Around the golf clubs


Alnmouth Foxton

Gemini Invitation Day: 62 E Cuthbert and C Johnson; 65 (on last nine) D Lillico and D Wilson; 65 D Weddell and G Robson. Nearest pin on 5th A Findlay; on 8th S Gibson; on 11th S Burrows; on17th B Dickinson; on 18th (in two) M McCracken.

July Medal (on Sunday): Div 1: 73-1-72 R Gander; 79-6-73 P Wigham; 82-6-76 J Wright. Div 2: 84-16-68 K Batson; 84-14-70 K Hindson; 87-11-76 K Kiggell.Div 3: 90-17-73 M Latto; 95-17-78 V Brown; 96-17-79 B Heppell. Seniors: 101-28-73 T Hood; 84-8-76 A Nickall.

AVGC (Ladies)

Silver Division: 1 Pauline Daymont (80-5-75); 2 Hazel Clark (98-20-78); 3 Moyra Howie (90-11-79).

Bronze Division: 1 Di Parker (101-21-80); 2 Margaret Little (111-30-81); 3 Sheila Walker (108-27-81).

Nine Hole Competition: Flora Bailey, 17pts.

Rutherford Trophy Winner: Pauline Daymont.

Centenary Rose Bowl and EWGA Medal: 1 Mrs M Gray 90-15=75; 2 Mrs J Bisset 98-20=78; 3 Mrs D Boyle 103-22=81 (On back nine) from 4 Mrs V Gough 113-32=81.

Alnwick Castle

The Thermofuels Trophy: Produced a three-way tie on 38 points with the placings decided on countback. The victor was Kevin Smith, Barry Farrar was placed second and Guy Ridley third. A special mention for Alan Dodd who slotted into fourth place on 37pts after taking up golf less than a year ago. The twos club members this week were Colin Donaldson at the fourth, Kevin Smith at the 15th and Barry Farrar, Rod Henderson and Lawrie Stewart all at the 17th. The NNGL team were promoted to Division One. Team members: Alastair Smith, Jack Friar and Joe Henderson. A quiz will be held on Saturday night in the clubhouse starting at 7.30pm and finally the Jocky Wilson Trophy 12 holer continues on Friday evenings, a full round up of the standings will be published next week. 1 K Smith 38pts; 2 B Farrar 38; 3 G Ridley 38.

Alnwick ladies

July Medal: 1 Margaret Walton 93-21=72; 2 Barbara Friar 94-18=76 (On back nine); 3 Gillian Gordon 89-13=76.

Guest Day: 20 ladies took part in a greensomes stableford competition, followed by a delicious two-course meal courtesy of Mick and Margie. The raffle raised £103 for HospiceCare North Northumberland. Results: 1 Jill Clark (Alnwick) and Moira Kilkenny (Foxton) 34pts (On back nine); 2 Ashlyn Provost (Alnwick) and Jan Coates (Gosforth) 34; 3 Sheila Brown (Alnwick) and Lovaine Wraith (Warkworth) 33.

BambuRgh Ladies

Challenge Cup: Winner - Lynne Johnston 74-7=67; R/U Hilary Hulley 79-9=70 (on the back nine) from Jill Archer 89-19=70.


Stopford Cup: 81-19-62 RG Temple; 79-15-64 J Wardle; 72-7-65 P Holmes; 68-3-65 A Mackay; 66-1-65 P Sanderson; 75-9-66 D Stout; 75-9-66 A Aldred. Best gross: 66 P Sanderson.

Couves Goblets: 80-8-72 Jeff and Hillary Tulley; 88-15.5-72.5 Michael and Fiona Robson; 88-14-74 Stuart and Jill Archer,


Mixed Open: 1 Mr C Wales (Ravensworth) and Mrs I Smith (Dunstanburgh Castle) 36pts (First on back nine); 2 Mr A Reid and Ms C Falkenstein (Whitley Bay) 36 (Second on back nine); 3 Mr L Aitken and Mrs M Aitken (Hexham) 36 (Third on back nine); from Mr G MacDonald and Ms N Wilkinson (Close House).

Dunstanbrugh (L)

EWGA Medal and SQ and Embleton Spoons: 1 Louise Tate 102-25=77; 2 Alison O’Neill 100-17=83 (on back nine); 3 Caroline Broome 92-9=83.

Percy Wood (L)

The Jewitt Trophy: (Played on July 12) -1 Pat Fisher 35pts; 2 Mandy Scott 32; 3 Julia Roxburgh 26.

The Rutter Greensomes: 1 Hilary Birkmyre and Julia Roxburgh; 2 Eileen Watson and Hazel Dawson; 3 June Ormston and Mary Stevens.

rothbury ladies

Stableford Cup: 1 Mrs E Clark 34pts; 2 Mrs A Spence 34; 3 Mrs D Cairns 32.


President’s Cup: (Round one) 1 Mr D Phillips 86-16-70; 2 Mr J Stevenson 78-6-72; 3 Mr A Coe 84-12-72.


Club Championship (36 holes): Strong westerly winds provided a stern test for competitors on Sunday but it still produced a very close finish, Scott Priestley beating title-holder Gary Hornsby by a solitary shot on the final hole. Leading returns: 159 SJ Priestley 81 78; 160 Gary Hornsby 78 82; 164 Graeme Preston 81 83; 166 David Hornsby 83 83; 172 Gareth Pearson 86 86; 172 Alan Jones 85 87.

Rogerson Salver (nett): 87-16-71 George McAdam; 85-13-72 William Craig; 82-9-73 Kevin Potts; 84-10-74 John Graves; 88-13-75 Trevor Leightley; 84-9-75 Chris Hall.


Seniors Trophy and Medal: 1 G Turnbull 93-21=72; 2 J Gray 93-20=73; 3 L Langlands 102-28= 74; 4 J Hardy 100-22=78.

Maurice Gaskin Trophy: Liam Ramsay proved to be the man outstanding in this field with a wonderful nett 64. As the strong wind took its toll, he showed no sign of nerves to post a four-shot winning margin over the returning Alan Hill, with a a nett 68, two shots ahead of Ross Young who is quickly adapting to his new course. Consolation for Ross was best gross for his 71 in a strong wind. The lightning quick greens took their toll with no one else below par. Only two twos were scored by Nathan Brown and Terry Powton. Scores: l Ramsay 74-10-64; A Hill 87-19-68; R Young 71-1-70.

Bells Foursome Pairs: In a hastily rearranged competition and strange format, stableford, the trophy was won convincingly by the clan Moyle. Dad Michael and son Daniel posted a fine 39 points. Ian and Paul Gray were second from Robert Balmbra III and Ian Ramsay with scores of 37pts.


Club Championship: Kathleen Brydon won the Ladies’ Club Championship for the first time, beating Heather Allan in the final. Sheilagh Curle won the salver ahead of Judy Farag, and Barbara Williamson won the Bronze Trophy ahead of Alison Hilton.

Captain’s Day: Les Johnson welcomed over 40 competitors to his Captain’s Day. David Crisp who won on 40 points ahead of Jeff Iveson on 39 and Richard Lowrey on 38. The draw for the Redpath Challenge 4BBB on Saturday takes place tonight.Entries for this, the Open Texas Scramble on Sunday, August 12, and the rearranged Gents 4BBB on Saturday, August 18, can be rung in to Stuart Lowrey on 07790 179937.