Twelve hours left to register to vote

Ballot box
Ballot box

To vote in this year’s General Election – in which the Berwick constituency is a key marginal seat – you must have registered to vote by midnight.

Registering online takes around five minutes and you need your National Insurance number (if you have one). Visit today to make sure your voice is heard.

The full list of candidates bidding to become MP for Berwick was released on Thursday, April 9, after the deadline for nominations closed.

The six listed below will be on the ballot papers come Thursday, May 7, and are in the running to become the constituency’s first new MP in more than 40 years after the retirement of Sir Alan Beith.

The constituency is set to be the subject of media attention as it is a target seat for the Conservatives to steal from Liberal Democrat control in what is likely to be one of the country’s tightest General Elections in living memory.

The candidates for the Berwick seat are: Nigel Revell Coghill-Marshall (Ukip); Scott Dickinson (Labour); Neil Humphrey (English Democrats); Julie Pörksen (Liberal Democrat); Rachael Roberts (Green Party); Anne-Marie Trevelyan (Conservative).

Our election site, which features videos of voters from across the country, including north Northumberland, talking about the real issues that matter to them, can be found at