Around the golf clubs

News and results from clubs around north Northumberland

Alnmouth village

Midsummer Trophy: Mark McQueen celebrated a double victory over the Village course on Sunday. A stunning nett 64 saw him win the Midsummer Trophy (18 holes) by three shots and, combined with a first round 72, he claimed the Lightfoot Shield (36 holes), by a similar margin. In addition, he finished in the top eight players to qualify for the knockout stages of the club championship for the first time. His handicap has been reduced from 14 to 11, including a two-shot ‘exceptional score reduction’ – the first time the new rule has been applied at the Village.

Leading scores: Midsummer Trophy: 78-14-64 M McQueen; 71-4-67 N Holden; 84-16-68 J Kidd; 81-12-69 R Boyle; 76-6-70 A Shell. Lightfoot Shield: 136 M McQueen 64 72; 139 G Batson 72 67; 140 N Holden 67 73; 145 M Conroy 75 70; 156 JB Graham 74 72; 147 S McKee 72 75; 147 R Boyle 69 78; 148 JA Stanton 72 76; 148 RI Campbell 72 76; 151 AW Stephenson 72 79. Club Championship qualifiers: 148 N Holden; 150 RI Campbell; 156 JB Graham; 158 JA Stanton; 161 S McKee; 164 M McQueen; 167 G Batson; 167 AW Stephenson.

Alnmouth FOXTON

Men’s 4bbb: 44pts R Jacques and C Johnson; 42 (on countback) C Penny and J Trewick; 42 C Matteson and G Hope; 40 A Campbell and C Middleton; 40 J Stewart and P Morton. Scratch winners: G Potter and J Armstrong.

Northumbrland three-day open at Alnmouth: 45pts R Leonard and K Mannering (Knotty Hill); 43 (on countback) Darkle and I Arkle (Rothbury); 43 A Thompson and A Pritchard (Longhirst Hall); 41 A Richardson and P Arkle (Rothbury); 40 J Herron and R Allington (Longhirst Hall).

alnwick Castle

Rover Trophy: 1st K Murphy 40pts; 2nd G P Dobson 39pts; 3rd W G Brown 39pts. The course was in surprisingly good condition after a deluge of rain over the previous few days and a great credit to all the greenkeepers that the only casualties were the bunkers, which were all GUR on the day. Kevin Murphy headed the field of 64 players in with a fine score of 40 stableford points. Two players on 39pts separated on countback were Geoff Dobson in second place and Billy Brown who had a great front nine with 22points but faded towards the final holes to finish third. Peter Lewis was ahead of Barry Eastham also on countback the pair both scoring 38points, Barry’s triple bogey on the difficult 12th meant he just missed out on a top-two finish. Only five twos were recorded, two of them by Kevin Smith, the first when he sunk an almost impossible 35-footer across the green on the second and again from about 12feet on the fourth the others were Wayne Belisle, Alan Black and Gerry McInally. The next Open Competition at Alnwick is the 4BBB Stableford on Saturday, July 14, there are still tee times available, contact 01665 602632 to book as soon as possible.

Bamburgh castle

Tom Brown Trophy: 78-11-67 J Nixon; 83-12-71; 83-10-73 D Hogg; 89-15-74 P McDonnell; 84-10-74 I Armstrong.

Jeffcock Silver Jubilee Bowl (bogey): 5up P Clark; 3up A Gilhome; 2up W Robinson, P Turnbull, DM Wymes, C Magnay, J Allen.


Rover Cup: 1 George Curry 77-10-67; 2 Dennis Williams 78-8-70; 3 Kenneth Baldwin 87-16-71; 4 Richard Carr 87-16-71.

Potter Trophy: 1 F Leet 7up, 2 A Gilroy 2up, 3 J Wilkin 1up (on countback), 4 S Monkhouse 1up.

Dunstanburgh (L)

Captain’s Day: 1 Alison O’Neill 33pts; 2 Judy Robson 30pts; 3 Joan Watson 26pts.


Whittle Lamp: 1 Chris White 3up; 2 Graham Foggon 2up; 3 David Pledger 2up.

rothbury (l)

Clarkle Trophy (gross): 1 Anne Spence and Mary Tully 88; 2 Angela Robinson and Joy Henderson 92. (nett): 1 Anne Spence and Mary Tully 69; 2 Debbie Finch and Barbara Douglas 71.


Captain’s Day (played over 15 holes due to four, five and six being unplayable): 31pts (on countback) R Nelson; 31 W Craig; 30 J Hogg; 30 J Bradley. Best gross: SJ Priestley (56). Longest drive on 12th: A Donaldson. Nearest the pin: 1st W Fawcus; 3rd W Green; 10th C Taylor; 14th E Ball; 15th G Hornsby; nearest pin in two on 18th, G Hornsby, David (Doc) Watson drove in as the new captain in an event that was well supported considering the weather. A sum of £610 was raised for Marie Curie Cancer Care.

Seahouses ladies

Team of 3 Open Day: The winners were Yvonne Welch, Maureen Jenkins and Kath Morpeth from Parklands with 78 points on countback from Liz Deighan, Deb McCarthy and Irene Heaton from Grange Park. In third place were Margaret Sutherland, Barbara Clayton and Sue Hornsby from Ponteland and Seahouses with 75 points again on countback from Wendy Martin, Iris Gilholme and Heather Allan from Bamburgh. Congratulations go to Sue Hornsby who had a hole-in-one at the first hole.

Lady Captain’s Day: The winner was Eileen Robinson, second was Lynne Swan, third Ros Anderson and fourth Lynne Bannister who also took the Past Captain’s Cup.

9-hole Competition: It was a family affair with Shirley Baird the winner and granddaughter Amy second. Nearest the pin at the 1st was Ros Anderson and at the 15th Jean Bladen. Nearest the line was Pauline Castle and the longest drive went to Anne Nicholson.


Captain’s Day: On a day when most courses were closed because of the weather, the Old Links was in superb condition with waist-high rough, pristine fairways and magnificent greens. Captain Davey Parker watched 90 golfers compete for his extensive prize list and trophies as the westerly gale battered the field. Taking the Mick seemed to be the order of the day as Mick Lucas played true links golf to take the Captain’s Trophy with his nett 68. He was one ahead of Mick Beverly and Mick Moyle, whose nett 69s were the only other par-breakers on a non-scoring day. Dave Arkley was the best past-captain and celebrated in his customary style with Garry R Henderson taking the gross prize. Nearest the pins were Geoff Dunn, Foggy Wilson and Stef White. After 20 years of wrong fairways and the beach, Daz Hindhaugh eventually won the longest drive and then promptly came last. The putting champions, on the linoleum putting green, were Charlie Hindhaugh and Geoff Taylor. A great day was had by all thanks to Captain Davey and his helpers both on and off the links, especially the old gentleman building the ark behind the first. Scores: M Lucas 68; M Beverly 69; M Moyle 69 (back nine)

Summertime Special: This week sees the launch of the Old Links Summertime Special, which sees members of any club getting to play 18 holes for £10 or nine holes for £8 at this challenging Northumbrian gem. Ring 01665711596 to book your tee time.

Warkworth (L)

Guest Day: 1 M Routledge and W Franklin (Bedlington) 34pts; 2 J Lowther and J Nattrass (Durham City) 32pts; 3 P Lewis and D Boyle 34pts.


Chairman’s Cup: In gale force winds and heavy showers on Saturday, David Crisp won the fourth round of the Chairman’s Cup on 32 points ahead of Geoff Brown and Geoff Tong on 31. David now leads overall on 138 ahead of Mark Cowens on 124 and Geoff Brown on 121.

Andy Fairnington Stableford Qualifier: On Sunday it was the two Geoffs at the head of the field again with Geoff Tong winning on 38 points ahead of Geoff Brown on 35 and Stuart Lowrey on 33. In the Farm To Freeze Order of Merit there is a change at the top with Brian Tait and Stuart Lowrey joint leaders on 45 points with Howard Middlemiss now third on 42.

•: Two North Northumberland League players were among the 16 qualifiers for the Northumberland County Championship at Newbiggin. Robert Balmbra of Warkworth and Goswick’s Elliot Wilson both scored 81 and 76 for 157 – the last six qualifiers ending on the same score.