around the clubs

Warkworth Ladies Captain's Day:  Captain Doreen Campbell (left) and vice captain Penny Lewis (right).
Warkworth Ladies Captain's Day: Captain Doreen Campbell (left) and vice captain Penny Lewis (right).
Share this article

Alnmouth, Bamburgh, Belford, Dunstanburgh, Percy Wood, Rothbury, Warkworth and Wooler all feature.

Alnmouth (Fox)

Archibald Lamp: 1 W Allan 78-18=61; 2 D Hammond 92-28=64; 3 JR Young 85-21=64; 4 R Gander 65-0=65; 5 J Forester 79-14=65; 6 P Smith 84-18=66.

Alnmouth Fox (L)

EWGA Medals: Silver: 1 E Ross 82-8-74; 2 C Broome 86-11-75; 3 D Parker 95-20-75.

Bronze: 1 M Kilkenny 104-27-77; 2 C Young 100-21-79; 3 K Brunton 118-36-82.

Nine Hole Competition: A Myers 19pts.

Lady Woodeson Trophy: E Ross.

Alnmouth (Vill)

Seniors Stableford: On a wind affected morning - Joint first B Stephenson and D Gleadall 17pts; joint second M Joyce and G Ridgway 16.

Invitation Day: 1 G Pattinson and R Franks 49pts; 2 D Fairbairn and K Wilson 47pts; 3 P Dixon and G Mallaburn 45.

Mitchell Bowl: A very good weekend was capped by 1 D Fairbairn 2up; 2 J Blythe 2up; 3 Jonny’s dad – D Blythe 1up; 4 A Stanton 1up.

The Pentleton Putter: 1 M Conroy 77-11=66; 2 R Campbell 68-1=67; 3 S Forman 77-9=68; 4 P Clarke 80-12=68; 5 S Mckee 76-7= 69; 6 V Wilkinson 86-17=69; 7 J Jobson 74-5=69. All golfers are reminded that the annual Peter Braidford Memorial Cup will be held on Saturday, June 15, there are still a few spaces left for this popular four-man Texas Scramble competition, please ring the club or either pop down to the clubhouse and put your name down on the tee-time sheet.

Alnmouth Vill (l)

Millennium Trophy and Medal: 1 F Robson 93-22=71; 2 H Buckley 101-26=75; 3 B Clark 99-20=79.


Runciman Cup: B Johnson 88-27-61; M Thompson 70-7-63; B Galbraith 82-18-64 (on last nine); SW Archer 73-9-64; P Sanderson 66-1-65; J Nixon 75-10-65; C Oliver 66-1-65. CSS 68.

Bamburgh (L)

Runciman Cup: Winner: F Hall 80-16=64; 2 C Whitfield 79-12=67 (on the back nine) from H Hulley 76-9 =67.


Friday Fixture Twilight: Was won for the second time this year by John Murdoch from Bruce Turnbull. Sunday’s Doug Bush Memorial saw local joiner Graeme Taylor pip secretary Michael Young on count back. This weekend we have an addition to the fixture list Tweedside Timber Tankard Stableford played over nine holes for all members. We are now taking entries for the Charity Day Texas Scramble on Saturday, August 31. For further information, please telephone Michael Young on 01668 213572.


Robson Bowl: George Robson 43pts; Gary Davison 41; Dennis Williams jnr 39.

Dunstanburgh (L)

EWGA and County Medal, SQ and Journal Qualifier: 1 L Fishwick 102-36=66; 2 J Watson 107-28=79; 3 C Broome 92-11=81.

Percy Wood (S)

Three clubs and putter: G Nicholson; P Dawson 96-24-72; W Lakey 89-14-75; D Finlay 85-10-75; K Hickman 93-18-75.

Percy Wood (l)

Jarvis Trophy: 1 Cath Debbage 93-14-79; 2 Pat Fischer 103-22-81; 3 Hazel Dawson 117-36-81.


Wilson Shield: 1 David Wood 79-10=69; 2 Andrew Richardson 79-9=70; 3 Keith Appleby 76-5=71.

Lloyds Bank Trophy: 1 Carolyn Hilton 103-27=76; 2 Siobhan Sheehy 113-35=78; 3 Jean Clark 113-35=78.


Two medal events: Was held at the Old Links last weekend due to the huge field in the lady captain’s day and the scoring was of a high standard again. Bill Laidlaw took the Saturday medal with 41pts, a full three points clear of Lee Baxter and Kev Jamieson on 38. The next day Johnny Morton was the victor on 38pts, leaving Alan Hill and Barry Punton in joint second a point behind. No 2’s on either day.

Junior competition: Three recent junior competition results now and a keen rivalry is developing between Daniel Cook and young ‘ready Freddie’ Bremner. Dan took the Chairman’s Cup with a nett 86 to Freddie’s 88 in howling gales and followed this with the Ivan Scott Trophy on nett 66 with Freddie having an unlucky nett 81. Finally Freddie took his revenge by winning the Colin Wilkinson Cup with a nett 67, closely followed by Daniel on nett 70. I Bell was a well-deserved third with his 86. This Friday is captain Michael Lucas’ outing across the wall down to Wearside Country Club and Spa with 43 of the night’s watch.

Warkworth (L)

Journal Qualilfier and Medal: 1 R Gorman 101-25=76; 2 J Hardy 100-23=77; 3 M Routledge 96-18=78; 4 L Wraith 104-26=78. Qualifier: J Hardy.

Captain’s Day Trophy: 1 M Routledge 96-18=78 (back nine); 2 R Hopkinson 102-24= 78; 3 G Turnbull 100-21=79; 4 PLewis 101-21=80.

Past Captain’s Trophy: M Routledge.


Chairman’s Cup: Saw James Spenser continue his good form and took the prize with a bb9 from terry Carr on 41pts.

Open 4bbb: This Saturday’s competition still has spaces available. Contact A Sharp on 07799 433491.

The Glendale Livestock Summer League: The league has started on a Thursday, guaranteed prizes of £10 for the winner.