Honours for all those women and men who go above and beyond

The award winners at RAF Boulmer.
The award winners at RAF Boulmer.

Personnel at north Northumberland’s RAF base received various honours at a recent awards ceremony.

They were presented by the station commander, Group Captain Paul Atkinson, to RAF Boulmer personnel at an event held in the Officers’ Mess.

Group Captain Atkinson was specially pleased to welcome families of the recipients to the award ceremony – one of the most rewarding parts of his job.

He said: “I really enjoy events such as this, it gives us the opportunity to acknowledge achievements across RAF Boulmer and the ASACS Force and to celebrate the commitment, professionalism and dedication of our personnel.

“Many of today’s recipients have served in Afghanistan in sometimes difficult and stressful circumstances, but all those here today have gone above and beyond what is expected of them.

“They have all done a great job; I am proud to be their Station Commander and I am sure their families and colleagues are proud of them too.”

Awards were presented as follows: Air Officer Commanding No 1 Group Commendations: Flight Lieutenant Andy Sturt; Senior Aircraftman Becky Baxter; Mr Phil Sowerby.

Air Surveillance and Control System (ASACS) Force Commander’s Commendation: Flight Lieutenant Nate Christoper; Flying Officer Karl Jiggins; Flight Sergeant Kate Brophy; Corporal Samantha Jones; Senior Aircraftman Stuart Sullivan; Senior Aircraftman Jess Evans.

Air Surveillance and Control Systems Force Commander’s Team Commendation: Personnel Services Flight at RAF Boulmer, consisting of Flight Sergeant Mark Leonard, Sergeant Julie Sanderson, Corporal Ali Gowland, Corporal Paul Gregory, Senior Aircraftman Baz Cliffe, Senior Aircraftman Gareth Leng-Jackson, Senior Aircraftman Jonny Robinson, Miss Mel Grey.

Operational Service Medal Afghanistan: Sergeant Stuart McCaig; Corporal Dean Bradley.

Long Service & Good Conduct Medal: Corporal Christopher Lally; Corporal Dean Bradley.

Long Service & Good Conduct Medal (Defence Fire and Rescue Management Organisation): Watch Manager David Donaldson – Fire Section RAF Boulmer.

RAFA Wings Certificate of Thanks: Flight Lieutenant Hayley Roberts; Sergeant Brian Salt; Senior Aircraftman Gareth Evans; Corporal Whitcombe; Corporal Kavanah; Senior Aircraftman Ryan; Senior Aircraftman Brettell; Senior Aircraftman Frazer.

The Wings Trophy, which is awarded annually to the unit that raises the most money for the RAF Association Wings Appeal in the North East region, was awarded to RAF Boulmer and presented to Group Captain Atkinson by Sydney Graham, chairman of the Royal Air Forces Association (Newcastle Branch).