Monster leeks among bumper crop of entries at annual show

Green-fingered gardeners in Seahouses put forward a bumper crop of entries for The Olde Ship Inn Leek Club’s annual show.

Tuesday, 10th September 2019, 5:30 pm
Updated Tuesday, 17th September 2019, 3:13 pm
Claire Thorburn, winner of the best leek in show.

Claire Thorburn took the coveted best in show prize, while Jason Liddell had the most points and David Moor won the Richard Patterson Trophy for baking.

Leek results: 1 Alan Warnaby; 2 Ray Massey; 3 Gary Annison; 4 Claire Thorburn; 5 Liz Moor; 6 Stuart Watson; 7 Colin Banks; 8 David Moor; 9 Jason Liddell; 10 Ben Patterson; 11 Malcolm Cresswell; 12 Jane Patterson.

Veg and flowers: 3 Leeks - A Warnaby; Best Leek in Show – C Thorburn; Intermediate Leek – G Annison; Collection of 3 Vegetables – R Massey; Carrots - J Liddell; Beetroot – R Massey; Cabbage – R Massey; Onions (Large) - A Warnaby; Onion Sets (Flat) - R Massey; Onion Sets (Round) - R Massey; Shallots – J Liddell; Tomatoes on a plate – J Liddell; Round Potatoes – R Massey; Kidney Potatoes – R Massey; 1 Flower, 1 Vegetable – A Warnaby; Cactus Dahlias – S Watson; Decorative Dahlias – J Liddell; Pom Pom Dahlias - J Liddell; Ball Dahlias – S. Watson; Flower Arrangement – H Chamberlain; Vase of Gladioli – G Annison; Sweet Peas – J Liddell; Heaviest Vegetable – A Warnaby; Disaster Class – R Massey.

Olde Ship Leek Club overall winner, Alan Warnaby.

Baking: Victoria Sandwich Cake - M Cresswell; Chocolate Cake – C. Thorburn; Cheese Scones – J Patterson; Fruit Scones – Liz Moor; Drop Scones – G Annison; Rock Buns – G Annison; Ginger Cake – R Massey; Jar Homemade Preserve – D. Moor; Fruit Liqueur – D. Moor.

Davey Moor won the Richard Patterson Trophy for baking.
Jason Liddell had the most points.
Gary Annison won classes in the leek and flowers sections.