Anniversary cup win for Wooler

VP Cup Final
VP Cup Final

Vice President’s Cup Final

Wooler celebrated their 50th anniversary in style on Sunday, winning the Vice President’s Cup on their home ground.

In a well-fought 40-over match, both sides posted solid totals but Wooler emerged the victors over Mitford by 31 runs by the end of the day.

Batting first, the home side posted a very respectable 222-6, largely thanks to 60 each from Anthony Murray and Andrew Aitchison.

As well as some supporting knocks in the middle order, Wooler were helped massively by some sloppy bowling from Mitford which led to an extras total of 49, which included 33 wides.

Nick Gaynor was the pick of the Mitford bowlers taking three wickets for 53 runs off his eight overs, although he did contribute 16 wides to the total.

Matthew Lees struck twice while the other wicket was taken by Jay Virpura.

Mitford got off to a great start in reply with openers Mark Parrish, who top-scored with 84, and Matthew Ellinor (36) really taking the game to Wooler.

However, the rest of the batting line-up failed to live up to this sterling start and Mitford were all out for 191.

Robert Matthewson was star man with the ball, taking 4-39, ably supported by Michael Mclean (3-44) and Howard Middlemiss (2-29). Chris Lewin took the other wicket.

• This Sunday sees the T20 competition come to a close at Alnmouth. The two semi-finals – Rock Raptors v Alnmouth & Lesbury Beachboys and Tillside Tomahawks v Wooler Wizards – take place before the 5pm final.