Around the golf clubs

Results and news from clubs around north Northumberland

Alnmouth Vill

Winter Sweep over nine holes: I Simpson 21pts; R Boyle 21; J Ross 21; C Fettis 20; RA Hill 20; D Taylor 20; DJ Fairbairn 20; M Dawson 18; JB Graham 18; C Reid 17; T Harris 17; K Dawson 16; D Trotter 16; K Potts 15; G Batson 15; R Archibald 15; G Ridgway 14; G Clark 14; JR Campbell 13; P Dixon 13; S Yeadon 11; JAD Carr 10.

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Christmas Handicap: 1 Barbara Clark 33pts; 2 Pat Addy 31;3 Margaret Gray 26;4 Viv Archibald 25;5 Joy Bisset 23 (Lin Osgood also 23 pts).

Alnmouth (Fox)

British Heart Foundation Open Stableford: Gents: 1 R Wilson 41pts; 2 P Prior 38; 3 M Walker 35. Ladies: 1 Mrs K Slaven 32. Thank you to everyone who took part, resulting in a £850 donation to the British Heart Foundation.

Membership Special Offer. Become a full playing male or female member of Alnmouth (Foxton) Golf Club now and pay no further subscription until April 2014, only £35 per month, includes part entrance fee payment. For further details on membership, including age discounts for under 30s please contact Peter Simpson on 01665 830231.

Alnwick Castle

Penrose Pot: We’ve probably all done it at some time but not signing a card proved costly to Messrs Hubbard, Swordy and Dobson when they were disqualified from second place in the Penrose Pot accumulator last week. Having correctly signed their card Steve Barron, Neil Armstrong and John Gaines were the runaway winners with 84 points. Coming in with a late run from the lunchtime start slot and securing second place with a good score of 80pts were Simon Fuller, Brian Lamb and Chris Routledge. Making up the leaderboard in third were Mick Bell, Kevin Murphy and Guy Ridley on 76pts. No less than 10 two’s were scored on the day including two by Dan Swordy but the jury is out as to whether they count because as previously mentioned the card wasn’t signed? I wouldn’t be able to show face in the winter league which incidentally starts this Sunday, October 21, without making special mention of Russell Cooke’s fine two at the fourth hole. The end of the summer competitions also saw the posting of the final standings in the Easyway Order of Merit: 1 W Belisle 1435; 2 J Henderson 1163; 3 D Lam 1154. Finally a reminder that the next social event is The Race Night on Saturday, October 27, from 7.30pm. Please put names and numbers on the club noticeboard for buffet numbers.


Winter League One: T Rodger 37pts; D Saunders 36; J Paul 34; G Barber 34.

Winter League Two: R Jamieson 37; J Paul 37; S Fear 36; R Howcroft 36; D Howard 36.