Around the golf clubs

Results and news from clubs around north Northumberland

Alnmouth vill (L)

Carss Salver and Medal: 1 Monica Aitken 95-21=74; 2 Margaret Gray 90-15=75; 3 Joy Bisset 96-21=75.

Alnmouth vill

Spencer Trophy (seniors): 41pts G Smart; 40 DW Gleadall; 38 M Joyce; 37 JR Campbell; 36 R Archibald; 36 P Egdell; 36 G Ross; 35 IJ Blakey; 35 G Ridgway; 35 J Clark.

Four-man Team Reverse Course Stableford (three best scores on each hole): 121pts A Shell, M Henderson, I Phillips, J Boulding; 118 C Scamble, R Miller, M Davie, M McCush; 115 M Dawson, J Caddick, S Yeadon, R Baptist.

Millennium Trophy: 80-13-67 I Simpson; 83-15-68 R Archibald; 73-5-68 A Shell; 77-8-69 AW Stephenson; 88-17-71 D Taylor; 77-5-72 JA Stanton; 85-13-72 R Boyle.

alnmouth (fox)

August Medal: Div 1: 74-6-68 D Appleby; 74-5-69 J Nickless; 78-8-70 D Lillico.

Div 2: 84-12-72 B Dickinson; 84-11-73 T Watson; 88-15-73 M Clasper.

Div 3: 84-17-67 A Inglis; 87-19-68 R Armstrong; 86-17-69 B Heppell.

Seniors: 37pts D Wilson; 36 J Nicholson; 36 B Robson.

alnwick Castle

Golden Jubilee: In a ding-dong finish, the clash of the Bells was won by Ian Bell with a fantastic 43pts, he beat his namesake Michael into second place on a score of 41pts. Ian Ferguson was third on countback from Joe Henderson with both players scoring 39pts. Forthcoming open competitions at Swansfield – the Men’s Senior (over 50yrs) 4BBB Stableford on Wednesday and the Open Texas Scramble on Saturday, September 8. Details at call the clubhouse on 01665 602632.

bambuRgh (L)

Souter Trophy (scratch): 1 N Downs 72; 2 F Hall 81.

Mary Brown Trophy (bronze gross): 1 D Johnson 101; 2 L McGregor 103.

EWGA Medal: 1 F Hall 81-17-64; 2 N Rose 72-4-68.

Daphne Little Trophy: 1 N Rose 76-4-72 2 Alison Reed 95-23-72.


Carter Cup (4bbb): 41pts (on last nine) J Miller and I Miller; 41 SW Archer and A Hooks; 41 JD Smith and MD Miller; 40 A Patterson and M Robson; 40 P Harrington and S Clements; 40 M Robinson and W Robson; 39 DE Hogg and W Fawcus.


Captain’s Day: Gents: 1 TB Straughan; 2 J Murdoch. Ladies: 1 Ruth Williamson; 2 IM Gilhome. Nearest pin – Gents: HS Adair. Ladies: Tina Smith


Club Championship: Graham Stephenson has won for the third year a row. He was off the pace with a 78 in his first round, but in the afternoon, with the wind strengthening and the CSS raised to 73, he had a brilliant score of 67 to win by five shots from Martin Carss. David Saunders, who had led after the first round, finished in third.

Thompson Trophy (36 holes/nett): 1 A McGrady 156-12-144 (on countback); 2 D Saunders 154-10-144; 3 G Stephenson 145-scr-145 (on countback); J Carss 161-16-145.

Les Turnbull Trophy: 1 T Parish 84-14-70; 2 D Williams 83-8-75; 3 D Cooper 103-26-77

Dunstanburgh (L)

Donkin Spoons: l L Wylde and A Camozzi 38pts; 2 D Wilkinson and A O’Neill 34; 3 J Robson and I Smith 33.

Invitation Day: 1 Susan Temple and Pauline Daymont (Alnmouth) 38pts; 2 Joan Watson and Ann Noble (Ponteland) 33; 3 Caroline Broome and Diane Lillie (Alnmouth) 32. Visitor nearest the 13th pin: Ann Noble (Ponteland). Member nearest the 15th pin: Susan Temple.

PERCy Wood (L)

The Roxburgh Trophy: Played last Thursday – 1 Mary Stevens 74 (on countback); 2 June Ormston 74; 3 Julia Roxburgh 75.

The Captain’s Charity Cup: Played on Saturday – 1 Hilary Birkmyre 34pts; 2 June Ormston 32pts; 3 Pat Fisher 31pts.

rothbury (L)

K & J Davison Locket: 1 Gay Penn 93-14-79; 2 Julia Cairns 115-36-79; 3 Joy Henderson 99-18-81.

Mixed – Pat Arkle Texas Scramble: 1 Andrew Richardson, Jean Pickard and Greg Woodburn 63.7; 2. Mark Clements, Maureen Robson and Jeff Jefferson 64.1; 3 Graham Richardson, Angela Robinson and John Rear 64.5.


Medal Number Two: 1 Jean Bladen 95-22-73; 2 Val Sim 93-14-79; 3 Brenda Stevens 103-23-80. Shirley Baird won the nine-hole competition with 20pts.

Rose Bowl Trophy: 1 Lynne Bannister 84-12-72; 2 Eileen Robinson 107-34-73; 3 Brenda Stevens 101-27-74.

Medal Number 20: 1 Jean Bladen 101-22-79; 2 Brenda Stevens 106-27-79 (on countback); 3 Val Sim 94-14-80.

Season’s Plate: 1 Lynne Bannister 77-12-65; 2 Brenda Stevens 97-27-70; 3 Val Sim 85-14-71 (on countback) from Christine English. Congratulations to Anne Nicholson on winning the Callers Trophy (a county competition) with a four-under-handicap score.

Summer Shield: Gross: 69 J Hogg; 75 D Hornsby; 76 R Ritchie; 76 T Leightley. Nett: 76-13-63 T Leightley; 69-3-66 J Hogg; 84-17-67 A Berry; 75-7-68 D Hornsby; 76-8-68 R Ritchie; 84-15-69 A Watson

warkworth (L)

The Championship: B Black 94+103=197. Bronze Championship: M Johnson: 101+103=204. Nett Trophy: Maureen Johnson:78+80=158.

Carse Salver: 1 H Barnes 102-23=79; 2 B Black 97-17=80; 3 M Routledge 99-18=81; 4 A Jones 104-22=82.

Margaret Gair Salver: 1 R Hopkinson 32pts; 2 J Gray 31 (back nine) 3 L Langlands 31; 4 J Hardy 30.


Andy Fairnington Stableford Qualifier: A run-away success for John Lynes on 40pts, six points ahead of Raymond Lowes on 34. Chris Wilkinson was third on 33.

Open Texas Scramble: T Crossman, E Inglis, S Reid and P Moffat won on 58.1, ahead of G and A Brown, G Tong and D Hall on 59.4 and E Singleton, J Reid, T Carr & M Cowens on 59.6. The Open 4BBB on Saturday has been cancelled and the Peacock Trophy will now be played on its original date.