Make your vote count

Rothbury polling station
Rothbury polling station

Voting takes place today to elect a new member to Rothbury Parish Council as well as those standing for European parliament.

Two candidates are standing for Rothbury - Tony Kell and Debbie Noble - with the outcome to be announced tomorrow.

Polling stations will be open until 10pm for the public to cast their votes.

There are three candidates standing for eight different parties for Euro elections.

Standing for An Independence from Europe is Sherri Forbes and Nawal Hizan, both of Middlesbrough, and Mary Forbes, from Stockton-on-Tees.

The British National Party is represented by Martin Joseph Vaughan and Peter Foreman, both of South Shields and Lady Dorothy MacBeth Brooke, of Whitley Bay.

The Conservative candidates are Martin John Callanan, of Gateshead, Ben Houchen, of Stockton-on-Tees and Andrew Lee, from Tadcaster.

The English Democrats are represented by Kevin Riddiough, of Barnsley and Sam Kelly and John Lewis, of York.

The Green Party candidates are Shirley Florence Ford, from South Shields, Alison Juliette Whalley, from Newcastle and Caroline Leigh Robinson, form Sunderland.

Standing for Labour are Jude Kirton-Darling, of Hexham, Paul Brannen, from Newcastle, and North Shields’ Jayne Shotton.

Angelika Dorothea Schneider, from Corbridge, Owen Leighton Temple, from Consett, and Christian Maurice Vassie, of York, are the Liberal Democrat candidates.

UKIP is represented by Jonathan William Arnott, of Guisborough, Richard Peter Elvin, from Houghton-le-Spring, and Stockton-on-Tees’ Phillip Broughton.