Around the clubs

Share this article

Alnmouth, Alnwick, Bamburgh, Belford, Dunstanburgh, Rothbury, Seahouses, Percy Wood, Warkworth and Wooler all feature

Alnmouth (Fox)

Summer meeting - Browne Cup: (36 holes Best Gross) 1 M Carss 76+71= 47; 2 R Gander 78+75= 53; 3 J Southward 73+81=154. Leathart Tankard: (36 holes Best Net) 1 S Eggleston 69+72= 41; 2 M Carss 74+70=145; 3 J Stevenson 74+76=150. Foxton Hall Cup: (18 holes) 1 D Appleby 69-6=6; 2 C Burton 76-9=67; 3 B Stephenson 77 -9=68; 4 I Clough 80-12=68; 5 M Armstrong 82-14=68; 6 J Robinson 87-18=69.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

EWGA Medals - Silver:1 A Hansen 82-5-77; 2 L Keen 91-9-82; 3 M Howie 98-12-86.

Bronze: J Wheeler 107-21-86.

Alnmouth (Vill)

Club Championship: 1 R Campbell 74 and 69 gross=143; 2 MJ Campbell 74 and 73 gross=147; 3 J Jobson 75 and 73 gross=148. Richie has now won the Club Championship three times in a row and is the first person ever to achieve this historic feat. He now has his sights on chasing John Graham’s all-time record of 10 Club Championships, although as John is still more than handy he might just add another to stretch Richie’s target.

Lightfoot Shield: 1 G Baston 69 and 68net =137; 2 MJ Campbell 69 and 68net=137; 3 J Jobson 70 and 68net =138.

Midsummer Trohpy: 1 J Blythe 79-12=67; 2 B Stephenson 77-9=68; 3 C Goodwin 82-14=68.

JW Brown Trophy: 1 C Fettis 40pts; 2 A Stanton 39; 3 V Wilkinson 37.

Seniors Stableford: 1 I Blakey 20pts; 2 M Henderson 19; B Boyle 19; C Fettis 19; 5 G Lillico 18

Alnmouth Vill (L)

Ann Covell Trophy, Mary Percy Qualifier and Medal: 1 P Addy 95-25=70; 2 V Archibald 101-28=73; 3 M Gray 90-16=74 (on back nine from) 4 L Ternent 98-24=74.

alnwick castle

Mick Hubbard Seniors Trophy: Was won by self-confessed ‘almost-octogenarian’ Eddy Jury, who, at only two weeks short of his 80th birthday, became probably the oldest winner of a club competition at the Swansfield course in its 106-year history. His score of 38pts saw off the ‘younger’ opposition who, as it was a seniors competition, were all aged over 50. Second on countback was Kenny Burn, beating Ian Tate and Robbie Stevenson who all shared the same points score of 36. There was no twos competition on the day, so sadly Brian Hunt, Ian Tate and Peter Smith gain nothing financially.

Mick Hubbard Seniors Trophy: 1 E Jury 38pts; 2 KW Burn 36; 3 I Tate 36.

Stan Cooper Memorial Trophy: Sunday saw one of the club’s stalwart members fondly remembered. The competition played in an ever-increasing breeze which was about par for the course for weather for this year if you will pardon the pun and in complete contrast was won by junior member Connor Thompson whose 40 points beat Phill Ginger into second place albeit only on countback. Third place went to Colin Donaldson who edged in front of Wayne Belisle and Bob Shepherd again only on the countback rule with all players returning 38pts. No less than 75 players competed on the day making it the best-supported competition this year with the exception of captain’s day and 11 players populated the twos club making a very low payout.

Bamburgh (L)

Medal: Winner L McGregor 98-29=69; R/U F Southern 80-10=70. Lady Captain’s Day: (teams of three) Winners 130 W Martin, F Southern, L Bewley ; R/U 126 A Lambert, C Whitfield, I Gilhome.


Twilight on Friday, Three Club competition: On a busy weekend, John Murdoch scored a magnificent double winning the Twilight on Friday and the Three Club competition on Saturday night, with Kevin Anderson runner-up on both occasions. Sunday saw the President’s Putter going to Shaun Pringle from David Greshon. On Sunday, July 7, we have a change to the fixture list – an arranged nine-hole Stableford for both ladies and gents.


Rover Cup: R Armstrong 86-17-69 (on countback); C Suffling 96-27-69; S Walker 76-6-70 (on countback); D Saunders 74-4-70; D Emmerson 87-17-70.

dunstanburgh (L)

RNLI Spoon: 1 A O’Neill 35pts (on back nine): 2 K Wilson 35; 3 L Fishwick 32.


Redman Plate: 1 Mrs E Clark 91-18=73; 2 Mrs D Cairns 90-16=74; 3 Mrs H Foggon 97-22=75.

Richardson Shield Mixed Greensomes: 1 Mr N Gutherson and Mrs S Sheehy 94-28=66; 2 Mr A Swann and Mrs P Swann 96-26.8=69.2; 3 Mr C Chapman and Mrs E Clark 84-13.4=70.6. Lady Captain’s Charity Day: 1 Mrs M Tully, Mrs E Clark, Ms S Brown 73; 2 Mrs L Manson, Mrs K Telfer, Mrs E Miller 73.4; 3 Mrs M Leighton, Mrs J Stoot, Mrs R Reay 74.8.


Mary Day Memorial: I Graham 75-9-66; B Fawcus 80-13-67; R McCormack 80-12-68; T Douglas 84-16-68; D Mason 89-20-69; D Hogg 79-10-69; R Bewley 81-12-69; J Hogg 73-3-70; A Donaldson 79-9-70.

Seahouses (L)

Medal number 15: 1 V Sim 87-15-72; 2 N Claydon 86-13-73 (on countback) from Hazel Hardacre 93-20-73. The Mary Day and Ida Douglas Trophy: 1 Pam Fawcus with a good score of 81-14-67; 2 N Claydon 84-13-71; 3 Sue Hornsby 88-13-75.

Percy Wood (L)

Past Captain’s Trophy: J Ormston 103-29=74. Medal Seven: 1 M Athey 101-28=73; 2 J Ormston 101-28=73; 3 B Dixon 109-35=74.

Baggaley Trophy: 1 R Hall, D Angus, H Birkmyre 43-5=38; 2 M Robson, A Stewart, C Wilson 48-9.5=38.5; 3 M Baggaley, R Balmbra, A Messenger 45-5.5=39.5. Charity Spoon: 1 M Scott 35pts; 2 H Clark 34; 3 J Roxburgh 34.


Dock Cup: After two years of trying, Dave Fish took first place at the Old Links last weekend. On a low-scoring day, Dave’s score of 38pts edged out returning bandit Mark Nicholson by virtue of a better back nine. With a pack of golfers on 37pts, it remained for Nev Butler to come up trumps with his better last six holes to collar third. There were two confirmed twos – Richie Davison on the sixth and Sean Grainger ‘The Danger’ on the easy 15th. A further check on late cards is ongoing. Scores: D Fish 38pts; M Nicholson 38; N Butler 37.

warkworth (L)

Holy Island Trophy: Lovaine Wraith ghosted in on countback to take the honours from Lilian Langlands with Penny Lewis and Jen Lowther a further two shots back. Results: L Wraith 101-26=75; L Langlands 100-25-75 (countback).

warkworth Jnrs

M Marshall Trophy: The juniors duel in the sun continued with Dan Cooke pipping Freddie Bremner on a blustery day.

Results: D Cooke 91-16=75; F Bremner 110-30=80.


Jubilee Cup: Played in blustery conditions and taken on a BB9 by R Carr from G Wilkinson with a 67. This was also the last qualifier for club championship. If you have qualified and can’t play please let us know.

Wooler (L)

Senior Open Waltz: Competed by an excellent field of 14 teams.Winning team: 83pts S Curle (Wooler), J Farag (Wooler), H Hulley (Bamburgh); R/Up: 79pts J Gilholme (Bamburgh), W Martin (Bamburgh), J Robson (Bamburgh); 3 75pts K Brydon (Wooler), J Preston (Dunns), R Baxter (Dunns). Longest drive: J Oswell (Longhirst). Nearest pin: M Wilkinson (Kelso).

Nesbitt Cup: 1 S Curle 38pts; R/Up K Brydon 36.