Around the golf clubs

New captain Davey Parker and vice captain Michael Lucas on the captains drive in day at Warkworth Golf Club.
New captain Davey Parker and vice captain Michael Lucas on the captains drive in day at Warkworth Golf Club.

News and results from clubs around north Northumberland

Alnmouth Village Ladies

Felton &Thirston Golf Society trophy winners pictured at their presentation evening at Percy wood golf club on friday evening,with club captain Steve Clarehugh (centre)..L-R Peter Broughton,John Hood,Ken McDonald,Keith Ormston,Bill Lawn and  Tony Clarkson.

Felton &Thirston Golf Society trophy winners pictured at their presentation evening at Percy wood golf club on friday evening,with club captain Steve Clarehugh (centre)..L-R Peter Broughton,John Hood,Ken McDonald,Keith Ormston,Bill Lawn and Tony Clarkson.

ECLECTIC: 1 Barbara Biesterfield 46-13.5=32.5; 2 Vivian Gough 52-18=34; 3 Eleanor Morgan 43-8=35.

Alnmouth Ladies

EWGA Medal: Silver - Valerie Robson 88-13- 5; 2 Angela Clough 91-15-76; 3 Diane Lillie 95-18-77.

Bronze - Di Parker 101-21-80; 2 Hazel Clark 101-20-81; 3 Moira Kilkenny 110-27-83.

Nine Hole Competition winner: Louise Smith 18pts.

Percy Cup Qualifiers: Valerie Robson, Angela Clough, Diane Lillie and Pru Smith

Alnmouth (Foxton)

THE neighbouring Alnmouth clubs again contested the SO Williams Cup on Sunday over the Foxton Hall course with the host club running out convincing winners by seven matches to three with two halved.

Details (Foxton first): J Hood lost to RI Campbell 2 and 1; D Weddell beat N Holden 6 and 5; W Lawn halved with JB Graham; R Blackshaw beat K Armstrong 5 and 4; MJ Campbell lost to B Barrett 1down; J Shotton halved with N Aitchison; J Stevenson beat S McKee 6 and 5; D Appleby beat D Blythe 4 and 3; M Farrell beat M Douglas 4 and 3; K Flanighan lost to G Lillico 4 and 3; D Mitchell beat S Forman 2 and 1; D Lillico beat W Stephenson 3 and 2.

Other results: Roger Ellison-Fenwick Cup (4bbb): 65nett (on last nine): J Young and J Hunter; 65 J Ovenden and I Long; 66 (on last nine) M Moult and N Moult; 66 T Wilson and V Brown; 66 D Lillico and S Poole.

Extra Medal: Div 1: 70-3-67 L Sutherland; 74-5-69 A Smith; 75-5-70 J Wright. Div 2: 78-11-67 I Pringle; 81-12-69 T Batty; 85-15-70 D Westwell. Div 3: 87-20-67 R Fielding; 88-20-68 J Hunter; 95-26-69 S Eggleston.

Veterans’ Rosebowl: 82-19-63 T Hogg; 84-14-70 J Bailey; 91-20-71 R Prudhoe.

John and Mary Garbutt Trophies: 79-13.4-65.6 MJ Campbell and Mrs C Sidgwick; 83-13.2-69.8 Mr and Mrs I Clough; 88-15.6-72.4 H Graham and Mrs D Lillie.

Alnwick Castle

WITH the Vaux Trophy being abandoned due to the wintry conditions last Sunday at Swansfield, the only surviving competition of the week was the Open Texas Scramble on Saturday.

With a wind chill giving what felt like sub-zero temperatures, the all-Alnwick Castle team of Tim Pearson, Wayne Belisle, Jimmy Cookson and Duy Lam took the spoils with a net score of 58.3.

In second place were Kevin Smith, Tom Greaves, Michael Smith and Geoff Baston whose net score was 58.7, while in third were B White, C White, D Wood and R Jackson with 59.4.

The highlight of the day was a warming hole-in-one for Burgham Park Golf Club member Glen Copeland whose ace came from a nine iron shot at the par 3 fourth hole.

Check out the website at for future opens including the Three Castles Open on consecutive days in July with an entry fee of only £66 per pair for 18 holes each at Alnwick, Dunstanburgh and Bamburgh.

Tomorrow night sees the first quiz of the summer season, with a curry supper supplied by new caterer Michael Hindmarsh.

Entry is £6 per person and is open to all.

Bamburgh Castle Ladies

PEUGEOT Coronation Foursomes: Winners: Hilary Hulley and Shirley Patterson 32pts


SENIORS Open: 47pts J Stephenson and B Powell; 46 I Graham and J Jones; 46 G Wilson and J Taylor


BELFORD Golf Club held their Club Tankards in atrocious weather conditions which saw Norman Redpath and Bruce Turnbull overcome the elements to take top spot. In the latest round of the popular Friday twilight competition Michael Young led the field with Robin Williamson taking second spot.

This Sunday we have the Jonathan Mahoney Memorial Trophy mixed competition and hope that the weather allows a good turnout.

Burgham Park

APRIL Medal: 67nett Graham Adams; 68 David Young; 68 Mike Russell.

Three-man Texas Scramble: 59-1.1-57.9 D Hindmarsh, P Hindmarsh, G Dodd; 69-4.1-64.9 A Hall, J Trewitt, R Young; 68-2.4-65.6 P Barnett, I Brookes, M Rowell.

Earlier results:-

Captain’s Drive-In (mixed Stableford): 45pts Tracey Stokes; 38 (on countback) Trevor Snowdon; 38 Andrew Taylor.

Spring Trophy (category 1/2): 68nett Glen Waterson; (category 3/4) 69nett Ian Brown.

Mid-week Medal: 75nett Alan Smith; 76 Graham Carter; 76 Michael Thompson.

All Saints (Round one): 71nett Michael Rowell; 72 Paul Trickett; 72 Ian Cowie.

Dunstanburgh Castle

FOGGETT Salvers: 1 G Barber and D Williams (jnr) 41pts; 2 G Curry and D Harrison 38; 3 K Bowden and G Scott 37.

Dunstanburgh Castle Ladies

GRANLUND Trophy Winner: Susan Temple 31pts.


BISQUE Bogey: 1 Colin Ayre 41pts; 2 John Brown 41; 3 Stephen Dillon 39.

Ford Trophy: 1 Rob Jackson 83-16-67; 2 David Pledger 83-12-71; 3 David Wood 87-16-71.

Junior Patrons: 1 Philip Gregory 37; 2 Greg Woodburn 36; 3 John Brown 35.

Shilton Shield: 1 Angela Robinson 97-18-79; 2 Helen Foggon 102-21-81; 3 Maureen Robson 116-32-84.


WOODESON Tankard: 78-11-67 K Watts; 88-20-68 M Hedley; 79-8-71 G Preston; 75-3-72 (on countback) G Hornsby; 84-12-72 K Stansfield.

Seahouses Ladies

SEAHOUSES Ladies played for the British Heart Foundation trophy on Sunday and the winner was Marie Graham with 88-18-70 on countback from second-placed Lynne Bannister with 83-13-70.

In third place was Susan Hornsby on 87-14-73 again on countback from Lynda Pinder and Eileen Robinson.

Lynne Bannister carded the best gross score.

Once again the weather caused the course to be closed last Tuesday so the EWGA Medal scheduled for that day has been rearranged for July 31.

Warkworth Ladies

PEGGY Mattison Trophy: 1 J Hardy 99-22=77; 2 L Wraith 111-26=84; 3 P Lewis 104-19=85


THE William Robinson Cup was played for at the Old Links last week and with speedy greens and a freezing northerly any score around par would have a chance.

And that’s how it turned out with Andy Joyce taking the honours with a fine 38 points in the last group of the day.

His triumphant last putt beat Paul Brennan who was leading with 36 points.

In lone place on 35 points was Paul Gray ahead of S and G master plasterers who shared joint fourth on 33 points.

Eight Twos meant low dividends for the shareholders but Terry Powtons double at one and 10 increased his pot.

Scores: A Joyce 38pts; P Brennan 36; P Gray 35; G Henderson 33, S White 33.


SATURDAY saw the popular Thomas Lillie Memorial Qualifier, but a stiff breeze and decidedly cool temperatures meant scoring was difficult.

Best of the day was Les Johnson on 84-13-71 ahead of Alistair Sharp on 89-14-75 and Gordon Brodie on 96-21-75.

The quarter finals are on this Sunday and the draw is: 8.30 A Sharp v L Johnson; 8.38 C Wilkinson v J Driver; 8.46 J Ewing v P Routledge; 8.54 G Brodie v C Ayre.

Please contact Stuart or Alistair if you are unable to play.

Saturday, April 28, sees the annual race night in the clubhouse, starting at 8pm. Everyone is welcome.