Around the golf clubs

Results and news from around the clubs in north northumberland

Alnmouth FoxtoN

New champion: The club has a new men’s champion in John Southward who cruised to a 6 and 4 victory over the holder, Richard Gander, in Sunday’s 36-hole final. Gander was one up after nine in the morning round but Southward responded with wins at 10, 12, 13 and 14 to be three up at halfway. He gradually extended his lead in the afternoon and closed out the match on the 32nd. Southward, a prison officer and former member of Alnwick and Warkworth, who plays off two handicap, said: “I holed more putts than Richard, that was the main difference.

Foxton Claret: Tim Claxton beat Malcolm J Campbell 2up.

Norman Watson Millennium Trophy: It ended in a four-way tie on 70nett and was decided on the last nine. Leading scores: 86-16-70 (on last nine) I Cuthbertson; 83-13-70 (on last three) D Westwell; 75-5-70 (on last six) J Nickless; 85-15-70 B Douglass; 86-15-71 JD Bell; 88-17-71 D Norman. CSS 73.

Foxton Ladies

Club Championship: Winner: Susan Temple; R/U Liz Ross.

Bronze Cup: Winner: Joan Wheeler; R/U Daphne Coney.

Invitation Day: 1 Lorna Keen and June Nattrass 39pts 2 Susan Temple and Dorothy Leigh 39; 3 Pat Ellis and Jackie Wilson 38; 4 Cynthia Sidgwick and Christine Oliver 37.


Hat-trick: It was all go at The Village at the weekend with three competitions to be decided. First up on Friday was the final of the Club Championship between holder Richie Campbell and John Graham. Campbell was two up after nine and three up with three to play at which point Graham hit back to win 16 and 17 to be just one down. However a half at the last saw Campbell win the title for the second year in a row.

Surtees Cup: (mixed foursomes Stableford) It saw captain Steve Yeadon and partner Bev Harris take the honours with a score of 37 points. Steve retained the trophy, having won the previous year with Joy Bisset. Leading returns: 37pts S Yeadon and B Harris; 34 W Bisset and B Clark; 30 P Egdell and M Gray; 39 E Morgan and D Blythe.

Ron Hill Trophy: On Sunday it was vice-captain Steve McKee’s turn to take the honours, winning the (bogey) with an excellent score of six up. Scores: 6up S McKee; 4up A Shell; 3up DJ Fairbairn; 3up JA Stanton; 1up N Holden; 1up K Dawson; all square RA Hill.


Alice Fife Salver and Medal: 1 Adele Richardson 102-32=70; 2 Hilda Blythe 96-23=73; 3 Barbara Clark 94-20=74.

Alnwick Castle

Calvert Rosebowl: There was a popular win at Swansfield when the diminutive figure of club junior co-ordinator Duy Lam rose above the rest of the field to clinch victory in the Calvert Rosebowl. Duy’s magnificent 43 points was a full three ahead of second placed Scott McMullen. Scott incidentally has seen his handicap plummet from 23 to just 14 in only four months. Keith Richardson was third on countback from Ian Bell with both players scoring 38pts.The 2’s club had only four members last week, Ian Watson, George Stokoe, Ian Bell and Rod Henderson.

Stop press news: Kenny Darlow two under par 68. Ken Burn was only one adrift on 69 and Alan Craigs 72 made him third. Scores: 1 D Lam 43pts; 2 S McMullen 40; 3 K W Richardson 38 (on countback).

Les Johnson Seniors: I KW Darlow 89-21=68; 2 KW Burn 81-12=69; 3 JA Craigs 84-12=72.

Alnwick Ladies

Alice Fife Timepiece: 1 S Hogg 42pts; 2 S Brown 39; 3 N Thompson 38.

Bamburgh Ladies

Club Championship: Semi finals Nicky Rose beat Fiona Southern at the 20, Lyn Johnston beat Hilary Hully 4&3. Final Nicky Rose beat Lyn Johnston 4&3.

EWGA Medal: Winner - Wendy Martin 86-16=70; R/U Gemma Baird 91-15=76 after a tie with Fiona Hall 94-18=76.


Jubilee Spoons: 1 K Bowden and G Scott 66 (on countback); 2 P Goodfellow and N Rayner  66; 3 C Biott and G Temple  67 (on countback); D Howard and S Monkhouse 67; M Brewis and T Rodger 67.

Dunstanburgh (l)

President’s Trophy: 1 Dorothy Wilkinson 92-15=77; 2 Judy Robson 96-17=79; 3 Caroline Broome 91-10= 81. Kathey Wilson won the nearest the pin on the 15th hole.

percy wood (L)

Percy Wood Ladies Open: The weather was kind and everyone enjoyed the day. It was a very close contest the first three all having 72 points and the results were on countback.Results: 1 Dawn Falcus (Percy Wood),Susan Marshall (Goswick)and Phyl Dunn (Goswick); 2 Hilary Birkmyre (Percy Wood),Pat Fisher (Percy Wood) and Liz Ross (Alnmouth); 3 Anne Ingham, Sinead Nangle and Janis Wood (all from Tyneside. The Longest Drive was won by Brenda Fawcett from Blyth and Nearest the Pin by Maureen Robson from Rothbury.

The Davison Cup Mixed Foursomes: 1 Dawn and Bill Falcus 41pts; 2 Kevin and Ade Stewart 39; 3 Alan and Hilary Birkmyre 36.


Club Captain’s Day: 1 Stuart Foggon 37pts; 2 Michael Arkle 36; 3 Chris Chapman 3.

rothbury Ladies

Club Captain’s Day: 1 Mrs D Cairns 29pts; 2 Mrs C Hebson 29; 3 Mrs J Henderson 29.

Jack Phillips Salver: 1 Mrs J Henderson 90-18-72; 2 Mrs A Robinson 90-18-72; 3 Mrs M Tully 93-20-73.


Men’s 4bbb (open): 44pts R Leonard and K Mannering; 42 G Hornsby and K Wright (Seahouses); 41 S Swan and I Graham (Seahouses); 40 (on countback) D Stephenson and M Bell. Nearest pin on 15th - P Renney; on 10th - K Filer.

seahouses Ladies

Medal number 17: At last the ladies of Seahouses were able to play 18 holes last Tuesday when they competed for Medal number 17. The winner was Dot Smith,108-36-72, second was Pam Fawcus with 89-15-74 on countback from Val Sim, 88-14-74. Congratulations to Dot on her maiden victory.

warkworth (L)

Team Invitation Day: 1 P Lewis and A Robertson (Warkworth) 40pts: 2 R Hopkinson and D Bell (Warkworth) 39; 3 D Hindhaugh and M Punton (Warkworth) 34: Nearest the Pin: J Atkinson (Bedlington).

Nancy Grenfell Trophy Texas Scramble: 1 J Lowther, R Hopkinson, L Langlands: 82-8⅝= 73⅜; 2 B Black, D Campbell, H Wrigglesworth 84-10=74.


Challenge Cup: In the Redpath Challenge Cup, Geoff Tong and Mark Cowens came out on top on 42 points ahead of John Ewing and James Spencer on 38.

Mixed Coxon Rosebowl: Anne Brown and Gordon Brodie won on 81 ahead of Sheilagh Curle and Mick Hornsby on 86.

Ladies July Medal: Susan Brown won on 89-19-70 ahead of Sheilagh Curle on 89-17-72.

Entries: For the Mixed Open Texas Scramble on Sunday, August 12, to Stuart Lowrey on 07790 179937.