Around the golf clubs

Results and news from the clubs in north northumberland


J and W Brown Trophy: Bob Porteous succeeded in keeping the ball in play in blustery conditions and was rewarded with a four-point victory in Sunday’s competition, a first-nine haul of 24 points being the key. Leading returns: 41pts RJ Porteous; 37 S McKee; 37 JA Stanton; 35 J Allinson; 35 G Forman; 34 G Batson; 34 R Boyle; 34 D Blythe.


Anne Covell Trophy, Mary Percy Qualifier and Medal: 1 Bev Harris 113-36-77; 2 Viv Archibald 107-28-79; 3 Jennifer Cossins 104-23-81; 4 Joy Bisset 102-20-82.


Summer Meeting: Browne Cup (36 holes gross): 155 (on countback) M Farrell 78 77; 155 M Carss 77 78; 158 R Gander 80 78.

Leathart Tankard (36 holes nett): 138 C Bryceland 63 75; 145 M Farrell 73 72; 151 A Stephenson 75 76.

Foxton Hall Cup (18 holes): 82-14-68 (on countback) R Bell; 76-8-68 S Kelly; 80-11-69 D Brown; 76-5-71 D Blades; 83-12-71 T Watson; 80-8-72 L Pringle.

Membership Open Day: Alnmouth Golf Club is holding a Membership Open Day on Wednesday, July 18, which includes free nine holes of golf, soup, sandwich and a drink, together with a tour of the facilities at Foxton. Membership offer from July 1, 2012, to March 31, 2013, Full playing membership £390 with no entrance fee payable until April 2013. Offers are also available in all categories including five-day and up to age 30 and they are all available to men and ladies. To book a, Open Day tee-time or for more details on the membership offer contact, Peter Simpson on 01665 830231.


Medal/Carter 4: 1 G Gordon; 2 A Provost; 3 S Hogg.


Club Championship: Saturday’s 36-holes Club Championship for the EG Hill Trophy went to a three-hole play-off after John Moffet and John Porteous had tied on 141. The play-off was over holes one, two and 18 (best aggregate) with Moffet scoring 3 3 4 to Porteous’s 3 4 5 to win by two to claim the title for the seventh time. Porteous had led by two after an opening 69 to Moffet’s 71 but positions were reversed in the second round with Moffet posting 70 to his rival’s 72. Porteous gained consolation with a two-shot win over Chris Lishman in the Victory Cup (nett). Scores: Club Championship: 141 JT Moffet 71, 70; 141 J Porteous 69, 72; 144 P Sanderson 71, 73; 144 A Mackay 75, 69; 147 C Lishman 72, 75; 150 SJ Priestley 77, 73. Victory Cup: 133 J Porteous 65, 68; 135 C Lishman 66, 69; 138 A Mackay 72 66. 18 holes: 81-15-66 (on last nine) M Humble; 80-14-66 MC Cresswell; 81-12-69 J Watson.


Lady Captain’s Day: Played July 1. 1 Lucy Mcgregor 41pts; 2 Nicky Rose 37pts; 3 Fiona Hall 36pts.

EWGA Medal: Played June 28. Winner – Tessa McKeag 87-17-70; runner-up Jill Archer 91-19-72.


Tim Trophy (Greensome): 1 G Paul and J Paul 75-6.6-68.4; 2 A Gilroy and S Monkhouse 82-13-69; 3 K Baldwin and R Carr 85-15-70.


Ping Qualifying Competition (4BBB Stableford): Played on Saturday. 1 Alison O’Neill & Irene Smith 33pts; 2 Susan Temple & Dorothy Wilkinson 30pts; 3 Kathy Wilson & Lesley Fishwick 29pts.


July Medal: 1 W Lakey 87-15-72; 2 O Adamson 85-9-76; 3 V Cox 91-13-78.


Watson Trophy: On June 26, we had our annual away day, which was at The City of Newcastle Golf Club. An enjoyable day was had by all as we competed for the Watson Trophy. 1 Mandy Scott 33 points; 2 Lisa Jarvis 32 points; 3 Pat Fisher 29 points.

Martyn Stephenson Mixed Foursomes: After Thursday’s rain, the course dried out well and the foursomes was played on Saturday. The results were: 1 Alan and Hilary Birkmyre 78.5; 2 Ian Milne and Mandy Scott 80.5; 3 Alan and Pat Fisher 81.5.


Redman Plate: 1 Julia Stott 106-32-74; 2 Eileen Clark 97-19-78; 3 Mary Tully 99-20-79.

Richardson Shield Mixed Foursomes: 1 Eileen Clark & Paul Arkle 73; 2 Pat Arkle & Michael Arkle 76.5; 3 Angela Robinson & David Phillips 77.


Seniors Open (played over 12 holes): 27pts (on countback) J Carr and B Collingworth; 27 I Griffiths and I Eddie; 26 A Scores and S Burns; 26 J Crombie and S Little. Nearest pin on 10th: P Fairington; nearest pin on 15th: D Davies.


Medal No. 14: On Tuesday, the Seahouses ladies played medal No 14. The winner was Brenda Stevens with a score of 103-27-76 on countback from Anne Lathan on 102-26-76 and third was Jean Bladen with 99-22-77 on countback from Liz Ramsbotton and Val Sim.

Mary Day Trophy: On Sunday, the trophy was played over a course reduced to 12 holes because of lying water. Alison Claydon emerged as winner on 23 points with Lynne Swan, Jean Bladen, Ros Anderson and Eileen Robinson all on 22 points.


The Dock Cup: When many a course was closed after the June monsoon, the old links once again shone brightly and proved a real handful with its 3mm greens allowing only a chosen few to break par. Fresh from last week’s putting comp victory, Charlie Brown came equal first again on 40 points with Joe Henderson and the D-man Hindhaugh. After close scrutiny, Joe was pipped into second via the back six, with Daz back to third on the back nine. Whisky Baz Punton squeezed into fourth with 39 points, just in front of N Brown junior on 38, playing off a real handicap, not like his father. The Joe Shotton Open will be taking place on Saturday July 28, to avoid Jessie J, so please ring to book your slot. Warkworth now has an 18-hole fee of only £10 (£8 for 9 holes), available any day, to any players who fancy a knock, so come on down and sign in to play on one of the north’s finest. Call 01665 711596 for details or Google Warkworth Golf Club. Food and refreshments available too.


Holy Island Trophy: 1 P Lewis 96-19-77; 2 J Gray 98-20-78; 3 L Langlands 106-27-79; 4 C Douglas 96-17-79.


Jubilee Cup: Tough conditions on Sunday didn’t stop Chris Ayre from returning a cracking score of 75-6-69 to win from runner-up David Crisp on 83-12-71. Les Johnson was third on 83-11-72 on a count back from Stuart Brodie on 90-18-72 and John Ewing on 90-18-72. This was also the eighth round of the Farm to Freeze order of merit and Brian Tait now leads on 49 points ahead on Stuart Lowrey on 46 and Les Johnson on 43.


Ladies Invitation Day: The day saw victory for Heather Allan, Lorraine Bewley (Bamburgh) and Joy Henderson (Rothbury) on 70 points followed by Sheilagh Curle, Hilary Hulley (Bamburgh) and Ann Short (M Fields) on 69 and Janet Moor, Alison Hanson (Foxton) and Pam Laidler (Hirsel) on 68.