around the golf clubs

Alnmouth, Bamburgh, Belford, Dunstanburgh, Percy Wood, Rothbury, Warkworth and Wooler all feature.

Alnmouth (Fox)

Norman Watson Millennium Trophy: 1 L Denny 78-14=64; 2 R Cole 75-10=65; 3 J Aitken 86-20=66; 4 S Eggleston 79-13=66; 5 J Bailey 81-14=67; 6 M Armstrong 80-13=67.

Club Championship final: M Carss bt R Gander.

Gemini Trophy (Invitation Day): 1 A Stanton and M Conroy 44pts; 2 R Bell and B Lamb 44; 3 S Inglis and R Campbell 42; 4 A Joyce and P Lamberth 42; 5 A Craigs and I Bell 42; 6 P Rutherford and R Simpson 42.

Nearest the pin: Eighth, S Kelly, 84cm. Nearest the pin 11, R Wallhead,120cm.

Midweek Stableford: Jim Storey 37pts; 2 D Duns 37; 3 D Lillico 35.

Sunday Stableford: 1 P Rolfe 40pts; 2 H Sutherland 38; 3 C Napier 38.

Foxton Salver - Best gross: Mr and Mrs R Blackshaw 82.

Lilly Trophy - Best net: Mr and Mrs I Clough 82-8.2=73.8.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

Invitation Day: 1 P Robson and P Rourke 47pts; 2 P Weddell and J Walker 40 from 3 P Daymont and J Bainbridge 40; 4 S Patterson and R Moralee 39.

Twos Competition: S Patterson and J Archer; D Lillie and J Watson; K Macfarlane and J Carr; J Brannon and S Brown.

Alnmouth (Vill)

Surtees Cup: 1 B Clark and Mr R Boyle 35pts (on countback); 2 L Ternent and Mr M Henderson 35; 3 J Cossins and Mr K Potts 31 (on countback); H Buckley and Mr P Dixon 31.

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Centenary Rose Bowl and Medal: 1 B Clark 93-21=72; 2 V Archibald 102-27=75; 3 B Biesterfield 106-28=78.

Alice Fife Salver and Medal: 1 P Addy 99-24=75 (on back nine) from 2 M Forman 93-18=75; 3 H Blythe 98-22=76.

Bamburgh Castle (L)

Medal: Winner: J McLane 99-32=67; R/Up Fiona Southern 79-10=69.


Friday’s Twilight competition: Went to Bruce Turnbull from our ladies captain Ruth Williamson, unfortunately last Sunday’s Club Championship had to be abandoned due to inclement weather and has been rearranged for Sunday, August 25. On Friday we have again the very popular Twilight Stableford, Sunday is The Margaret Young Memorial Trophy, for both ladies and gents. The Charity Texas Scramble on Saturday, August 31, entries are still being taken at £25 per team for further information please phone Belford 01668 213572.

Dunstanburgh Castle (L)

President’s Trophy Day: 1 K Wilson 101-27=74; 2 I Wright 93-18=75; 3 L Dixon 114-35=79.

Nearest the pin 15th hole: L Dixon. Lucky dip: L Fishwick.

Percy Wood

Mel Dixon Shield: M Osborne, R Ardley 63; K Stewart, K Pratt 63; T Dodds, C Wilson 66.

Percy Wood (S)

Power Texas Scramble: D Finlay, W Falcus, H Douglas 68-10-58; C Wilson, H Manson, J Sproull 69-10.2-58.8.

Percy Wood (L)

Open: 1 H Birkmyre, P Fisher (both Percy Wood) and E Ross (Alnmouth Foxton) 84; 2 M Scott (Percy Wood), F Welsh and M Phillips (both Garesfield) 83; 3 M Tully, A Spence and D Cairns (Rothbury) 81.


Jack Phillips Salver: 1 Mrs P Arkle 96-26=70; 2 Mrs E Clark 89-18=71; 3 Mrs M Tully 93-21=72.

Pat Arkle Mixed Scramble Trophy: 1 Mrs M Robson, C Chapman, J Rear; 2 Mrs J Henderson, J Rollitt, A Oliver; 3 Mrs T Horn, B Proudlock, K Appleby.

Junior Club Championship - Gross: Charles Saddington 84; 2 Greg Woodburn 88; 3 Ben Proudlock 89.

Nett: 1 Ben Proudlock 89-20=69; 2 Charles Saddington 84-14=70; 3 Ewan Hall-Younger 104-32=72.

Pro-Am competition: Friday, July 26, Rothbury Golf Club’s first Pro-Am competition. The team of Mrs G Penn, Mrs E Clark, M Atkinson with ex Rothbury member D Clark, won with a 21 under par; 2 P A Arkle, G Foggon, D Arkle and pro, P Waugh on a countback with 20 under par; 3 losing out were B White, D Pledger, C White and pro, C McDonnell who set a new course record of gross 65. D Clark finishing second with a 67.


Joe Shotton Memorial: A bumper field of 100 golfers arrived at the Old Links for the prestigious Joe Shotton Memorial last weekend and it was ‘Jake’ Watson who held his game together to take the first prize with 41 points.

In joint second with 39 points were Keith Bell, Nev Holden and Alan Wrigglesworth with Nev also collecting the best gross prize. A shot further back were Chris Mallaburn and Daniel Moyle on 38.

The pin and drive prizes were well shared out with thanks to all the prize donators for these.

The event raised more than £3,200 for the chosen cancer charity and an emotional Paul Douglass, who organises this event, was clearly overcome by the tribute paid to him and his family at the presentation. Many thanks to all the sponsors, helpers and those who played and stayed back to contributeto the auction.

Scores: Watson 41pts; K Bell 39, N Holden 39, A Wrigglesworth 39 (back nine); C Mallaburn 38, D Moyle 38 (back nine).

wooler (L)

Four Ball Better Ball: Winners P Tatters and A Brown 46pts; R/Up K Brydon and B Williamson 43.

July Midweek Stableford: Winner H Allan 44pts; R/Up A Brown 37.

July Medal and NPF Qualifier: Winner S Curle, net 69; R/Up H Allan, net 74.