Warkworth WI, May meeting

Annual meeting

Sunday, 29th May 2016, 5:00 am
A view of St Lawrence's Church, Warkworth Picture Jane Coltman

At Warkworth WI Marion welcomed Joanne Patrick, federation advisor, and 31 members to our May meeting, which was also the annual meeting.

The president’s notices included a reminder about the outing to the Old Boathouse for our meal on June 7. Kate has drafted a website, which will be approved by the committee. Marion thanked the craft group for making the hanging, which was on display.

The next meeting is on July 7 when our speaker is author Caroline Roberts. There will be a craft afternoon to share ideas on shopping bags for the show in August.

Donations to the Pelican (£20) and Warkworth in Bloom (£50) were agreed.

The competition for a coffee cup and saucer was won by Valerie West, and the birthday flowers were awarded to Helen Wilson. The competition cup for the most points over the year was won by Audrey Jones. Jan Shotton and Pat Dodd were second, and Kate Burnham was third.

The annual meeting followed, chaired by Joanne Patrick. There are presently 66 members.

The committee members for the coming year are Jen Atkinson, Kate Burnham, Sylvia Capron, June Carruthers, Serena Coulter, Pat Dodd, Amanda Hood-Gater, Marion Jones, Jan Shotton, Judy Townshend and Helen Wilson.

Mrs Patrick commented on our healthy numbers and thriving WI. Joanne spoke about this year’s resolutions, which will be voted on at the annual meeting. They are: ‘Avoid food waste, address food poverty’ and ‘Appropriate care in hospitals for people with dementia’. The delegate has discretion to decide how to vote.

Marion Jones was elected president. Pat Dodd and Judy Townshend agreed to continue as treasurer and secretary respectively.

Pat Boyd thanked Mrs Patrick for her support, and the committee for its work.