Red Row champions as Rothbury win NNL cup

Red Row are the new North Northumberland League Division 1 Champions.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 24th May 2016, 3:56 pm
Updated Wednesday, 25th May 2016, 11:59 am

Tweedmouth Harrow have won Division 2 and Rothbury are the new holders of the Laidler/Lancaster Cup.

Red Row secured the championshi[p with a 3-1 away win over main rivals Tweedmouth Rangers on Saturday.

Max Anderson gave Red Row the lead at half-time and he scored again after the break to double their advantage.

Jonathan Simpson pulled a goal back for Rangers, but Darren Smith added a third to guarantee the title.

The Harrow won the Division 2 title with a game to spare when they comfortably won 3-0 away to Craster.

In the only other league game at the weekend, Spittal Rovers beat Ashington Central 2-1 to ensure they finished runners-up in the table behind the Harrow.

Spittal’s goals were scored by Gary Windram in the first half and Adam Turner after an hour.Darren Townsley pulled a goal back for Ashington buit Spittal held on for the win.

Rothbury won the Laidler/Lancaster Cup when they beat Alnwick Town Reserves 4-3 at St James.Rothbury got off to a great start as Thomas Hammond netted after only two minutes. Craig Sutton added a second but Alnwick hit back with a Colin Bickerton goal before half time. In the second half further goals from Mitchell Ramsay and Chris Coe extended the Rothbury lead but two goals from Jake Morrison made it a tense finish to the match