Landslide victory for Kate Cairns in Longhoughton by-election

Kate Cairns and Julie Porksen
Kate Cairns and Julie Porksen

Kate Cairns has won the Longhoughton by-election by a landslide with 49.4 per cent of the vote.

The by-election for a new county councillor followed the death of longstanding councillor John Taylor.

In total 44 percent of voters from Powburn to Longhoughton and Boulmer to Chathill turned out to choose their new councillor.

Kate is a sustainability consultant in the construction industry, a parish councillor, a school governor and a renowned road safety campaigner, and lives locally at Newton-by-the-Sea.

Kate said: “I am delighted to have been chosen by the people of the Longhoughton ward to be their councillor. The people and the place are very special to me; I was born, brought up and educated here and I am now raising my children here too.

“I want to thank everyone for their time on the doorstep, and those who voted for me.

“I am looking forward to representing the views of all of Longhoughton ward residents and applying my understanding of the challenges of living in this part of rural Northumberland. I will be a strong voice at County Hall campaigning to improve local transport, education, services and jobs.

“Following in the footsteps of the late John Taylor, I will take the responsibility of being a councillor very seriously. I already have a number of issues to work on that residents have raised with me in conversations on the doorstep and I look forward to hearing more.”

Northumbrian Liberal Democrat campaigner Julie Pörksen, said: “This is fantastic news for everyone in Longhoughton ward, I have worked with Kate campaigning for better road safety for years and know she listens to people and brings a strong rural voice and a practical approach to her work, something which she will very much put to good use in County Hall on behalf of local residents.”

The Lib Dems took 742 votes while Conservative candidate John Hope was in second place with 352. Independent Wendy Pattison took 208, UKIP’s Michael Weatheritt had 146 and Labour’s Nicola Morrison took 48.