Candidates announced for Northumberland elections

The candidates for all 67 wards of Northumberland County Council as well as the Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) have been announced ahead of local elections on the 6th May 2021.

Sunday, 11th April 2021, 12:53 pm
Northumberland County Council's County Hall
Northumberland County Council's County Hall

Nominations for prospective councillors and PCCs are now closed.

A full list of candidates for each ward in Northumberland can be found on the authority’s website.

The candidates for Police and Crime Commissioner are:

Duncan Carlyle Crute – Conservative Party

Julian Richard Kilburn – Independent

Peter James Maughan – Liberal Democrat Party

Cara Kim McGuinness – Labour and Co-operative Party

Labour’s Cara Kim McGuinness is the incumbent PCC and has been in the position since 2019.

Ms McGuinness won the position with 58,355 votes. Independent candidate Georgina Emma Rowley Hill came a distant second with 33,704.

A PCC’s chief responsibilities are; appointing or dismissing the chief constable; scrutinising the policing budget; and engaging with the public and vicitms of crime to help set police and crime plans.

The deadline to register to vote in the elections is midnight on Monday, April 19, and this can be done online at