Around the golf clubs

Alnmouth (Fox )

Brunton Cup: S Eggleston 40pts; Jake Storey 37; P Smith 36; John Hunter 35; J Southward 35; M Latto 35.

Men’s Senior Open: W Riddell and E Crawford 46pts; M Clarke and K Gott 41; A Craigs and R Chalmers 41; D Surtees and R Fraser 40.

Woodeson Walker Sauce Boats (gross): Mr and Mrs A Parker 84.

Charlton Stakes: Mr and Mrs A Parker 84-15.8-68.2; Mr and Mrs S Brierley 88-14.6-73.4; Mr and Mrs R Cole 85-10.6-74.4.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

Evergreen Trophy - Silver Division: 1 Val Robson 90-13-77; 2 Pauline Daymont 84-5-79.

Bronze Division: 1 Barbara Biesterfield 108-27-81; 2 Daphne Coney 111-29-82.

Nine Hole Competition: Gay Souter 14pts.

Winner of The Evergreen Trophy: Valerie Robson.

Betty Marshall Greensomes Trophy: 1 Joyce Ferrie and Leslie Grey 38pts; 2 Noreen Jeffere and Hilda Tulip 34 (on back nine) from Margaret Pickard and Joan Wheeler.

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Cath Palmer Trophy: 1 Bev Harris 37pts; 2 Eileen Meek 28; 3 Viv Archibald 26; Diane Boyle also 26.

alnwick castle

Vaux Trophy: 1 CJ Green & D Harrison 42pts; 2 W Belisle & WG Brown 39; 3 M Smith & I Ferguson 38.


Stableford (1): D Hogg 41pts; J Woodman 39; M Dawson 39; J Porteous 37.

Stableford (2): D Gill 33pts; H Adair 32; A Patterson 31; C Gray 30.

Dunstanburgh (L)

Leathart Trophy (Flag Competition): Winner Louise Tate.


Kenny Davison Necklet: 1 Stuart Foggon 42pts; 2 Graham Cadwallader 37; 3 Gary Newman 34.


Alnwick Rum Trophy: D Day 80-16-64; S Swan 80-12-68; A Currah 86-15-71; T Rourke 87-14-73; SJ Priestley 76-2-74; K Watts 85-11-74; K Pearson 89-15-74; L Charlton 93-18-75. CSS 71.

Warkworth (L)

Open Texas Scramble in aid of British Heart Foundation: 1 A Gibbons, A Welsh, C Graham, L Sidney (City of Newcastle) 67-5.9=61.1; 2 A Spence, D Cairns, M Tully, J Steele (Rothbury) 71-7.7=63.3; 3 J Robinson, J Moore, F Johnston, A Heads (City of Newcastle) 69-5=64. Nearest the pin: M Ternent (Blyth) 6’10”. £749 was raised for the charity. Many thanks to all who contributed.

Alison’s Quaich and Medal: 1 M Routledge 97-18=79; 2 B Black 98-17=81; 3 M Punton 110-28=82; 4 L Wraith 10009-26=83.


Sponsors’ Day: Rearranged to last Sunday and won by George Wilkinson, Chris Wilkinson and Les Johnson, representing Cheviot Catering and Refrigeration on 77 points, ahead of Steven Lamb, Susan Brown and Sheilagh Curle, representing Barry Guthrie Plumbing on 73.

Football Trophy: The final was won by Stuart Brodie, who beat Stuart Lowrey by 2&1.

Laidler Pairs: Won by Stuart Lowrey and John Eccleston against Steven Lamb and Trevor Crossman also by 2&1.

Presentation night: Please get your names down as soon as possible. The list is in the clubhouse and would all of last year’s trophy winners please return them to Stuart or Pam.

Captain’s Wake: Is on this Saturday instead of Sunday. Please meet at the clubhouse around noon for a nine-hole Texas scramble. This will be followed by the junior presentations at around 4pm.