 S Wilkes 75-6=69; 4 D Parker 81-11=70; 5 D Brown 82-11=71; 6 D Duns 82-11=71.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

EWGA Medals, Silver: 1 M Howie 84-11-73; 2 D Parker 94-20-74; 3 S Cumming 91-16-75.

Bronze: 1 C Tulip 100-23-77; 2 B Biesterfield 107-28-79; 3 H Tulip 109-28-81.

Nine-Hole Competition: R Ross 16pts.

Rutherford Trophy: M Howie.

Alnmouth (Vill)

Seniors Bogey: Proving that there is still life to be found in old dogs, the well-deserved winner of this week’s Bogey competition was none other than B Bissett (+four), followed by D Gleadall and C Fettis (+two).

Reverse Course: This popular Texas Scramble was won this year with 58pts by the team consisting of R Beverley, C Payne, C Goodwin and B Swiney.

Joint second with 54pts were B Hill, M Hill, T Harris and D Gleadall; and the team consisting of M Henderson, J Luke, G Baston Snr and G Baston Jnr 54.

Challenge Cup: 1 J Jobson 73-5=68; 2 S Mckee 76-7=69 (club captain); 3 I Simpson 82-12=70; 4 J Ross 84-13=71; 5 K Dawson 92-18=74.

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Rothbury Plate: 1 M Forman 2down; 2 P Addy 5down; 3 F Robson 6down.

Reverse Course (nine-hole stableford): 1 M Forman, E Meek, M Allan 35pts; 2 E Morgan, H Buckley, J Forman 27.

Alnwick Castle

Two holes-in-one: A pair of aces, no not a card school at Swansfield but two holes-in-one within a week. The first was credited to Wayne Belisle, who sunk his tee shot at the fourth hole while playing a pairs knockout match with Jimmy Cookson against Jocky Wilson and Phil Ginger. The second was in last week’s Rover Trophy and was claimed by Les Simpson, also at the fourth hole. The man on the best overall form on the day, however, was Richard Brown. A six-under-par score of 42pts was enough to claim victory. Three players were in hot pursuit on 41pts and separated only on countback. Leading them was George Stokoe, whose putting nightmare, which has lasted for some weeks now, has clearly come to an end, much to his delight. The other two players on 41pts and who were third and fourth were Phill Ginger and Carl Green respectively. Five other players joined Les Simpson in the twos club namely, Alan Craigs, Rod Henderson, Willy Brown, Peter Lee and Martin Pringle. The best gross score was 76 returned by three players, Wayne Belisle, Phill Ginger and Colin Donaldson and out of a field of 66 players, no less than 21 scored equal or less than the day’s standard scratch score of 36pts.

Rover Trophy: 1 RJ Brown 42pts; 2 G Stokoe 41; 3 P Ginger 41; 4 C Green 41.

Alnwick Castle (L)

July Medal: 1 N Thompson 87-21=66; 2 A Provost 90-18=72; 3 G Gordon 82-10=72.

Bamburgh Castle

Centenary Salver: F Bolton 80-12-68 (on last nine); M McGillivray 72-4-68; RJ Reid 77-9-68; N Muse 91-22-69; D Kirkbride 88-19-69; C Hall 76-7-69; C Peacock 90-21-69. CSS 71. 88 entries.

Bamburgh (L)

Medal and RNLI Spoon: Winner H Hulley 71-8=63; R/U F Southerrn 77-10=67; 3 C Whitfield 80-11=69.

Centenary Salver: Winner C Whitfield 80-11=69; R/U N Rose 76-4=72.


Margaret Young Memorial Trophy: Last weekend’s Sunday competition was won by Fraser Tait on 42pts from secretary Michael Young on 39.

Friday’s Twilight Competition: Played in excellent conditions, Michael Young won from Tina Smith, and Robin Williamson a creditable third. This Sunday sees a change to the fixture list with a nine-hole stableford and the ladies will contest the Jane Little Trophy.

Charity Texas Scramble: On Saturday, August 31 – entries being taken at £25 per team. For information, call 01668 213572.

Dunstanburgh (L)

EWGA, County Medal and SQ (first round Morrin Trophy): 1 A Camozzi 97-21=76; 2 L Wylde 102-24=78; 3 L Fishwick 110-29=81.


Club Championship, Gross: 1 M Clements 76+71=147; 2 PA Arkle 76=78+154; 3 S Foggett 78+78=156. Nett: 1 M Clements 72+67=139; 2 C Chapman 65+74=139; 3 N Rodgerson 67+74=141.


Sunday’s Hodge Cup: A superb round of 71 gross for a nett 63, seven under the day’s competition scratch score, gave Robert Locke a five-shot victory in Sunday’s Hodge Cup and also saw his handicap reduced from eight to six.

Leading returns: R Locke 71-8-63; K Swan 75-7-68; I Graham 77-8-69; T Hook 74-5-69; C Burrows 87-17-70; R Bewley 83-13-70; T Leightley 82-12-70; H Beckingham 82-11-71. CSS 70.

Seahouses (L)

Centenary Open Greensomes (Saturday): 1 S Curle and K Brydon (Wooler) nett 63.6; 2 P Tatters and S Brown (Wooler) nett 65.6 (on countback) from 3 Y Welch and D Welch (Parklands), nett 65.6.

Centenary Cup (Sunday): 1 C Lovell with a great score of 85-23-62; 2 P Fawcus 79-13-66; 3 L Bewley 86-14-72 (on countback) from V Sim, R Anderson and L Ramsbottom.

The best gross trophy went to P Fawcus on 79.

Percy Wood

Gerum Trophy (Ladies v Seniors): H Dawson, L Kenny 52pts. Seniors won 6-2.

Percy Wood (S)

Joals Doubles: D Finlay, W Tarbit 43pts; T Rutter, S Hay 42; K Hicks, G Thompson 40.


Ladies Club Championship: The Old Links ladies took centre stage for the club championship and it was ‘wor’ Marge Routledge who triumphed at the expense of Christine Douglas. Marge’s two scores were spread evenly with a 92 and 95 giving a six-shot margin. Kathleen Dalby won the Bronze section with a 98 and 97 to push Marion Punton into second. Kathleen also won the overall nett on a 149 total, with Marge Routledge two shots behind.

Ladies Medal and Salver: Betty Black a showed a welcome return to form to win the Carse Salver on Tuesday. Her nett 75 was one ahead of new club champion Marge Routldege and two ahead of Maureen Johnson. Lyn Langlands scraped into fourth place.

Mixed Betterball: The Brian Ross Mixed Trophy was won by Maureen Johnson and Stu Holland 42pts; 2 Christine Douglas and George with 40; 3 Lovaine Wraith and Bruce Hardy 38.

North Northumberland Ladies Friendly Golf League